We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“splendid surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Monte Petreto
Ranked #14 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Magione
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“splendid surprise”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The old country farm run for 20 years by a couple bored of living in Rome; they loved, they cure it, so the place is like in a fairy tale; visitors feel like at home and are warmly welcome; number of independent apartments (bath and kitchen) with fabulous view at the lake (unforgettable sunsets) plus swimming pool (stairs, not ladder!!!) give ideal opportunity to take a rest; the only weak point is slight noise from near local road, might bother delicate souls.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had a nice holiday at podere monte petreto. everything was just marvellous. Roberta and her son are nice people and very hospitable. The house Olmo where we stayed during our holiday was super! The surrounding is very beautiful. So thanks Roberta and Andrea for the nice holiday we had at your place!

Hilde, luc, Jolien and Lore
België,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildeschrauwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We spent five unforgettable days in Podere Monte Petrero. Here is why:

1.Excellent location if you want to explore Umbria.
2.Roberta who owns the place is the nicest woman, the dream host and always wants to help.
3.Everything is cozy and clean.
4.The panoramic view to Lake Trasimeno is absolutely breathtaking.
5.Very nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed in Ginestra for four weeks in Sept. and Oct. We were very pleased. The apartment was roomy for two. Very quiet--no street noise, minimal noise from our upstairs neighbors (our traveling companions). The bathroom was modern and large. The bedroom was comfortable with plenty of closet space. The kitchen had a full sized refrigerator and four burners, but no oven or microwave. The sitting room with TV comfortably seated four. The open floor plan included the kitchen, dining area (seats four to six), and sitting room. Tile floors. The farmhouse was remodeled into apartments about 15 years ago and has been well maintained. Ginestra has the largest porch with covered seating for six and a nice view of the lake. We enjoyed many meals and "happy hours" on the porch. In summary, the apartment was better than advertised and we felt a very good value.

The owner/hostess, Roberta Frigiiolini, was cordial and helpful. She speaks near perfect English as she once taught English. We interacted with her on an almost daily basis regarding her olive farm, restaurants, sites in the area. Her dog, Linda, was a delight--visiting us a couple of times per day to hang out on our porch.

The setting is a working olive farm. La signora was preparing for the harvest while we were there. The farm sits well above the road and therefore no road noise. The grounds were beautifully maintained with potted flowering plants, an almond tree and fruit trees.
The pool looked nice with wonderful views, but was closed for the season.

Favorite activities included: 1. hanging out at the lake view coffee shop/bar at San Feliciano (about a mile from our apartment) drinking coffee or wine. Sometimes we would walk/jog there. Sometimes we would drive. 2. Shopping at local markets for food. 3. Taking day trips to nearby hill towns including Assisi, Orvieto, Cortona, etc.
4. Visiting the other towns around Lago Trasimeno and visiting one of the islands.

We had a rental car and used it daily. Our friends used public transportation and found it adequate. There was a bus stop about a kilometer away that would connect to a train station. We took a day trip by train to Florence.

Overall, we were very pleased with the apartment and the area. It fit out purposes almost perfectly. Internet access could have been better. La signora did offer it to guests, but it was in her apartment only. We did find inexpensive access nearby in Passignano (5 miles) at the train station. The only other negative I can think of is that we did get a couple of mosquitoes in our room the first two weeks of the trip as the windows are not fully screened.

If you are interested in Umbria, Frances Mayes in her book "Bella Tuscany" describes the things she did and saw in her loop around Lago Trasimeno.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thead26210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magione hotels
4.1 mi away
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
#2 of 2 in San Feliciano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Il Borgo sul Lago
Il Borgo sul Lago
#1 of 9 in Magione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Cantico della Natura
Il Cantico della Natura
#1 of 32 in Magione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Terre di Isa
Le Terre di Isa
#2 of 32 in Magione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Casa Sul Lago
La Casa Sul Lago
#1 of 2 in Torricella di Magione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camping Villaggio Italgest
Camping Villaggio Italgest
#1 of 3 in Sant'Arcangelo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Monte Petreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Monte Petreto

Property: Podere Monte Petreto
Address: Vocabolo Case Sparse 19 | San Savino, 06063, Magione, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Magione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Magione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient farmhouse, protected on the north by an oak forest and surrounded by 11 hectars of olive groves, is situated on a hill at less than 1Km from the Trasimeno Lake and can be reached through 300m. of country road. It has wonderful views over the umbrian country side, the ancient medioeval village of San Savino and that area of the lake, the southern side, which is a EU protected natural reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Monte Petreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing