We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tuscan retreat!”
Review of La Bandita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bandita
Ranked #10 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2013

La Bandita was the highlight of our Tuscan vacation! Everything was just wonderful! Those words do not quite do it justice, but truly it was perfect! I cannot say enough about the staff.. they are wonderful and really do everything to make you feel at home, rather than a "customer". I was lucky enough to enjoy a day of cooking lessons from Chef Dario and it was an amazing day of cooking, conversation, wine, and learning. His food is wonderful and his passion for his art is inspiring and contagious!
Our room was fabulous! Comfortable, beautiful, and peaceful! We spent a relaxing weekend at La Bandita, and are counting the months before we can return again!
Truly a wonderful place... John is a great host and owner.
We ended up at the town house for dinner on Sunday night, where Dario prepared us our best meal of the entire twelve days in Italy! The staff there was just as personable, warm and helpful as at the Farmhouse.. John runs a great operation with his Hotels and he knows the importance of great staff.. We cannot wait to return.. Well Done La Bandita!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naptimeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 173 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

In the heart of the Hill Cities, lies this wonderful bed and breakfast with an amazing cast of employees in an almost idyllic setting. The rooms are a bit eclectic, but more than comfortable, with a nice outdoor patio, fire pit and more. Pizza night was wonderous, hand made with only the freshest ingredients...the staff is attentive and caring. The area in late September is just incredibly beautiful, too. Driving at night, however, is quite challenging, and the stone road leading up, is perfect for your rental car, but not your Porsche or Ferrari.
Highest recommendation!
(There is a second property available in the town of Pienza, itself, if you want a more city like experience, also incredible!)

Room Tip: Either property will amaze)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixmt4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Bandita Country House and I arrived with very high expectations of its quality after reading many reviews and articles about it. I am delighted to say that my expectations were exceeded by the kind genuine staff, beautiful comfortable guest rooms and common areas, and awesome outdoor spaces and pool overlooking incredible scenery. We stayed in for dinner both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed speaking with the other guests. The food was excellent and the wine tasting with John was very good. I spent a few hours cooking with their Chef and he was very patient and taught me lots of interesting things. I would love to stay again and will recommend it to anyone I know travelling in this beautiful area of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innkeeperford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would say La Bandita was the best part of our trip to Italy. The experience was truly outstanding and unique.... Worth every penny we paid for our stay.... Gorgeous pool, unbelievably warm team who treat you in a very special way... The view was unreal...
No better way to experience Tuscany..... The view from your bed when you look out of the window leaves me with memories which i call 'Blissful' ... The swimming pool is perfectly located... Its outstanding... The breakfast under the Tuscan sun was priceless too.... I had such a peaceful sleep in really comfortable beds...
We were a group of 8 friends. We had the time of our life ! John is an amazingly friendly and accomodating guy.
I would say... It was a home away from home..... Every one must visit this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 5 days in Sept 2013 as part of a driving tour of Italy. For us the pluses at La Bandita considerably outweighed the minuses and we'd recommend it. First the pluses: lovely hilltop setting in the unspoiled Val d'Orcia, excellent local recommendations, thoughtful personal service by a team of locals, sociable 'house party' drinks and dining, good quality 40euro dinners and well-priced choice of wines (extra), nice pool for a hot day, free laundry and soft drinks so nobody feels nickel and dimed. Didn't meet the owner but he clearly knows how to run a tight ship-there's a sister hotel in Pienza we didn't stay in (not sure Pienza would hold my attention for more than a long afternoon). Meals at Rosselino (Pienza), Leccio (nr Montalcino) and Porta (Montechiello) are all the real deal, superb and authentic and a highlight. La Bandita really has great local knowledge, don't underestimate its benefit.
Two downsides, we thought. The road up and down, winding through beautiful scenery is a joke. This hotel (though really a fancy B&B) is clearly doing well - time to invest some proceeds not in other hotel set ups nearby but the driveway. One US couple spent all day waiting for il mechanico to turn up when we were there to sort out some sort of broken axle or blown tyre --really predictable. We felt lucky not to suffer this. This is really 4wd territory or be prepared to damage the tyres on your car or rental.
We booked relatively late and were warned we'd have the last, least fancy room - a double upstairs, number 5. It was 250 euro at the time.Other rooms rise inexorably towards 400euro a night (we didn't view them). Unfortunately we are room people when it comes to hotels and like to be wowed just a little. I read in a coffee table book that thought had gone into creating a design of simplicity etc at Bandita. We rather felt the budget had run out when it came to furnishings, as the room was too spartan (fine for the beach wrong for the hills where a little rusticity would do better, same too downstairs), but no bedside lights(?), no rugs or floor covers, not even an armchair of some sort to drop into, weary from frescos and gelato, no minibar/fridge, no radio/music player or tv (which could all be laudable depending on your view). The look was just too Ikea for us, with a strong hint of youth hostel if not for the wonderful location and not enough to really merit the price tag. The bathroom shower was excellent however, and granted you don't come to Tuscany to sit in the room and the pricier rooms may be better (but they'd need to be). I think the owners should fix the underwhelming room design when they revamp and improve the road then this would be an unhesitating 5 star stay up in the hills, amidst the rolling clouds, long grasses and cypruses, with conviviality and personalised service.

Room Tip: Skip room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dwh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The first stop on our honeymoon, simply fabulous. Service excellent, friendly and very accommodating. Room ideal, massive shower and very comfy bed. Plus air con which was nice to have. Idyllic setting, expansive views. Lovely little pool. Little fridges everywhere, ideal as didn't want to move from the lawn around the pool. They have an on site chef, food is very tasty and of a high standard. Only one negative - it's miles from anywhere, not possible to walk to a local restaurant. Overall a luxurious country retreat, we wish we could have afforded to stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It's been a year since we stayed at La Bandita and not a day has gone by that I have not wished I was back there. Maybe its the photo I blew up to hang on the wall, maybe its the craving for Davids amazing food, or it could be I want the attention and love the staff shared, and of course, it is the view, the comfort, the whole experience. We travel a lot; we own a rental property in the CA wine country, and we pay attention to the visual details of a structure and its property as much as the hospitality it contains.We heard about this place after our Tuscany Tour was planned, but we added a day, changed our flight, just to see this mysterious farmhouse in the middle of nowhere. Thank goodness we did. I have yet to stay anywhere that tops La Bandita. From the drive up the hill to the dreaded goodbyes at check out, we had moment after photo worthy moment of bliss. If you want peace, this is your place. If you want to make or bring friends, this is your place. If its great food or advice on traveling around Tuscany, go here. It truly has it all. I felt cleansed by the air, the food, the incredible shower and soft bed, and the goodness of the people. This is a model all hotels should follow! We just heard about the newest property and will add time to our upcoming trip to Venice just to be able to experience it. We welcome any questions about this property or Tuscany.

Room Tip: A room with a view....which it seems applies to ALL of them! If you want more privacy, there is a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameraOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
18.0 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
436 reviews
20.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
760 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
263 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#2 of 33 in Pienza
205 reviews
2.7 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita

Address: Localita Podere Lucia 14, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range: $160 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bandita 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 8-room country retreat in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bandita Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing