We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Ranked #1 of 19 Narni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss out”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I will keep this simple and give some clear advice. If you want to make a good decision, stay at Torre Palombara. The only regret you might have is not staying longer!
There are plenty of things to do in the area (we were traveling by car), the B&B itself is wonderful (serious attention to detail going on!) and the hosts are fantastic, which is the key to why it's a must!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xy-D-e-b_G-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The property is a stunningly restored family mansion with the long line descendent Leonardo as the consummate "lord of the manor " .
The privacy , views and seclusion make this stay extra special . Combine with wonderful staff , meals and facilities , it is one of the best places we have stayed in Europe. Take the classic car tour with Leonardo as your driver / guide , it is the essential sightseeing option .
We will return !
Richard and Jill T.

Room Tip: All rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

To say this is an exceptional B&B would be a misnomer. Yes, it is a B&B but so much more than that. It’s an experience.

It’s going to sleep in this magical setting and getting a good night’s rest – you feel like you are a guest in someone’s home with the unique furnishings and the attention to detail.

It’s waking up in the morning and hearing more birds than I ever remember anywhere! It’s as if the trees are alive!

It’s having a romantic candlelit dinner of local specialties in the dining gazebo overlooking the property and the distant Umbrian hills. At the time of our reservation, we booked the light dinner option for our first night. Fortunately, the dinner option was offered another night during our stay. There may be a glorious sunset to watch – and after dinner, look up and if it’s a clear night, the night sky will be full of stars.

It’s an opportunity to enjoy a leisure breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Umbrian hills as Laurie brings your morning capuchino and eggs as you like them. Of course you have sampled the buffet as well.

It’s talking with Leonardo each morning about possible activities for the day – and listening to the driving directions and loving his hand drawn maps that tell you how to drive the beautiful back roads. We stayed for eight nights and for seven days and totally enjoyed our excursions.

It’s coming back after an excursion and take a dip in the pool and lounging around, sitting quietly and reading. When you sit there and look around, it is just so idyllic and peaceful.
It’s having a picnic dinner on our terrace as we watch a rain storm approach – jumping inside when the rain comes – and then going outside to watch the clouds pass by.

It’s listening to Leonardo’s suggestions for dinner and trying different places. Each unique and family owned. A few were unforgettable (in a positive way).

It’s looking at Leonardo’s antique cars and enjoying the care that was taken in the restoration and on-going maintenance.

Leonardo and his mother add a vitality, warmth and sense of hospitality that adds an immeasureable dimension to your stay - there is an honest endeavor to do everything they can to make your stay with them pleasureable.

This is a place to savor one day at a time.

Room Tip: We loved the room and the terrace of the Suite “La Colombaia”
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Torre palombara is A great place to stay, a Wonderful hotel for vacation! The owner is very friendly and cooks very well :)) when i was in the hotel, he prepared a dinner for the guests. the breakfast also is very nice. the pool And the garden are extraordinary. The hotel is not far from the lovely village of narni.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice & comfortable place for both quiet leisure and active travelling. Feel yourself as a home.
Clear pool, cozy atmosphere. Nice breakfasts and excellent coffee.
Leonardo is a good owner and manager of the place.
Good place to start for Umbria sightseeing (provided you’ve got a car)
Definitely want to come back and recommend for all

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavelSmff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is deserving of my first ever tripadvisor review. A beautiful hotel nestled in the Umbrian countryside with a very warm welcome from the owners (Leonardo and his mum) who were happy to provide recommendations and make reservations on our behalf. The food in the evenings was delicious, so good we ate at the hotel 2 out of 3 nights. We hope to visit again sometime soon...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lreilly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Staying at Torre Palombara - a half-a-millennium old construction in the beautiful Umbrian countryside, an unbelievable balance of good taste and comfort - would already be worth the trip if it were simply "coldly" managed as any other historical residence.

But it is way more than that. Leonardo's warm and heartfelt welcome, together with his local knowledge and unexpected, precious tips on which hidden corners of Umbria to visit and enjoy, were one of the highlights of our trip.

Three pieces of advice for those who plan to visit next: 1. do have dinner at Torre Palombara. 2. do ride the Umbrian hills with Leonardo in his historical car from the Fifties. 3. allow yourself more days that you had initially planned. Seriously, we did not want to check out and leave.

Room Tip: If available, get the Colombaia suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narni
3.6 mi away
Terra Umbra Hotel
Terra Umbra Hotel
#1 of 3 in Narni
194 reviews
16.9 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Regno Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
B&B dell'Aviatore
B&B dell'Aviatore
#1 of 1 in San Liberato
32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casanise
Casanise
#6 of 19 in Narni
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Contea by Bice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica

Property: Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Address: Strada della Cantinetta 3, 05035, Narni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Narni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Narni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Villa is built around an ancient XVth century "Torre Palombara," on a hill that dominates a green landscape and offers the wonderful view of Narni and its castle. The charming residence has been restored to its former splendor by the passionate owners and maintains all the original characteristics and elements that are distinctive to the ancient "Torri Palombare." The guests will enjoy the tranquility and the breathtaking views, surrounded by a refined ambiance that maintains all the charm of an antique Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing