We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antico Borgo San Lorenzo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Antico Borgo San Lorenzo”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Overall , a very nice place to discover and to be if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful place in the middle of Toscany . Located perfectly if you want to drive to Firenze , Sienna , San Gimignano , Val d'Orcia and the Chiantis . Restaurant on site for dinner is very good and mostly convenient. Food is excellent and finally Jacapo's team is "1st class" all the way .
Good value for pricing and we recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel for our last eight days of a month-long trip to Italy and we couldn't have made a better choice. We feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to spend the final days of our trip at this beautiful, comfortable, and friendly place. We chose this hotel because of the amenities of its cottages and the desire to have a single "base of operation" from which to explore Tuscany. The first part of our trip had been a trek from hotel to hotel starting on the Amalfi Coast and traveling to the north of Italy, then back down to Tuscany - a wonderful journey, but we knew we would be ready for a more laid-back and relaxing experience in Tuscany. This place was just the ticket. Antico Borgo San Lorenzo is in a great location to see some of the best of Tuscany.

Our cottage, "Albicocco", was situated with a spectacular view over a pretty valley. We sat at a table on our front lawn every afternoon, after our feet had pounded the cobblestones of nearby towns for hours, and enjoyed a few glasses of wine while feasting our eyes on the view. We had three rooms - a living room with a kitchenette at one end (with small refrigerator, dishwasher, gas cooktop and oven), a bedroom and a bath; and a much appreciated washing machine was available just a few steps away in a separate building attached to the reception area. Another appealing feature of this villa is that it has a fabulous restaurant, Casa Bandini, also just a few steps away, where we had one of the best dinners of our trip. My wife and I both enjoy cooking and, after dining exclusively in restaurants for almost a month, we were happy to be able to prepare some of our own meals. But it was great having this wonderful restaurant for times when we wanted something extra-special.

One of the best things about Antico Borgo San Lorenzo is that it is a family-owned business and the owners are lovely people. They are “hands on” managers and they get to know their guests. Jacopo Bandini who along with his parents, own the hotel, assisted us in planning our days. And Jacopo and his assistant Silvia guided us through a medical incident with my wife, calling an ambulance and accompanying us to a nearby Emergency Room (Pronto Soccorso in Italiano), where he helped us explain to the nurses and doctors what had occurred. Signora Bandini, Jacopo’s mother, even came to the hospital to check on my wife while she was waiting to be seen. We are most grateful to the Bandini family for all they did to make our final days in Italy some of the most memorable days of our trip.

We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: View the website for interior views of all the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Six of us (3 couples) spent a few day in Antico Borgo San Lorenzo and we all were delighyted with the nice and quiet environment, the efficient, well-mannered and polite personnel, with the well-served, delicious food (breakfast and dinner). Four of us were accomodated in the Villetta, which was great and would even be better if the bathtub had a door. Definitively, we are considering going back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsala
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was a great pleasure to stay in Antico Borgo San Lorenzo.
The service was excellent with all friendly and helpful people.
The breakfast and the dinners we had was fantastic in the cosy restaurant.
It was very easy to go to Florence and Sienna and other remarkable places.
We like to come back in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medowie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location was perfect for day tripping. The food was fantastic and the service was unparalleled. The staff could mot have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend this facility to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I joined with friends for an amazingly memorable week in Tuscany. We were fortunate enough to book this fantastic hotel. The beautiful location, the wonderful staff, the great food and the perfectly fitted out rooms with brilliantly high ceilings, made for the optimal setting for our Tuscany vacation. It was an ideal location to position ourselves in, both for day tripping to the many sights and scenery that Tuscany has to offer, as well as a lovely restaurant to unwind the day with an Aperol at sundown and delicious meal at the in house restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisVegasGirl_Na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were so pleased with everything at this lovely villa. From our comfortable base we made wonderful day trips throughout Tuscany and each evening had the choice of cooking something at home, eating out at one of Jacopo's great recommendations or dining at the delicious in-house restaurant. A delightful setting and beautiful rooms, made perfect by the friendly staff. Thank you Jacopo, Lucia and Azzurra. Our third villa in Tuscany and by far the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSN8014JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggibonsi
0.9 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
630 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo Croce di Bibbiano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
614 reviews
4.1 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
867 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo San Lorenzo

Property: Antico Borgo San Lorenzo
Address: Localita Pian Dei Campi 10, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Borgo San Lorenzo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo is located between Colle Val d'Elsa and Poggibonsi, in Chianti area, surrounded by green hills and vineyards. it' situated on the Francigena route, connecting San Gimignano and Florence to Siena. The structure is commposed from 8 apartments (2-8 person), a medieval church, a tipical tuscan restaurant and a swimmingpool with garden forniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antico Borgo San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing