We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine anything better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Ranked #1 of 19 Narni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have lived in Italy for almost two years, posted at the U.S. Embassy in Rome. We have stayed at many places around Italy on the weekends. Our recent visit to Torre Palombara was a highlight of our time in Italy. When the noise and traffic and heat in Rome get to be too much, we seek out places to stay that offer quiet and peace and beauty to re-charge our batteries. Torre Palombara possessed all of these qualities--the loudest sound we heard were the beautiful songbirds.

Run by a charming woman and her very helpful sons, this lovely home has been in the family on the father's side since the 15th century. After extensive renovations that were recently completed, the family has opened the house as an inn. Rooms are beautifully decorated in "rustic elegant" Italian style. Although the pool was closed when we were there (in April), we are looking forward to a return visit this summer. Breakfast was wonderful, with the best cappucino I have had in Italy.

At the family’s suggestion, we had dinner in the village of Stroncone at Taverna de Portanova, about a 20 minute drive away (a GPS is very helpful). The restaurant is in an ex-convent with vaulted ceilings and serves excellent local Umbrian specialties. The couple who run the restaurant preside over their five tables with attentive care. The meal was excellent and the town was charming. Torre Palombara also will serve dinner at their inn with advance notice--they hire a chef to come in and cook local food, serving the meal on the terrace in the summertime as you watch the twinkling lights of Narni in the distance. The cost is very reasonable.

Highly recommended--we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBORLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 312 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

Uniformly five star reviews are fully justified. Fabulous place, unbelievable views, lovely rooms, superb service. We've been twice already.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayeeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We spent a long week in Umbria staying in hotels with very high tripadvisor ratings. Generally we had mixed experiences (shoddy decorations), but in the quiet and beautifully restored Torre Palombara everything was just right!

We had a room with a great view on the city of Narni and surrounding hills and beautiful historic furniture, but at the same time all the comforts we care about (quality matress, quick Wifi, natural silence). Our host Leonardo was very sympathetic and hospitable and the organised dinner was a real feast.

Recommendable as a basis to discover Umbria, but also to just spend a day at the pool.
We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband treated me to a surprise break at this gorgeous and very special hotel for my birthday. Everything about it is perfect – from the characterful rooms to the wonderful views of the Umbrian countryside at breakfast. Much has been said about Leonardo and his lovely mother, and I can only add to the compliments by saying how charming, endlessly helpful and thoughtful they were during our stay.

Leonardo booked a table at a fabulous traditional family restaurant on the evening of my birthday (Taverna de Porta Nova – delicious, authentic food with generous hosts) and treated us to a bottle of Prosecco on the terrace before we left; such a lovely touch!

If you are looking for somewhere romantic and special in the southern part of Umbria (fewer crowds than in the north and just as beautiful) this will meet – and exceed – your expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank All4Corners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This B&B is the best we have done so far, and we have done several even if we are only 26.

The owner, Leonardo, is a very nice person who will give you excellent adresses and secrets about his region that is simply beatifull. His cat Romeo is also a cool cat. His car is also cool !

The room was spacious and very nice, the bathroom nice, the view is great, taking the breakfast outside is a most, and the place is very very charming. the swimming pool is good.

Perfect for enjoying the region with advices of an insider and relaxing in a nice place, just what we expected of our B&B.

I highly recommend this place, and I will come back there if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed with my wife and daughter (17) just for two nights at the end of our two weeks in Italy and what a perfect end to the holiday. The hotel is lovely with beautiful grounds and top notch facilities, especially around the wonderful pool. Everything that people have said about Leonardo is true! he really is a fantastic host, helpful but unobtrusive. He arranged a fantastic meal at the hotel on our first night and didn't even let me pay for the homemade pasta my daughter ate! We were made so welcome and were sorry we could only stay for two nights. If you are looking for a small but select location then you must stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank childes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

It is hard to add more good news to all the positive reviews that Torre Palombara has had. All is true and nothing is exagerated.
We come to Italy - mainly Tuscany and Umbria - for about 10 years now. Our stay at Torre Palombara was definitly a highlight. The beauty of the location and the warmth of the hospitality were truly exceptional.
An example. During our stay we had a major problem with the car we had rented in Rome. The rental company was - understatement - not very helpfull. Hotel owner Leonardo did everything he could to help us out, as he would do for his best friends. Amazing. Thanks again, Leonardo.
During our stay we saw nothing but happy faces - once our own problem with the car was solved... - as well with the guests as with the staff.
A good advise: give yourselves a treat and go to Torre Palombare, you won't regret.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanvanGent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narni hotels
3.6 mi away
Terra Umbra Hotel
Terra Umbra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Narni
208 reviews
2 mi away
Casale Valigi
Casale Valigi
#3 of 19 in Narni
21 reviews
8.3 mi away
B&B dell'Aviatore
B&B dell'Aviatore
#1 of 1 in San Liberato
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#2 of 2 in Narni
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Contea by Bice
5.5 mi away
Tenuta Marchesi Fezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica

Address: Strada della Cantinetta 3, 05035, Narni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Narni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Narni
Price Range: $156 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Villa is built around an ancient XVth century "Torre Palombara," on a hill that dominates a green landscape and offers the wonderful view of Narni and its castle. The charming residence has been restored to its former splendor by the passionate owners and maintains all the original characteristics and elements that are distinctive to the ancient "Torri Palombare." The guests will enjoy the tranquility and the breathtaking views, surrounded by a refined ambiance that maintains all the charm of an antique Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing