We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arca di Pienza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arca di Pienza
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I can't say enough superlatives about the Arca. We stayed for four nights and everything was perfect. The building itself and the furnishings are plain, but it is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It's a 2-3 minute walk from the historic district of Pienza, an ideal location.

The rooms are spacious and at least the ones in the rear have very nice patios. By European standards the breakfast is quite good, with a nice selection of fresh fruits, a rotating daily selection of fresh pastries, plus the usual yogurt and the like.

Parking is close by and while it can be crowded at times, you can almost always find a space. After a few times navigating tight medieval streets and tight European parking, it's nice to have an easy drive in.

But there are two things that take the Arca out of the really, really good category and into the over-the-top outstanding. First, it's one of the most accessible small hotels I've ever stayed in. The took the trouble to add a very comfortable elevator and have several rooms that involve no steps up from street level to the bed.

The other thing is the family that runs the hotel. They are the best. My wife is somewhat disabled and wasn't at her top end when we were here. They were so helpful with her and with everything else. A wonderful family that truly makes you feel like guests. For a night or a fortnight, this is the place to stay in Pienza

Room Tip: We liked 107. I think all the ones on the back side would be the same. Request one with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonsreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    57
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
113
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NewYork, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in May, and it was one of our favorites of the hotels from our 10-day trip to Tuscany. The room was lovely (very clean and comfortable), and even had a small private terrace. We appreciated the free wifi and the fact that there was free parking in the lot across the street. The hotel is just two minutes' walk from the main gate into the historic part of Pienza. Lovely staff, great breakfast -- highly recommend a stay here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel only one night, and chose it thanks to the TripAdvisor recommendations, which were fully justified! Very clean and well-appointed, friendly and courteous staff, great location, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AleOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was a fantastic find in Pienza. We were able to base ourselves here comfortably, explore Pienza and surrounding Tuscan countryside without car parking hassles. The car park is free, large and across the road from the hotel. Easy access in and out. The historic town is 2 min walk. Our room was well furnished and very comfortable with access to a terrace and garden seating area. Breakfast was delicious. Cakes were baked each day. Gloria, Antonio and Elvio were our attentive hosts. We were sick of the crowds,queues and frenetic traffic of Athens and Rome. Pienza and the Tuscan countryside were just what we needed.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is located in Pienza, two minutes walk from the ancient town and major attractions. The rooms are great and very clean. The service attentive and the breakfast is fantastic. The only little negative point would be the parking (we arrived by car); it is advertised as free and it is if you can find a free spot in the public parking with the right color lines (avoid the blue).
Pienza is a great place to get a tour to Montepulciano and visit the Enotecas and wineries. We recommend you take a bus tour as I enjoy wine but obviously a problem when driving a car as we were.
A two night stay, arriving early the firsts day will give you the opportunity to visit Pienza's most important attractions and the tour to Montepulciano. If you want to spend more time on Montepulciano, stay there. If not, spend two nights and then drive on to San Gimignano as we were recommended by our travel agent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
176 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very nice small hotel running by one family, hosts are very friendly and attentive, we felt ourselves like we were family guests not hotel guests. The room was lovely, with beautiful terrace (unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to enjoy it). The old town is in 2 minutes walk distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

While the room itself was small, it had a patio- garden area. Breakfast was a small buffet and owners were friendly. The town is known for its pecorino cheese and the shops featured it. Charming walks in and around the small town, worthy of a short visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teacher017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
0.2 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#6 of 7 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arca di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arca di Pienza

Property: Arca di Pienza
Address: Via San Gregorio 19 A/B/C, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arca di Pienza 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Arca di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arca Di Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing