We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany dream......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country House Croce di Bibbiano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country House Croce di Bibbiano
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tuscany dream......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this Tuscany Dream from September 2-5/12 for my daughter's wedding. The scene and location is still being digested even a month after coming home. We have already tentatively booked another stay in early May 2013 and cannot wait! The sheer historical sense of being there brought a surreal feeling. The staff- in particular: Valeria was so much part of our visit. As primarily a wedding accommodation; Valeria and staff obviously are the gatekeepers of assisting brides and grooms ready the paperwork and plans for weddings and my daughter's wedding event went with excitement and anticipation.....what more could one possibly wish for?!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIBBIANO, Owner at Country House Croce di Bibbiano, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Robert,
Even if with some delay we would like to reply to your nice review. As you know we have had a long season but now it's more quiet and we take some time with great pleasure to thank you for the nice words. We always try to do our best and to know that our guests have been satisfied and many of them, as your case, come back it's for us the best 'incentive' to always improve our services. To meet nice people as you, your wife, your daughter and all the others is indeeed the best gratification of our job, looking forward to meet you soon our kindest regarda from Bibbiano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Only problem was the lack of ice. Not only at the villa but all over the area. Only certain rooms had A/C which made the stay hot and uncomfortable. The wine at the estate was excellent. Breakfast were very good but could have been varied from day to day to break things up. There is only so much parma ham and cheese one can eat. The venue is perfectly suited to a big group.
Chianti is fantastic and I can definately advise on a visit to one of the many wineries in the area. We found a butchery in Grieve that will make any
The self catering facilities are average but adequate. Which helped to keep food costs down by buying food from the local supermarket in Poggibonzi (PAM). The prices of goodsin the supermarket are very reasonable even sometimes cheaper than at home.
The venue is within an hour or so drive from Sienna, Florence and Chianti which gives you plenty of day trip options

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbird7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went to the Croce di Bibbiano for lunch as part of our hiking tour of Tuscany. This place is beautiful. It has a gorgeous view of San Gimignano, the vineyards below, and the tuscan hills. The host was very nice and even shared her recipes with us. We enjoyed a lovely lunch of panzanella salad, a variety of bruschettas, a cheese tray, and a garden salad. We sampled a variety of their wines and all were great. On the whole, it was a wonderful experience for lunch.

We did not purchase any wine that day, however we were able to find their wine for sale at the Florence airport. We also discovered that if you buy wine at the airport, you can carry it onto the plane. Happy traveling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Was here for 3 nights as part of a wedding in early June. Amazing views of San Gimignano from the pool! Valeria (the host) prepared some delicious food (although you have to request dinner in advance), and the Chianti was excellent! Would definitely return.

When you come here, expect to relax, take things slow, and enjoy the unbelievable surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My family took a 2 week trip to Italy in June. After several hectic days in Rome, we were thrilled with the accomodations at San Gimignano Vistas (Croce Di bibbiano). They upgraded our room so we had a 3 bedroom apartment at no extra charge. The first night there was the highlight of our trip with a wine tasting and dinner with the other guests set against the sunset and fabulous views. Magical! Valeria took wonderful care of our every need. We left 3 days later relaxed and ready for the rest of our journey.

We so enjoyed the wine that we decided to order some to enjoy once our trip was over. We were told the wine would arrive shortly after we returned. That was mid June. It is now mid August and still no wine. Of course, the charge was on our credit card by the time we got home, to the tune of $420. We have called, e-mailed and worked through the organization that booked our stay. I did finally receive an e-mail from Fed Ex with an attachment that was supposed to have our tracking #, however the attachment has a virus in it so I can't open it. I just called Fed Ex and they can't help me without a tracking #.

My advice is to stay there and enjoy the charm, hospitality and wine while you're there. But rather than ordering wine to enjoy once you're home, take lots of pictures instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We were to familys staying at this beautiful place for 2 weeks, we had absolutly nothing to complain about, its a fantastic property, the House is amazing, the view, the food and the people that live and work there where amazing to us and the children. We loved it!!!
We are going back for 3 weeks this summer, its a great place to explore tuscany and all its beauty!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla10050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Stayed here in Oct 2008 for a massive family reunion(38)of us, accomodation is situated in a fantastic get away from it all area, with a brilliant view of San Gimiano.
However inside the rooms are rather basic, it seems that one set of furniture has been bought for each apartment so one room has a chest of drawers, another a wardrobe etc etc, so its rather basic.
The swimming pool had been closed down for the winter, despite high 70 s temps still. The hosts are very nice and friendly, and it is very relaxed and an ideal base to explore the Tuscany region.
Would go again.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Minimum equipped rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ch33se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggibonsi
2.5 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alcide
Hotel Alcide
#5 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Lecchi Residenza D'epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#3 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
3.1 mi away
Toscana Ambassador
Toscana Ambassador
#6 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 11 in Poggibonsi
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Croce di Bibbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Croce di Bibbiano

Property: Country House Croce di Bibbiano
Address: Localita Bibbiano 1/3, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poggibonsi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country House Croce di Bibbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estate/Country House Croce di Bibbiano is an ancient monastery located in the heart of Chianti, on top of a hill that overlooks the magnificent towers of San Gimignano, about 6 km from the center of the medieval town , 25 km from Siena and 35 km from Florence ; ideal base for exploring the wonders of Tuscany with its rolling hills , ancient villages sprouting from the green of the landscape as painted postcards , culture, religion, art cities, numerous wineries , and last but not least the typical Tuscan family welcome .La Croce di Bibbiano , which offers accommodation in rooms and apartments finely restored , is created inside an ancient stone monastery in medieval times, located along the ancient ' Via Francigena ' , at the center of an estate of about 30 hectares, comprising less than 8 hectares of vineyards, forest, walking tracks, and more than four hundred olive trees.The restaurant is always available to our guests and the cuisine and authentic grandmother’s traditional.The perfect Tuscan experience..Feel free to contact us any time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country House Croce di Bibbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Croce Di Bibbiano Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing