We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino Segreto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giardino Segreto
Ranked #10 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
RHODES
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved it, stayed in a beautiful house with a great kitchen and good coffee available all the time, we loved the lady taking care of us, we were disappointed because the breakfast we were paying for was not breakfast (cookies, coffee and tea) but we would go back with pleasure, knowing all the above!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodesMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

arrived there by mistake and felt like we were the luckiest couple in the whole universe

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shira a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just a lovely little place, tucked away behind an old stone wall. Swing open one of two large green doors and you're in a pretty little garden facing some of the most charming lodging in the area. My husband and I enjoyed a ground-floor camere for one week, which had its own little kitchen. We took advantage of the Friday outdoor market, as well as a nice co-op in the area (co-ops are cheaper than a lot of the speciality shops around the corner and every bit as good). We made some lovely little meals here and there and enjoyed some of the best food ever in Pienza's endearing little restaurants and trattorias. The Latte Di Luna restaurant is not to be missed, by the way!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We spent an autumn week at this self-catering flat in Pienza with another couple and truly enjoyed the stay! In fact, I would say that any of the negative reviews might have arisen from misunderstanding, e.g., self-catering (at least in the many places in which we have stayed) means just that, i.e., you provide your own meals. What was provided as extras on our arrival at The Secret Garden was more than enough for the four of us: honey, milk, yogurt, biscotti, jams, muffins, tea and coffee; this was certainly more than that provided by other places across the world! The hostess went out of her way to be helpful. As to the premises --- very clean; filled with original watercolors and photos; tastefully fitted out; all required to cook our own meals.The garden was a peaceful delight. The location was perfect for getting to know an Italian hill town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drumraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just returned from spending a little over a week at II Giardino Segreto in Pienza which we used as a base for traveling around the area. My wife and I had a room on the second floor which was clean and airy and consisted of a small sitting room, a good sized bedroom and a nice bathroom which included a great shower. When not out exploring we spent a fair amount of time in the garden which feels secluded from the hubub just ouside its' walls - even at the height of the day before the tour buses have left town. II Giardino Segretto is located near the center of Pienza and is a very short walk from anything that you might need - the grocer, pharmacy, green grocer, etc. High speed wireless internet was included and worked well. Parking is not included, but was never a problem to find within a 5 minute walk. In short, a very comfortable and convienant place to stay in a charming town.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I was surprised by how spacious our double room was, with an adjacent breakfast room. We slept well in the comfortable bed and enjoyed the nice hot shower. Pienza is quite small, so our room was a short walk from the bus stop and everything we wanted to see in town. The decor was charming and everything was perfectly clean. Breakfast was two yogurts left in the small room refrigerator and some shrink-wrapped pastries and jelly. There was an espresso machine for our use by the check in area--after some tries I got it to work. The wifi was free. We paid 65 euros for one night through Booking.com. I'd be happy to return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and just stayed four nights at Giardino Segreto based on Tripadvisor reviews and it everything positive that was reviewed. The room was nice, clean, very roomy with a second sitting area and the bathroom was quite large for Europe. The included breakfast was a little skimpy, but a short walk away were several places to get croissants and there is a very nice espresso maker on the first floor. We knew that parking was not included and we found a free lot a short walk down the hill. It was often full, but if we waited a few minutes, someone always was along to leave and give us a spot.

PIenza is a wonderful medieval city which was fun to stay in and to use as a base to visit the surrounding countryside. We visited Sienna, Montepulciano, Montalcino, and St. Antimo.

Based on the reviews I knew Rosella would not speak English and we got along fine. Someone said that she is a prima donna, but we just found her to be Italian.

As the other reviews said, if you are somewhat independent, you will love this place. If you are looking for a concierge and need lots of support and service, you probably want a hotel with English speaking staff. And you will pay lots more.

There are several excellent restaurants close by including the absolute gem La Buca di Enea and also Tratoria la Cucina di Fiorella.

High speed wireless was included and it worked like a champ.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racer042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.0 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#3 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#1 of 33 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Citta Ideale Suites
La Citta Ideale Suites
#9 of 33 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Segreto

Property: Il Giardino Segreto
Address: Via Condotti, 13, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing