We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”
Review of Albergo Guastini

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitigliano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albergo Guastini
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pitigliano
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A visit to Pitigliano is a very worthwhile experience and staying a night or two in the old part of town only makes it so much more worthwhile. To experience this one has to make do with the local accommodation on offer and so our group of four couples chose to stay in the Albergo Guastini hotel right at the entrance to the old part of town.
We had no complaints nor anything to write home about. Good, basic and spotlessly clean rooms were enjoyed by all during our two nights although those on the third floor suffered from poor water pressure when showering. Breakfasts were good and offered a wide range of choices although we were lucky that our group contained previous visitors who were able to explain how best to combine the various choices on offer - for instance the fresh ricotta cheese goes on top of the jam which you first spread generously on the local bread.
In summary an good clean, unpretentious hotel that covers all the basic needs.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be pretty basic. Unfortunately we did not have one of the rooms with a view which was a shame in such a beautiful setting. The breakfast was the bare minimum - some cereal and milk, cakes, bread and spreads. It was a shame to not get any fruit. Staff were reasonably helpful, though we did find the hotel manager smoking in the kitchen and at the hotel desk when we looked for him to pay (surrounded by no smoking signs!). The free wifi is a bonus, though the signal strength was not so strong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Smash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent one night in a superior room. The hotel was clean, well located and good value. It is somewhat basic but has everything you need. Good wifi access. The breakfast is also basic but offers good choices. I would stay again. The only reason I didn't give more stars is that there wasn't any "extras" or special touches that made it stand out for me. There wasn't elevator access to the room I stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMcBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for one night in this charming hotel in mid September. It was much nicer than we expected, with a lovely room overlooking the immense cliff setting of the town. Breakfast was very generous and delicious. Room was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable, bathroom was spacious, clean. The location is ideal for access to and from the hotel. After many years traveling in Italy, we were pleasantly surprised...much nicer than their website shows!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I spent one night at the Hotel Guastini in Pitigliano in mid-May, in a single room with a breathtaking panorama of the skyline of the historic part of Pitigliano. While the room itself was small (suitable for only one adult), it was quite adequate for a short stay, and the views of the Town more than made up for any negligible shortcomings. Overlooking the deep ravine, the room was extremely quiet at night (and is preferable to rooms overlooking the square, which may suffer from some noise during busy weekends of the year). The Hotel has been modernized (new doors, bathroom fixtures, beds), while the large breakfast room preserves the charm of the 1950s, also with breathtaking views of Pitigliano. Breakfast is a simple affair with some very rich selections of homemade ricotta cheese and jams, as well as the customary croissants, bread, cereals and cold cuts. It is the only hotel in Pitigliano proper (there are a couple of small B&Bs), and is very conveniently located about 150 meters from the bus stop (RAMA buses to Albinia, Grosseto (onward connections to Florence) and Valentano (onward connections to Viterbo)). The Hotel also has an excellent restaurant by the same name (and management). Family owned for generations, service is extremely cordial and staff are very helpful. Pitigliano is a gem of a destination, and although quite small and limited in its attractions, nevertheless manages to leave a lasting impression of the visitor. It is most certainly not to be missed, and the Hotel Guastini is an excellent choice for lodging. Allow several hours to visit Pitigliano. Visits to nearby Sorano and Sovana will require a second night (unless the visitor has a car). Visitors intending only to see Pitigliano do not need a car. The RAMA bus service from Florence/Grosseto is quite adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ravine, away from the square/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is in a wonderful position in the absolutely stunning town of Pitigliano. The room was full of character, clean and very comfortable. We had one of the superior rooms with air conditioning, which was a must in one of the hottest Julys in Italy. Thanks to our Italian friends for booking it. Breakfast was very nice and the owners were extremely helpful and friendly. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pettirosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This is a traditional albergo in the old town. Our room had a giant bed, a fantastic view and church bells at 6am. If you want 21st century plumbing and all the mod cons this is not for you. It's convenient for walkers and those who like to use the local bus service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitigliano
2.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
2.1 mi away
Sovana Hotel & Resort
2.0 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#2 of 2 in Sovana
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Etruria
Villa Etruria
#6 of 15 in Pitigliano
45 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel della Fortezza
Hotel della Fortezza
#1 of 6 in Sorano
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B La Magica Torre
B&B La Magica Torre
#11 of 15 in Pitigliano
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Guastini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Guastini

Address: Piazza Petruccioli, Pitigliano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Pitigliano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pitigliano
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing