We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alcide
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
piemonte
Level Contributor
193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good position near main interesting places in Tuscany: Siena and Florence and San Gimignano or Volterra. Room quite comfortable, not extremely clean. Great breakfast in the morning. Free parking, but attention to the road cleaning works. Good value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marycri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markusiena, Direttore at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
I'm glad you had a good time with us here at Alcide and I am very happy that you remember the problem of street cleaning.
we're working on,
My best,
Marco Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    210
    126
    25
    13
See reviews for
126
191
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a good hotel perfectly located if you wish to explore the main sights of Tuscany. The town of Poggibonsi itself offers some cafes and restaurants and the restaurant in the hotel is also very good. The amenities are average, the rooms are very clean while breakfast is below average. It is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've been at this hotel in september and everything was perfect:
- The price of € 30,00 for a room with a bathroom, Tv, Air condition and free wi-fi (it was a Booking Flash Deal);
- The room very clean;
- The excellent breakfast;
- The helpfully staff who help us to visit Tuscany and made of this hotel the best place to stay to visit San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena and Florence

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fernando c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

we stayed at hotel alcide during a recent trip through italy. mind that this review was written by a person in their 20s, some impressions ive had might be perceived differently by people of different age.

anyhow, the first impression was rather disappointing. the outside of the hotel building looked as if somehow, while we were driving there we hit a wormhole and got shot back into the seventies. not even the good ones. what i want to say is, the hotel looked like a gigantic concrete block with wrinkles (although symmetric ones) from the outside. rather disappointing.

anyway, the seventies flair didnt change after we got inside, although it felt different. the lobby of the hotel was (obviously) designed during the same age, but it looked rather fancy and had something like passed grandeur about it.

the other people staying at the place were rather 70s as well, what i wanna say is that they were in their seventies and rather old.

anyway, when we got to our room we discovered that it looked really nice and was big enough plus the bathroom looked really good. the service left nothing to worry about which is the most important thing after all. oh yeah, and it was really cheap, each one of us paid around 22€/night.

altogether i have to say, nice rooms, good service, great price, the looks of the hotel are a matter of taste and in this aspect my view is very subjective but i can imagine that most (younger) people are a bit put off by the first impression. not a bad place though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illbetrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night while passing through the Tuscany area. Our room and bathroom were very clean and cool. True, the room is smallish but for the price you can't beat it. The man at the reception desk was very nice and directed us to visit San Giminiano, a nearby medieval city which was well worth the short, 11 km trip. It is also possible to visit Greve in Chianti during the day, do a wine tasting, etc. then drive over to Alcide for the night and visit San Gim in the morning. The breakfast was amazing; a buffet style with pastries, vegetables, eggs, yogurt, etc. I would say this hotel was the best value of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel , is styled in the 70's. However it is immaculately well kept. Excellent for visiting Tuscany due to the central location. Parking is small than you'd expect, but we've always managed to park quickly. The restaurant, specialising in fish, is very good and inexpensive. Its patrons are mostly locals. The people at the reception are really helpful with tips about getting around in Tuscany. Oh, and the place is good value too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannabinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent two nights here the rooms were clean the service was good and the staff very friendly an ideal base to explore Tuscany and the train would be ideal to travel into the cities. If you want a hotel that you want to use as a base I would have no problem recommending staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorrineBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggibonsi
0.4 mi away
Toscana Ambassador
Toscana Ambassador
#6 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#3 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa Lecchi Residenza D'epoca
3.8 mi away
Palazzo alle Mura
Palazzo alle Mura
#7 of 11 in Poggibonsi
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#10 of 11 in Poggibonsi
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcide

Property: Hotel Alcide
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 67 / A, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcide 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alcide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcide Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing