We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel ”
Review of Bagni di Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bagni di Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

the only good things of this place are 1) big and confortable room 2) the fact that it is natural spa 3) professional massage (not included). But if you are looking for something more, like an exclusive hotel, I don't reccomend bagni di pisa. average food, too many people in the spa (it is open to anyone) not nice view from our room, not such a good hotel location: you need to take the car if you want to visit something like lucca or pisa...
The hotel is not that bad but of course it is not a real 5 stars hotel!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LauAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    229
    92
    29
    23
See reviews for
138
432
41
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We received a complimentary upgrade and received good service throughout our stay. The food at all sittings was exceptional with care and attention not only to taste but also to presentation. The room was very comfortable and clean. The spa was good and the private grotto a treat. Close to Pisa and good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel pretend to be a 5 star SPA hotel, part of the LHW. Except for the prices, there is nothing like 5 star.

It was difficult to find it, then to understand where is the reception,nobody to come and help with the luggage and at least to greet you. The lady on the reception was nice but for the price we were paying it was the minimum.

We went to the SPA- the outdoor pool was quite warm but everything is so old that gives you the impression of being durty. To be honnest I think that all this story about Italy is exagereted. Ok, is nice,but everything is old, expensive,very bad service...so tipical for Europe.

The breakfast was nothing special,not even a real 5 star breakfast but the thing that put me really of was that quest are alowed to shown dressed with bath robes!!! I am sorry, but this is not very pleasant.

We were upgraded and had a really big room,but except for the size again nothing special (no, the bathroom was nice this is true).

The second day we had more time and we decided to stay more in the SPA-almost impossible. It was sunday and the SPA was open for visitors as well, not only for hotel guests and it was so terrible like experience. Crowded,noisy,durty...the pools inside are with really hot water but with all those people inside impossible to stay and find a place in the pool!!!

So, with two words- dispointed by this hotel. We like the LHW but not this one.Maybe if somone decide to go in Pisa it's better to go for a traditionnal 3 star hotel and it would be the same quality that we had,except for the price of course.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed our third time in Bagni di Pisa. The new spa is a great improvement. All the renovations are carefully and authentic. You can see, it's difficult to make a luxury hotel out of a very old building. The rooms are very various. Check out the room first. We stayed in room #218 which is fascinating with a high dome roof. The beds are of good quality and everything is clean. This part of the hotel is quiet, we could sleep with open window, no noise. Most of the guest are couples of all ages. This hotel gives you a lot of privacy. You never see a crowd somewhere. This can be a strange feeling at the bar or lounge, when you see rarely any person. We can recommend this hotel for thermal treatments in a luxury old and authentic italien style. Be aware, this hotel is not for everybody's expectations. We love the unique and authentic part.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We found this hotel through Citalia and Leading Hotels of the World, whilst looking for a hotel close to Lucca and the Ligurian Coast. We were upgraded to the blue suite in the hotel brochure which has a sitting room and bathroom downstairs and a mezzanine level bedroom with a spectacular frescoed ceiling. This is the first time that we stayed in a hotel without having a terrace or balcony and I did wonder if we would miss this facility and whilst perfect for a Autumn break, I would certainly have missed the outside space if our trip had been during the Summer months.

The situation right in the middle of the little town of San Giuliano Terme means that you can walk out from the hotel to buy stamps, have a coffee in the square and enjoy the local Osteria.

The hotel itself is a converted Palace, the summer residence of the Grand Duke Stephen of Lorraine with exquisite eighteenth century frescoes and marble floors and the pictures on the website give a clear indication of the beautiful ceilings and comfortable furnishings in the bar and restaurant and rooms.

The evening meals are excellent and the chef presents extremely tasty dishes. The bar tenders and waiting staff are charming and very professional and knew our names from our arrival and thereafter always referred to us by name. as we would expect.

The pool is of course a thermal pool with a constant temperature of 38 degrees and we enjoyed it each afternoon after our trips to Lucca, Forte dei Marmi etc. We were very fortunate with the weather which enabled us to sit by the pool in the sunshine. The spa is superb and a very important part of the hotel, with many guests enjoying spa breaks. Don't miss the walk up to The Belvedere in the grounds with the panoramic view of the plain and the Tower, Cathedrale and Baptistry in Pisa (which can also be seen from the restaurant).

We loved the fact that all members of staff that we encountered were Italian which is often not the case in Italy and without exception they made the time to enquire if everything was perfect for us, which it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontagueSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Taken into account the homepage of the hotel our expectations were high. The pictures look very nice and it seems like the hotel has an up to date standard.

Being one of few 5 star hotels in the Pisa area this ended up to be our choice for a one night stay in October 2013, unfortunately.

We had booked a room for appr. 250 Euros, double room. To be honest, this is the poorest room we have ever experienced at a 5 star hotel and for that price! No maintenance for 20 years, going back to the '90s. After having talked to the Hotel Manager telling that the standard was not acceptable, we were up graded to a nice suite on the top floor overlooking the village.

The hotel needs an up grade to expect the guests to pay the high rates! The whole hotel has a typical style from the '90s also in the common areas, with i.e. bamboo furnitures, worn out sofas, worn out sun bed pillows and yellow curtains. Interior mostly missing the classical touch of timeless + classical look. Please, bring the hotel back to the standard such a lovely building deserves!!

The pool area was really disapointing; shabby and old with lack of maintenance. Some sun beds were in use, but actually out of order. We rather used the shower, having a pool that looked dirty... Paint the walls outside and clean the terrace floor. No pool bar.

So, what was good?

- Free parking, just outside of the hotel
- Friendly staff
- Good breakfast
- Free wireless internett
- Lovely lunch; having toast (ham/chees) + salmon salad
- Probably good spa facilities
- Room keeping excellent, clean rooms

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights at the beginning of October 2013. This was a very late, spur of the moment, booking so we had little time to fully check all of the other hotels in the region. Nevertheless, it was advertised as a five-star hotel and spa. We were not interested in the spa, merely the hotel aspect.
We use the hotel as a base as it is on the railway line between Florence and Pisa with trains running at roughly half-hour intervals (but not between 11:00 a.m. and noon).

General observations
Although billed as a five-star hotel it was not the standard of other five-star hotels and I stayed in. I would place it near the top end of a three-star hotel. It had a nice sort of old world charm about it and was somewhat rambling in layout with lifts that seem to be difficult to access and the need to walk up several flights of stairs to get from one place in the hotel to another. Some of the décor was what I would describe as ersatz in execution. For example what at first glance appeared to be mouldings around the edges of the ceiling and on the ceiling turned out to be large pieces of decorated paper glued to the ceiling.

There are a number of large cast iron urns modelled on the Grecian urn style dotted around the hotel these had at some time been painted but sadly many of them had flaked paint and lots of rust showing through so didn't look particularly attractive.

Staff were extremely friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Railway tickets can be purchased at the hotel reception, but it does seem that the hotel has a substantial handling charge this. Far cheaper to purchase them at the railway station although this needs to be done at a self-service machine on platform one of the station. The machine will take coins and credit cards but not notes.

Train tickets in Italy need to be validated by inserting them into a machine prior to travel but at San Giuliano Terme station the machine is only on platform one. There is a ticket office but we never found it to be open.

San Giuliano Terme itself has little to recommend it by way of entertainment but it does make a good base if you wish to travel to other parts of Tuscany.

Check-in and room
The check-in was extremely smooth and we were quickly shown to our room. I suspect this was one of the budget rooms as the room was rather small and the only mirror was in the bathroom making it difficult for my wife to do her hair. Having said that, the room was quiet and comfortable and the bathroom was adequate.

Facilities
There is an excellent bar and an excellent restaurant in the hotel but both are extremely pricey. For example a cup of coffee was €4 would have one walked 50 m outside the door an excellent cup of coffee could be had in the piazza for €1. We only had one evening meal in the restaurant because it was just too expensive to do that more than once, however, the meal was excellent as was the service so a nice treat. For those not wishing to eat in the restaurant there is a fairly pleasant osteria almost next to the hotel - Osteria Pasta e Vino - with good food at reasonable prices.

Depending on your preferences, breakfast (buffet style) could be either good or disappointing. If you are happy with cereals fruit yoghurt cold meats and cheeses etc and breakfast is fine (although the coffee was not very good nor was the fruit juice). Cooked breakfast was poor.

There are lots of health facilities available (some of them at a price) such as pools, massage etc. I suspect that this is what justifies the five-star rating. For most of the day you will see guests wandering around in bathrobes.

Check out
As with the check-in, the checkout was extremely smooth and efficient.

I would have no objections to staying at this hotel again if nothing else was available but I certainly wouldn't book it without checking to see if something else better was available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chasgunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giuliano Terme
20.8 mi away
Grotta Giusti
Grotta Giusti
#1 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
4.2 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Locanda Sant'Agata
Locanda Sant'Agata
#2 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
13.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagni di Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagni di Pisa

Property: Bagni di Pisa
Address: Largo Shelley 18, 56017, San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bagni di Pisa 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 5-star resort affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," prestigious brand of the luxury hotellerie, completed by a large thermal Spa, with the brand "Leading Spa." Set amid the gentle hills of Tuscany and kissed by the scented winds of the Mediterranean sea, Bagni di Pisa Palace is a magnificent and sumptuous building of great historical value. Now lovingly restored to its original splendor, it was once owned by the Grand Duke of Tuscany and chosen by the European aristocracy as a place to spend their summer holidays. Dating back to the 18th century, the building is set in a beautiful park of olive trees and combines classical architecture with modern facilities. Accommodation ranges from well-designed comfort to elegant and spacious suites, which have separate living rooms, marble baths and original 18th-century frescoes. Groups visiting this luxurious hotel have access to modern meeting facilities, to a refined spa and thermal centre, as well as plenty of outdoor leisure activities in the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bagni di Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagni Di Pisa Palace Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Bagni Di Pisa Palace And Spa
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Hotel
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Resort
Bagni Di Pisa Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing