We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Cantico della Natura
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restful Retreat”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Incredible views from pool area. Buildings beautiful and our room was comfortable, clean and beautiful. Access in and out best by car but we also used taxi (must prebook). Best breakfast of our trip and staff excellent, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Dinners were excellent. Wireless service onsite.

Room Tip: View of poolside would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    271
    51
    31
    24
See reviews for
151
657
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stay during the week, weekend proved to be too busy...........with a wedding and huge family group gathering! September is a wonderful time to be here. the overly hot summer had taken a toll on the usual green appearance! But the view from the hill top night and day is breath taking. The rooms are name by the months and located in a couple of buildings. Some are under the owners residence, a building just next and one up the hill. Each suite that we looked into were completely different in size and configuration.Each fully decorated in all antiques. The staff were all amazing , friendly and helpful. Our cooking class with Rosa was fantastic. The Breakfast was over the top !!!!.........dinners of a small select menu were great............eating on the out door patio at night was charming! The pool is nicely situated on the hill top looking out over the lakeside town below. Not easy to find if you are by car, without a car hard to get to other hill side towns, as the town right below had nothing to offer. If you are missing your pets the resident two dogs will charm themselves into your heart. This is a place for couples.............in every way! Even the poolside chairs are paired up each morning! and the Italian cakes served at 5pm poolside a nice touch. We did not have hot water in our unit, but I hardly cared. Our valuable safe was not operational...........but we we tucked away in our own hill top world and felt safe. the winery down the hillside is worth the friendly visit and the wines worth picking up!!!

Room Tip: four of the rooms are located on the outdoor patio.............for those who want to seek off early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in mid September. The drive up to the hotel is fine, just take it easy. The setting is beautiful, the view from the pool area spectacular. The staff are helpful and do their level best to make your stay the best it can be. The buildings are made from local stone and absolutely in keeping with what you would expect of an old Umbrian inn, especially the dining room and patio dining area.

Our room was majus, just off the dining terrace. The room is good sized and well furnished with an adequate bathroom. However, there are no windows because the room is a (well) converted cellar and to keep it cool requires the air conditioner to be running continuously. It would have been nice to open a window in such a beautiful old building.

Our only complaint with the hotel is the lack of attention to detail. Our minibar fridge did not work so we had no cold drinks available. One could say "so what"' but with an outside temperature of 34 and no hotel bar, a cold drink would have been good at times. The hotel we unable to fix the fridge or swap it over, we missed out on a drink - they missed out on the minibar profit. On our penultimate day our room wasn't made up at 1700 in the evening and we had to point this out to them. They attended immediately and we then noticed they had left a set of towels that were dirty, as if they,d been on the floor for a time. We asked them to change them which they did. Why not check and give us clean towels the first time? Finally the bed in Majus is just awful. It's two single, cast iron framed beds pushed together. There is an iron bar that runs down between the two beds that stops you venturing into your partners half and if you aren't careful you end up bruised. A triumph or style over practicality.

The meals and wine are excellent and good value for money.


Get the detail right and this could be a truly great hotel to spend a few restful days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and a comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamanddanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place confirmed our booking but made a mistake on the dates and we were left without a room. Worst of all, they dont answer emails for 2 weeks straight claiming they havent received anything...

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank filippobozotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantico, Manager at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
First of all we would like to comunicate that this potential guest did not came to visit us. We consider not correct to make e reference only to have a revenge or make and express damage to us without coming and giving a vote on something (a trip) did not happen. Second the reservation was not confirmed because we received via mail an instant booking in a web site where we have a free sale contract and we have to give for legal and for honest attidude priority to that. Third we comunicate to the potential guest via mail directly the same day the situation and we never received and answer. He said i wrote but we never received and in any case i receive directly our comunication many days before. So we consider aboslutely false what have been said and we ask to remove it. We accept of course critic but not pure attack originated by range and uncorrect vision ot the reality from someone that necer came
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A wonderful, beautiful, peaceful, scenic, perfect Italian inn. The view and setting are as good as you'll find anywhere in Italy. Exactly what you want for rest and beauty. Meals-especially dinners-were outstanding. The setting in the stone eating area is right out of a movie. Candles, white table cloth, sublte music, wonderfully decorated, in this stone room hundreds of years old. Our family ate there three straight nights, at least 3 hours each meal. We didn't want the night to end. And wouldn't have eaten any place else. Quiet and relaxed and romantic. A perfect setting. Cozy. It is what you would imagine a country Italian inn should be. Authentic. Just enough english spoken to handle all issues. But it is authentic Italian. Great wine selection. We loved it. Rooms are Ralph Lauren in feel. Antiques. But all modern amenities. No issues. The pool area overlooks a huge lake, several small quaint towns below, distant mountains and hills-just gorgeous. As good a view as Italy has to offer. The inn is perfect for couples, good friends, etc. Our kids are 15, 18, 21 and 22 and I thought any younger than 15 wouldn't appreciate what this place is. We have traveled Italy before-stayed at Locanda in Tuscany. We spent days traveling to small towns-Todi, Pienza, Assissi,etc after breakfast, were back by afternoon for swim, reading by pool, daydreaming. Had no desire to go anywhere else for dinner, which we began about 830. Then great sleeping. The smell of honeysuckle drifts throughout the inn. Flowers are all over the grounds. 12 rooms-all well appointed. I think you get the idea. It was perfect. We were very pleased with the prices. We flew into Rome, stayed for a few days and then drove to Magione. Would recommend a Garmin-not only to find the inn but to navigate your way to the small towns which are priceless. As is Il Cantico Della Natura. www.ilcanticodellanatura.it KH, KC Mo., USA

Room Tip: 12 rooms-one of our rooms was December-excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umbria38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed there for two nights, which we had bought via Groupon (otherwise it would have been too expensive). We slept in April room (small but cozy) and enjoyed two great breakfasts in the restaurant (both sweet and salad food, really excellent) and a warm tea with handmade biscuits overlooking the lake in the afternoon.
We really appreciated the possibility to have the spa area entirely reserved for one hour!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Enjoyed our stay, room was clean and service was good. Charming room. It was slow season so not much going on at the resort. Our host was very polite and would provide us with what we needed. It was hard to find so get good directions. Would love to come back in the summer when we could fully enjoy the beautiful grounds and trails. Internet did not work in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magione
10.0 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
641 reviews
5.1 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
706 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
672 reviews
13.0 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,703 reviews
12.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cantico della Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cantico della Natura

Property: Il Cantico della Natura
Address: Case Sparse 50 | Vocabolo La Penna, 06063, Magione, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Magione
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Magione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Cantico della Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Umbria in a wonderful panoramic position with Trasimeno lake view,this hotel provides the ideal base for your holiday.The old stone house was finely restored and furnished in 19th century style.It offers very romantic rooms with a fan and air conditioning.Typical umbrian food is served in the restaurant.Il Cantico della Natura has an intimate wellness centre with jacuzzi,sauna and turkish bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Cantico della Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing