We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highlight of our honeymoon trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bandita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bandita
Ranked #11 of 32 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indonesia
1 review
“highlight of our honeymoon trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

La Bandita is truly a place that took our breath away. From the day we have arrived until the day we left, we had nothing but good picturesque memory shots of La Bandita. The property is situated in the middle of the perfect calendar shot. On top of that, the rooms and food were incredible. Last but not least, the La Bandita crew were very helpful and charming in every way. They made us feel more than welcome throughout our 7 days stay. We were treated more as a family member instead of just a regular hotel guests. Definitely made a big mark on our honeymoon trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the amazing La Bandita and found it to be the highlight of our 2 week honeymoon. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with the wonderful hospitality of the incredible staff. Franscesca may be the nicest person we have ever met! Paolo, Paula, Simone, David were unforgettable in how they took such good care of us. We loved the family style dinners and enjoyed fabulous meals with new friends-many of them honeymooners like ourselves. The stylish, clean look added to the experience. It's a modern retreat with the backdrop of the beautiful serene Tuscan countryside-it is brilliant. We wish we were there right now.

(We highly recommend a private cooking lesson from David!)

We never did get to meet the seemingly intriguing Sony-music-exec-turned-perfect-getaway-mastermind John Voigtman...perhaps you'll be luckier than us. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lankacaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljph74
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

If you're looking for a quintessential Tuscan stay...La Bandita is not it. Perched on a hillside near Pienza, surrounded by sheep, this 8 bedroom farmhouse has been renovated with the intent of inviting North American guests. The place has the feel of a farmhouse, but with a modern interior and minimalist feel. We liked this a lot, and it was really a pleasant place to be around.

The service is excellent. From the moment you arrive until you leave, everyone, led by Francesca, are incredibly attentive to your needs to make sure your stay in Tuscany is fruitful, relaxing and enjoyable. Their recommendations for places to see, and restaurants to try (and to avoid) are first-rate. The wine-tasting event we attended was really enjoyable.

Everyone is encouraged to interact as dinner is served at one long dinner table. My wife was unsure of this, and certainly you can envisage being stuck for the evening with bad dinner guests, but in our 5 nights there we met 4 or 5 other couples that we have exchanged details with and would like to stay in touch. This for us is monumental, as we rarely talk to anyone on vacation. Everyone we met at La Bandita from the staff and owners to the other guests were great and made the trip all the more relaxing and fun.

The area itself is beautiful, tranquil and full of small charming hill-side Medieval towns. Siena is well-worth the drive, with it's imposing Campo.

If there was one thing I would say is detrimental at La Bandita, it's that the swimming pool is not heated so it was not used by anyone in the 5 days we were there in late September. If this had been more inviting, we might have wanted to relax at La Bandita a little more (nothing beats a swim and siesta).

That aside, I would whole-heartedly recommend La Bandita.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

We've traveled to many places throughout Italy & France and this is truly our favorite!
La Bandita has many things that make it great. The property, staff and the location come together to make it a special place. Plenty has been said about La Bandita but surely not enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtimelarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

La Bandita is the epitome of a true Tuscan getaway. The hotel is perched on a hill in the middle of picturesque countryside surrounded by sheep farms and sunsets. We loved the modern and hip style of La Bandita. One of the highlights was the people that we met that worked there and how special they made our stay. Of all the places we went in Italy, this was our favorite!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

I really can't add anything else to the reviews below. This is an amazing place to stay, the location is beautiful, the hotel is flawless and the team are amazing. So many interesting people (staff and fellow guests) to speak to (if you want), but easy to get some quiet time if that's what you'd rather have. Aside from a trip to Florence, I don't think we went more than 10 km away (and we were always hurrying to get back). Food - amazing. We travelled with a small (7 month old) baby - if you are doing the same, take the Pig Sty - it's a perfect set up.

If you're going to Tuscany, go to La Bandita.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBikeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

I'm not sure what else needs to be said that hasn't been said by others already. And by adding to the praise it deserves I am lessening
my chances of being able to get back in. The staff aced it. The rooms are absurdly nice. And we miss Gatuso terribly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
17.1 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
10.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
3.2 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#1 of 32 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita

Property: La Bandita
Address: Localita Podere Lucia 14, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bandita 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 8-room country retreat in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bandita Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing