We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Cantico della Natura
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed there for two nights, which we had bought via Groupon (otherwise it would have been too expensive). We slept in April room (small but cozy) and enjoyed two great breakfasts in the restaurant (both sweet and salad food, really excellent) and a warm tea with handmade biscuits overlooking the lake in the afternoon.
We really appreciated the possibility to have the spa area entirely reserved for one hour!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    260
    50
    31
    24
See reviews for
139
633
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Enjoyed our stay, room was clean and service was good. Charming room. It was slow season so not much going on at the resort. Our host was very polite and would provide us with what we needed. It was hard to find so get good directions. Would love to come back in the summer when we could fully enjoy the beautiful grounds and trails. Internet did not work in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed for three nights - the views of the Umbrian countryside are fantastic. The tasting menu was different and wonderful each night: antipasto buffets, two kinds of pasta (yes, you can have some of both!), delicious meat, flavorful vegetables and lovely desserts. The service was friendly and genuine (they work hard!). The cooking class with Aunt Rossa (making pasta and a torta salata), was fun - what a sweet lady! Afternoons by the pool were a highlight; you can order wine to enjoy by the pool. We had a couple of problems (hot water, paying by credit card), but once we let the staff know, they resolved them. Print their directions from the website (they are excellent and you will need them). It's a FARM stay, so please don't expect perfection. Go to relax and enjoy the tranquility.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I were very much looking forward to our visit to Il Cantico della Natura. We stayed there for two nights, and out of the dozen or so agritourism places and small hotels we have stayed in the Umbrian/Tuscany region this past summer, this was the worst.

Our room (Octobre) was very small and dark. My husband and I had to do a dance to get by one another when we were anywhere near the bed (which of course took up most the room). It was almost impossible to read in the room, even with all of the lights on. The tub/shower--which was situated in the bedroom (giving the place a slightly "Poconos, NY" feel--was very difficult to get in and out of. There was nothing to hold on to, and one had to step down about 36 inches to get in or out. Plus, the design of the shower was faulty and water went all over the floor.

The pool was freezing--even in September. We did not expect it to be heated, but because the pool is kept clean by constantly circulating a strong current of fresh water through the pool, there is no chance for the water to get warm at all. We only saw one person use the pool the entire time we were there because the water was just too cold.

Dinner starts at 8:30 pm. Living in Italy for the past year, we are use to late eating times, but a start of 7:30--for those who have traveled and are tired--would be helpful. Finally, the food in their restaurant was not at all good--we ate out the second night. My husband and I were so eager to get away after our second night, we left before breakfast.

Please--go somewhere else. This place is very, very overpriced for what you get. There are so many very lovely agritourisms in the area--which cost much less and give you so much more for the value! (See my other reviews for some suggestions.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JBORLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Il Cantico della Natura is an amazing place. It sits on a hill to the east of Lake Trasimeno, with a stunning view out over a valley to the lake. The old stone farmhouse dates back hundreds of years. It has been restored and updated beautifully. All of the rooms are different. Our room was large and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff is pleasant and responsive.

We had several dinners and several breakfasts at Il Cantico, and the food was outstanding. All of the ingredients used in their kitchen are from Umbria, as are the wines. There were several choices each night for each course of the meal. When we wanted to try a little bit of each, no problem, they accomodated us. The atmosphere in the dining room is very pleasant and the service was attentive.

When we were at Il Cantico, I think we were the only English speaking guests. It appeared that all of the other guests were Italian. This makes Il Cantico a little different from some of the other places we've stayed in Italy.

It's a little complicated to get to Il Cantico. It's not in a town, and it's not near anything else. You have to drive out into the countryside, then up into the hills, then take a one-lane dirt road through the woods. Don't let that discourage you. Get a little off the beaten track and find your way to Il Cantico. It's definitely worth the effort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in this gem. The location is fantastic for those who enjoy nature, peace, beautiful views and surroundings. Il cantico is a little world of flowers, lavender and olive trees. Our room was cozy, a bit dark but good quality furniture etc. The restaurant is outstanding, offering a very good value dinner prix fix. The staff is very welcoming and warm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Really to expensive.. It's not so silent and there are to many wasps closed to the swimmig pool. The location is very amazing but..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verdena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magione
10.0 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
5.1 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
10.0 mi away
Domus Volumnia Residence
Domus Volumnia Residence
#25 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
13.0 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cantico della Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cantico della Natura

Property: Il Cantico della Natura
Address: Case Sparse 50 | Vocabolo La Penna, 06063, Magione, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Magione
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Magione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Cantico della Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Umbria in a wonderful panoramic position with Trasimeno lake view,this hotel provides the ideal base for your holiday.The old stone house was finely restored and furnished in 19th century style.It offers very romantic rooms with a fan and air conditioning.Typical umbrian food is served in the restaurant.Il Cantico della Natura has an intimate wellness centre with jacuzzi,sauna and turkish bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Il Cantico della Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing