We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda Pantanello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Pantanello
Ranked #3 of 14 Pitigliano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I, too, was part of the group of 18 with 10 of us at Locanda and 8 at Villa Vacasio. The Cesaretti family at Locanda make you feel so welcome and almost part of their family from the beginning of your stay until the end when you don't want to leave. The atmosphere is relaxing with their grove of olive trees at the entrance (they have their oil pressed and for sale), the sheep and horses grazing in the surrounding pastures, and a lovely glass covered pool and Jacuzzi next to the farmhouse. The bedrooms, dining room and sitting room are all kept immaculately clean and rustically decorated. The multi-course dinner meals are carefully and lovingly prepared by Morena, a gourmet cook. Ricotta mousse, panzanella, baked finocchio, sautéed wild boar, and tortelli with hand-made pasta are just a few of the delicious dishes served up. Each night we could hardly wait to sample the latest offerings. The local wines, red and white, are outstanding. Everything about our stay was top-notch and couldn't have been better. The price is an excellent value compared with what you receive for it.

Room Tip: Cyclamen was a delightful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I spent a week at Locanda Pantanello as part of a group of 18, hiking and walking in the Tuscan countryside. The accommodations were lovely,with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water in the showers. The food was truly outstanding, all prepared on site, and from local ingredients (many from the locanda). We had breakfast and dinner in the attractive dining room and a hiking lunch each day. The Dolce della Matina (a breakfast cake) and the cigalle (wild boar) were particular standouts. The host family was very hospitable and accommodating for our large group. Just outside of the medieval town of Pitigliano, Locanda Pantanello is a great location from which to visit "undiscovered" Tuscany.

Room Tip: There are sheep with bells in the fields, so you might want ear plugs if you sleep with open windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Because of our size (18 people) half of our group slept and relaxed at Via Vicasio while the rest of us stayed at Locanda Pantanello. All meals were provided for all 18 people at the Locanda Pantanello and they were the best Italian meals I ever eaten. The owners, Morena and Pietro Ciacci were incredibly gracious and Morena was kind enough one day to demonstrate the art of making homemade pasta (something she served to us every day in many inventive and delicious ways). Her daughters Francesca and Flamencia were always on hand to help translate and help out in any way. The location is far enough away from Pitigliano as to offer relaxation, yet close enough to visit at will. A great vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms spacious, quiet, impeccably clean and comforable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Locanda Pantanello for a week while on a walking trip in the La Maremma region of Tuscany, using it as a base for daily walking trips, some of which began by simply walking down their front drive to the country road on which it is located. All aspects of hospitality are A+++, including food, rooms and lodging, charm, location, and the hosts' sincerity and warmth. This is a most unusual establishment, modestly priced, and with a host of amenities. Looking forward to our eventual return,

Room Tip: No distinction amongst the rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne Falls, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a true find. Beautiful, lovely attention to detail, so friendly and helpful. A perfect place to really relax. Easy to visit remarkable cities/towns of Pitigliano, Sovana, Sorrano. I would go back in a minute. Such nice people.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitigliano
1.6 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
3.7 mi away
Sovana Hotel & Resort
2.1 mi away
Villa Vacasio
Villa Vacasio
#1 of 14 in Pitigliano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Locanda Ilune
Locanda Ilune
#2 of 14 in Pitigliano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Camere Del Ceccottino
Le Camere Del Ceccottino
#6 of 14 in Pitigliano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Casa degli Archi
La Casa degli Archi
#4 of 14 in Pitigliano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Pantanello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Pantanello

Property: Locanda Pantanello
Address: Strada del Pantano Km 6233, 58017 Pitigliano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Pitigliano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pitigliano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Pantanello, a farmhouse dating back to the 19th century, extended over the years and now completely renovated, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The building blends with the environment with absolute harmony, and provides an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding countryside, resplendent in natural beauty. The guest rooms and communal areas are warm and welcoming, all furnished with antique furniture fashioned in the tradition of Tuscan art. Each guest room has a bathroom with shower, hairdryer and mini refrigerator. Hot water for the showers is provided by an array of solar panels.The rooms are cleaned and the bathroom linen is changed daily, while the bed linen is changed twice weekly. Each guest room is named after a flower: primula (primrose), rosa (rose), ciclamino (cyclamen), viola (violet) and orchidea (orchid). Guests awake in the morning to the delicious fragrance of oven-baked cake prepared for breakfast and served with preserves under the spacious portico overlooking the garden from which the morning birdsong provides the perfect background music. The farmhouse is surrounded by a large garden planted with the typical flora of the Mediterranean maquis, a large variety of flowers and beautiful rose bushes.A large swimming pool (with telescopic roof), heated spa pool, gazebo, solarium, table-tennis table and swings for the kids all help to ensure your holiday is enjoyable and thoroughly relaxing. Our traditional homemade meals, honest fare made with genuine ingredients, will introduce you to a new aspect of this corner of the Tuscan Maremma. Our hospitality has a poetic and almost magical quality to it, at the Locanda the only thing you need is the desire to relax and enjoy yourself. A relaxed atmosphere pervades the air, while breathtaking landscapes and the bright constellations of the night sky will leave you with lasting memories of your Maremma holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Locanda Pantanello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing