We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of La Bandita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bandita
Ranked #9 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This place is amazing! The staff is unbelievably helpful and friendly. From the moment you get there, they take care of your every need and the accomodations could not be more comfortable and perfect. The chef is amazing and will make you an incredible dinner anytime you want to eat there, even if its just the two of you! It is truly a special place, and we were so sad to leave it. It should not be missed on any trip to Tuscany, you will not be sorry!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for La Bandita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 172 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2009

La Bandita is truly a place that took our breath away. From the day we have arrived until the day we left, we had nothing but good picturesque memory shots of La Bandita. The property is situated in the middle of the perfect calendar shot. On top of that, the rooms and food were incredible. Last but not least, the La Bandita crew were very helpful and charming in every way. They made us feel more than welcome throughout our 7 days stay. We were treated more as a family member instead of just a regular hotel guests. Definitely made a big mark on our honeymoon trip.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the amazing La Bandita and found it to be the highlight of our 2 week honeymoon. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with the wonderful hospitality of the incredible staff. Franscesca may be the nicest person we have ever met! Paolo, Paula, Simone, David were unforgettable in how they took such good care of us. We loved the family style dinners and enjoyed fabulous meals with new friends-many of them honeymooners like ourselves. The stylish, clean look added to the experience. It's a modern retreat with the backdrop of the beautiful serene Tuscan countryside-it is brilliant. We wish we were there right now.

(We highly recommend a private cooking lesson from David!)

We never did get to meet the seemingly intriguing Sony-music-exec-turned-perfect-getaway-mastermind John Voigtman...perhaps you'll be luckier than us. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lankacaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

If you're looking for a quintessential Tuscan stay...La Bandita is not it. Perched on a hillside near Pienza, surrounded by sheep, this 8 bedroom farmhouse has been renovated with the intent of inviting North American guests. The place has the feel of a farmhouse, but with a modern interior and minimalist feel. We liked this a lot, and it was really a pleasant place to be around.

The service is excellent. From the moment you arrive until you leave, everyone, led by Francesca, are incredibly attentive to your needs to make sure your stay in Tuscany is fruitful, relaxing and enjoyable. Their recommendations for places to see, and restaurants to try (and to avoid) are first-rate. The wine-tasting event we attended was really enjoyable.

Everyone is encouraged to interact as dinner is served at one long dinner table. My wife was unsure of this, and certainly you can envisage being stuck for the evening with bad dinner guests, but in our 5 nights there we met 4 or 5 other couples that we have exchanged details with and would like to stay in touch. This for us is monumental, as we rarely talk to anyone on vacation. Everyone we met at La Bandita from the staff and owners to the other guests were great and made the trip all the more relaxing and fun.

The area itself is beautiful, tranquil and full of small charming hill-side Medieval towns. Siena is well-worth the drive, with it's imposing Campo.

If there was one thing I would say is detrimental at La Bandita, it's that the swimming pool is not heated so it was not used by anyone in the 5 days we were there in late September. If this had been more inviting, we might have wanted to relax at La Bandita a little more (nothing beats a swim and siesta).

That aside, I would whole-heartedly recommend La Bandita.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We've traveled to many places throughout Italy & France and this is truly our favorite!
La Bandita has many things that make it great. The property, staff and the location come together to make it a special place. Plenty has been said about La Bandita but surely not enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtimelarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

La Bandita is the epitome of a true Tuscan getaway. The hotel is perched on a hill in the middle of picturesque countryside surrounded by sheep farms and sunsets. We loved the modern and hip style of La Bandita. One of the highlights was the people that we met that worked there and how special they made our stay. Of all the places we went in Italy, this was our favorite!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I really can't add anything else to the reviews below. This is an amazing place to stay, the location is beautiful, the hotel is flawless and the team are amazing. So many interesting people (staff and fellow guests) to speak to (if you want), but easy to get some quiet time if that's what you'd rather have. Aside from a trip to Florence, I don't think we went more than 10 km away (and we were always hurrying to get back). Food - amazing. We travelled with a small (7 month old) baby - if you are doing the same, take the Pig Sty - it's a perfect set up.

If you're going to Tuscany, go to La Bandita.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBikeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
18.0 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
424 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
665 reviews
20.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#2 of 33 in Pienza
203 reviews
2.7 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita

Address: Localita Podere Lucia 14, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range: $294 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bandita 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 8-room country retreat in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bandita Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing