We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return to visit this wonderful Villa and its family/staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staying here for four evenings, we drove from Florence...our first visit to the Tuscany area.

One cannot say enough about the caring, welcoming, attentive and joyful staff at the Villa. Old world elegance with a flair for the European/Italian service, Marco and his family/staff could not have been more gracious.

Our room window opened out to the Tuscan hills...breathtaking. Linens, housekeeping service were excellent. An amoire and dresser for storage, a desk, table and chairs which we pulled up to the wndow to take in the glorious view!
A jacuzzi was a wonderful surprise in the bathroom.

The grounds surrounding were complementary to the Villa and reflected care.

The Villa decor is soft colors, muted with elegance. It is not modern, nor would we have wanted it to be so.

Any questions or directions were met with a professional friendly guidance.

Each morning breakfast was served with eggs to order, cakes, breads, juices, meats, cheeses, juice, cappucinno, espresso, etc.

The Villa has its own restaurant and not to be missed dishes included: an amazing hot tomato appetizer, pastas,a cold pork appetizer, gelato with panna cotta, baby lamb chops, carponata, wonderful wine and yes the service!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Villa San Lucchese Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 663 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Everything about Villa San Lucchese from the spacious room with a view to the amazing breakfast and evening meal helped make our time in Tuscany all we hoped would be. We easily made day trips to Florence by bus then drove to the other sights. At the end of the day it was so restful to be back at the villa. One rainy day, we enjoyed sipping wine with new friends in a sitting room with fireplace and big open windows. We can't wait to return and make more good memories.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don and Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Villa San Lucchese was outstanding! Excellent restaurant and very nice rooms.

While our Garmin Insisted the hotel was located in the park across the road, we found it due to the signage around town. A beautiful old Villa that has been converted into a fine hotel. One of the best breakfasts we experienced, fresh fruits, nice torts, etc, and they offered to make omelets to order.....very nice with prosciutto, pomodoro and formaggio!

When we asked for a suggestion of a winery to visit a quick phone call got us an invite to Colle Bereto winery, a producer of fine Chianti Classico and Super Tuscans. Bernardo at Colle Bereto took time to show us the process they use to produce very fine wines......we were "forced" to order a case shipped home for further review!

While I usually avoid eating in hotel restaurants, the San Lucchese is an exception! We dined in the hotel two nights and were very happy with our food and the service was friendly and attentive.

All in all, a very nice three night stay and worth the step up from our usual level of lodging. Worth the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were staying with 20 members of our family in a villa near by but couldn't go a year with out visiting Villa San Lucchese. We have stayed at this lovely place 4 times before ( 4 years running) and we love it, Marco and his family are so dedicated to their guests having a good stay. We booked to eat in restaurant the next evening and when we asked if we could have a quick wander around we were told to feel free, which was very nice.On the evening we were delighted to be greeted so warmly by Marco and Aunt Lucia, it was lovely to be back and wished we could have stayed longer but all good things come to an end and we had to leave, sadly but we will be booking up to go back next year. See you all again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizianKent_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My partner and I absolutely loved this villa. It was exactly what we had imagined - a quaint medieval villa atop a hill overlooking a beautiful Tuscan landscape. The staff were angels, grounds were gorgeous and the included breakfast was delicious. It was the highlight of our Italy vacation. Plus, it was perfectly located for short day trips to Siena and San Gimignano. They recommended Colle Bereto as a winery to visit - and if you love wine, like we do, make sure to go. It too was paradise.

My partner and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuccheseHotel, Responsabile reception at Villa San Lucchese Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Villa San Lucchese... A Paradise in the Chianti Shire

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review. We are very happy that our work and our hotel has created so intense feeling for an Holiday. When we listen reviews as your we are very satisfied, because our work is going in the right direction.
Colle Bereto is an other Paradise, for this reason we recommend it to all your guests,
Please, come back next year to see the increase of the services of our hotel and to spend an other period in Paradise
Thanks again for your review
Villa San Lucchese Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a great experience! The hotel is run by friendly people and the staff is always available. They also have a restaurant with a superb food. Although you need a car to get to the hotel, you can walk around and even reach Poggibonsi after a 20-30 minutes walk down the hill. Worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wamberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuccheseHotel, Responsabile reception at Villa San Lucchese Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

The Chienti Shire, a place to be... also without a car

Dear Wamberto,
thanks for writing us few days after your departure from our hotel.
You had a really good room during your stay in the Junior Suite Firenze that you had.
We are sorry that you couldn't move too much without a car, our place is really well served to visit Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and Volterra, but to see the countryside and the Tuscany's Hills of the Chianti Valley you need a car (otherwise there are private tours).
But we are very happy about your satisfation for your stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you soon again, maybe when you will come frm Brasil to discover more your italian origins.
Hope to see you soon and consider our staff at your disposal to give you a special offer for your next stays
Villa San Lucchese Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Villa De San Luchesse is like visiting and living a fairy tale. It is a 12th century villa that has been modernized without losing the historical perspective. The buildings and grounds (beatiful garden, outdoor pool, tennis courts) sit high on a hill overlooking the Chianti wine country and the view out our room window was like something you would see in a painting. We did not reserve the most expensive or largest room so you can rest assured there are no bad views. The room was more than adequate, well appointed, comfortable, and the staff and owners the best. Vasco, Marco, and Dania all go out of their way to insure their guests are comfortable, happy, and well fed. The outdoor dining patio overlooks the valley and the food and wait staff are excellent. Excellent value all around at The Villa San Luchesse. We would highly recommend it to anyone traveling in that area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuber1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuccheseHotel, Responsabile reception at Villa San Lucchese Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Villa San Lucchese: a window on the Chianti Shire!!!

Dear Melvin and Stacy,
thanks for your review for our hotel.
The hotel is made by the experience of our guest, as you. For us is very important to understand in which direction we are going and understand if we have to change something. In your case we have done a really good job. The owners, Marco and Vaso care really well for their guest, and Dania Always follows the guests in all their request.
We have a nice position, for this reason we like to add a nice service for our guest for a perfect stay and an unforgettable experience.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again.
Villa San Lucchese Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggibonsi
14.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
11.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
3.0 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Lecchi
Villa Lecchi
#2 of 11 in Poggibonsi
302 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
545 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lucchese Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lucchese Hotel

Address: Localita San Lucchese 5, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poggibonsi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poggibonsi
#2 Family Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range: $68 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Lucchese Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hearth of Tuscany, surrounded by a splendid view on the Chianti’s hill, at only 9 kms from the Medieval centre of San Gimignano town, it is located Villa San Lucchese Hotel in Tuscany, a luxury hotel near siena and Florence, an ancient Villa from 15th century, recently renwed respecting the traditional Tuscan style in a modern key.The old historic Villa in tuscany is the ideal place where to combine work and relax, for holiday and meetings in tranquility and good health standards.Managed with a paticular care by Ninci Family, the Hotel offer hospitality in some very elegant rooms and suites, overlooking in the green Italian style garden, equipped by many conforts where the luxury and the charm are in full agreement with simplicity.The personal care which from many years mark this management will make you feel in a familiar atmosphere.At the restaurant, in the panoramic terrace or in the suggestive Dining room (“Limonaia”) you can taste the typical Tuscan Traditional dishes prepared with a light touch and combined with a selection of good wines, collected in our wine store.The Owner Marcantonio Ninci, Professional Sommelier organizes on request guided Wine tasting for our guests with a selection of quality wines from the most important Tuscany areas wine, collected in our Wine Store Cellar.In the morning you can delight in tasting genuine hand-made cakes and for your breakfast you can find a Bio spot.During your stay you can choose to enjoy yourself with the different activities around the villa: the swimming pools surrounded by the luxuriant garden, the tennis court, the bowling green and the park for pleasant walks in a quite oasis where to discover serenity and relax.From the Hotel guests have possibility to visit several historical interest cities, such as: the Medieval Monteriggioni (10 km) and Certaldo Alto (14 km), the Crystal town of Colle Val’ D’Elsa (6 km), Siena (18 km), Florence (36 km), the Etruscan and ancient city of Volterra.Just around the Historical Villa San Lucchese Hotel in the Chianti is possible to visit the most important wine areas: Chianti and Brunello areas. We are at disposal from our guest in giving suggestion about the Wineries to visit, with possibility to book guided Tours and Wine Tasting in Radda in Chianti, Gaiole in Ghianti, Castellina in Chianti or Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano, the locations of Vald’Orcia and Gallo Nero wine area.Villa San Lucchese is the ideal hotel for Vacation in Tuscan for guest who love to stay in relax: for families, couples for each Special Occasion and romantic week end, for little groups holidays in sign of Tuscany Food and Wine or for each special Event. The hotel is also very suitable for Business Travelers thanks to all many conforts the rooms are equipped (free wireless connection) and the inside typcial Tuscan Foods restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Lucchese Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Lucchese Hotel Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany
Hotel San Lucchese
San Lucchese Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing