We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with no view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Room with no view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We staggered into the Piccolo Hotel after the climb (some of the farmtrack was 25%+) up to the very picturesque hilltop town of Pienza from Montepulciano as part of our walking holiday to Siena.
The hotel is situated just outside the town walls along from a grocery store where lunch provisions for the next day can be bought.
We were pleased to find the 'hilltop' is a plateau and there was no more climbing within the town which is very attractive with some good restaurants and lots of shops selling pecorino ,(sheep) cheese, the specialty of the area.
The hotel staff were helpful and friendly.
Our room was comfortable with a view of the balcony of the neighbouring property where a cyclist was drying his washing!
Breakfast is served in a bright area and on the terrace. It was more than adequate with cereals,fruit, flans, fried eggs, fresh tea and coffee.We were set up for another day's walk.
We would stay there again if we're in the area once more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    77
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
139
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just across the street from the walls of the quintessential Renaissance hilltown of Pienza in southern Tuscany, the Piccolo Hotel is a perfect base to explore the dreamy Orcia valley and the famous wine towns of Montepulciano and Montalcino (home of Brunello, one of Italy's most renowned wines). The views from the valley-facing rooms offer the essence of Tuscany and will long linger in your mind after you return to your daily grind.

Room Tip: Grab one of second floor rooms with balcony facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Piccolo is a comfortable friendly hotel just outside the historic centre of Pienza. We stayed one night as part of a walking holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fine, though the beds were a tad small and the breakfast was filling - just what we needed.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildwillie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This small and friendly hotel is well placed for visiting the Valley D'Orcia, and on the doorstep for Pienza which is a beautiful small town. I picked this hotel for the room with a view, so I could take photos from the balcony at sunrise. We spent a week there, and should we ever go back to Pienza I would certainly stay there again. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated, my only whinge was there were no drawers to put anything in, and could have done with a few more coat hangers for a weeks stay, The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. There is an underground car park, which is very useful.

Room Tip: Room 216 has a balcony with a stunning panoramic view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTFNUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 1 night in this very convenient and comfortable town centre family run hotel. This purpose built hotel is within a few minutes walk of the centre of Pienza with onsite car parking. The staff are helpful in providing advice about places to visit and eat. We had a small, comfortable, clean, quiet room with cotton sheets on the bed and a small balcony with lovely views across the Tuscan countryside. The continental self-service breakfast, served on the terrace, was good. We would have no hesitation in booking a future stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest room with balcony is selected (although balcony is small it does have a table and couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here, in mid-May 2012. The place is quiet, relaxing, friendly and peaceful. It's location is superb: great views on the Val d'Orcia, yet at a couple minutes of walking from Pienza downtown. Nice breakfast in a little garden, garage if you come here by car (an uncommon luxury in these places!)... In one word: highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Piccolo Hotel in Pienza after one at a stunning B&B on our way to town for a wedding. I hesitate to only give it a "3" but when looking back on our stay, didn't find it to be exceptional (except for the view!).

There was nothing really "wrong" with our room or our stay... it just didn't really exceed expectations, so I guess that's why I can only give it an "average" review! The room was clean, but lacked a certain comfort; it seemed loud in the mornings and throughout the day with cleaning staff, etc; and aside from the lovely continental breakfast area, there was no real common space for lounging or reading. I suppose one doesn't go to Pienza to hang out in their hotel room, but for me, I enjoy comfortable accomodations with a "welcome home" feeling (especially when I'm so far away from home) and this one didn't quite have it.

The location is fantastic - directly across the street from the town, and was easy to find. It had free parking and wifi which was also great. In all, it was a fine stay, but should I be lucky enough to go back, I might try somewhere else.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the countryside - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation-bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.2 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#3 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
L'angolo di Pienza
#7 of 7 in Pienza
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza

Property: Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
Address: Interno 3 Via di Circonvallazione 7, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing