We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, nice building, no service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Podere Il Bugnolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antico Podere Il Bugnolo
Ranked #2 of 9 Poggibonsi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice location, nice building, no service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We spent 3 nights here, exploring Siena and Florence. Zhe location of the place is very good. When we arrived, nobody was there, the key was left in the postbox. Not very personal, in contrast to the description on their website. Rooms are nice, walls are very thin, you hear people arriving late in the evening. We missed a sofa or something to sit inside during the evening... Breakfast is a joke, I recommend bringing your own stuff, this is really the option which gives the least trouble to the management but leaves the guest wondering where the italian hospitality is. We know other similar places where this is far far better. All in all, nice place but not perfect, even for this price.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomgrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    6
    0
    10
See reviews for
24
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trebon, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We spent one week in Antico Podere in May. We did not have any troubles in reservation in advance and during check in. Its true we were there out of full season and except weekend there were not so many people there.
Breakfast was self service, refrigerator available for own food. Roms are pretty small and walls probably from "paper" as we heard every word from next room. But we were so tired from everyday trips that we fell asleep soon and left sooner then others woke up. No outside noise, so sleep with windows opened is possible.
Hard to find without good map or a GPS navigation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Our stay at Antico Podere was very nice. Simone was very attentive and gave us some great tips on what to see in the area. The room was very clean and comfortable. The eating area is very large with kitchen, you can cook if you'd like. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friedmanjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

After travelling through the night from New Jersey to Milan and then driving to this bed and breakfast to start our Tuscany vacation, we were told that we did not have a reservation. I made the reservation 6 months prior to our trip and reconfirmed the reservation 2.5 weeks prior to our arrival. Both confirmed by the owner through email. I spoke with the owner over the telephone upon our arrival and rather than be apologetic he was extremely rude and blamed me for the situation. When pushed he found us an inferior place to stay for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mathteachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittino, Proprietario at Antico Podere Il Bugnolo, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
It would be better not to respond and not to accept the challenge, however, for the news, perhaps the gentlemen were too tired of traveling to appreciate what we offer from 4 years hard work , with much satisfaction from our American customers.
Clarify that still had not been paid any money in advance and did not like either alternative accommodation given the same level
They sleeped in the car??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

Very nice place with charming personnel, rooms very comfortable
We spent there very nice time , excellent summer

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank owieczka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poggibonsi hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alcide
Hotel Alcide
#5 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Toscana Ambassador
Toscana Ambassador
#7 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#3 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Lecchi Residenza D'epoca
4.4 mi away
Palazzo alle Mura
Palazzo alle Mura
#6 of 11 in Poggibonsi
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Podere Il Bugnolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere Il Bugnolo

Property: Antico Podere Il Bugnolo
Address: Loc Canonica 5 | Chianti San Gimignano, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Podere Il Bugnolo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the delicate hills of the Chianti, in the beautiful country Tuscany, between the cities of art and the historical countries of the province of Siena, rich of old castles and monumental abbeys, found our Bed & Breakfast, where greeting is the style of life of all the family. Here, where it reigns the heat of the hearth, you will not be of the simple customers but true hosts of our house. To the Bed and Breakfast Antico podere Il Bugnolo not to only rent one room to you, we are not one photo on an anonymous catalogue, not to only deliver the keys and to say as the gas is ignited, but we share with you the customs, our lifestyle, the Tuscany culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Antico Podere Il Bugnolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Podere Il Bugnolo Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing