We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant night in Pitigliano”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Tufo Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Tufo Rosa
Ranked #9 of 14 Pitigliano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A pleasant night in Pitigliano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Il Tufo Rosa was a nice home base to explore Grosetto a bit. We stayed for one night on a short road trip from Rome. The hotel was simple and well priced. It was comfortable- warm, clean, lots of hot water and a nice view out our side of the building. We had to wait briefly for someone to meet us to let us in, but it was smooth sailing from there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anamericaninr0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuforosa, Proprietario at Il Tufo Rosa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie dei complimenti per la nostra struttura. E' sempre un piacere far sentire i nostri ospiti a loro agio, proprio come a casa loro. Grazie e a presto. Annalisa e Roberto. Il Tufo Rosa

Thanks for your congratulations to our guest house. It is always a pleasure to make our guests feel at home, just like at home. Thank you and see you soon. Annalisa and Roberto. Il Tufo Rosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
63
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire , UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Il Tufo Rosa for a week and had a very pleasant stay indeed. The accomodation was spotlessly clean and well appointed and you had everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable,

The accomodation is very close to all the amenties and the beautiful old town of Pitigliano, so many lovely places to eat and such a lovely place to stroll around in the daytime and the evening. Annalisa was very welcoming and friendly and always available if you should need any assistance,

We would definately reccommend Il Tufo Rosa if you are planning a trip to the Maremma region of Tuscany

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottscelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Il Tufo Rosa for 4 days in early May. It's a great location in the heart of Pitigliano. The room was very neat and clean, Roberto was very helpful, and restaurants, coffee shops, etc., were a short walk away.
The only slight problem we had was with wi-fi which does not work well except maybe on the second floor. I could not pick up the signal except in their gift shop on the first floor. I have to thank Roberto for allowing me to sit in the gift shop at his desk each morning so I could write my blog about our trip and post pictures.
As mentioned above, it is near the road and sometimes the scooters and APEs can make a lot of noise, however, it did not really bother us much.
There's good parking a short distance away and it's very easy to get into and out of Pitigliano.
The hotel sits on a nice little piazza that has a good view of Pitigliano. The town is quite dramatic both in the daylight and after dark when the entire side of the town is lit with large spotlights.
The price was really good and should we return to Pitigliano we would stay at Il Tufo Rosa again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuforosa, Direttore at Il Tufo Rosa, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Hello from Pitigliano!
Thank You very much for Your recommendation. It was a pleasure having you as our guests!We hope to meet you soon again on Pitigliano!
Best regards.

Annalisa, Roberto and Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Ptigliano is just magic when it is lit up at night and Il Tufo Rosa is in a perfect location to enjoy it. Our room was spotless, the shower had plenty of hot water, and the owners went out of their way to ensure we had a good visit. We stayed over Easter weekend so there may have been extra traffic on the road that passes close to the hotel. It made it a little noisy in the day but quieted down notably in the evening. That said I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert and Robi... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitigliano hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
1.2 mi away
Villa Vacasio
Villa Vacasio
#1 of 14 in Pitigliano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Camere Del Ceccottino
Le Camere Del Ceccottino
#7 of 14 in Pitigliano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B La Magica Torre
B&B La Magica Torre
#11 of 14 in Pitigliano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
5.2 mi away
B&B Maremma Nel Tufo
B&B Maremma Nel Tufo
#5 of 14 in Pitigliano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Etruria
Villa Etruria
#8 of 14 in Pitigliano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Tufo Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Tufo Rosa

Property: Il Tufo Rosa
Address: Piazza Petruccioli, 97 - 101, 58017 Pitigliano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Pitigliano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pitigliano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Tufo Rosa" offers hospitality in elegant and furnished rooms of a restored house in the old bastion of the Orsini Fortress of Pitigliano in Tuscan Maremma, where the two dominant elements of our past are joined together. "The Tufo" represents the origins, our roots, since the beginning of the world; "the Rose", heraldic symbol of Orsini Counts, Lords of Pitigliano, reminds us tales from the Middle Age and the Renaissance. The characteristic of these rooms is that they are dedicated to some Countess of the past, and every detail inside them contributes to recreate ancient atmospheres. Every room is equipped of independent services, heating, Tv and some also have air conditioning, and mini-bar, for a good stay. The guest - house "Il Tufo Rosa" is opened all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Tufo Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing