We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Colombaiolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Colombaiolo
Ranked #39 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just spent a week here mid July. What a wonderful location! The scenery from the house is stunning. Lucia is such a wonderful host, incredibly helpful and really helped make our stay terrific. The room was great and the provided breakfast was pretty good. It's probably a lazy 20min walk to Pienza (as its uphill) and a lovely stroll on the return journey with a full belly. Pienza is such a lovely location compared to a lot of the other hill towns, and the restaurants were great. Terrific Pici (pasta) and Pecorino. I highly recommend this accomodation and can't talk highly enough about Lucia as a hostess.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Our_Thoughts_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We love this place! We have stayed here a few times now and hope to continue to do so. The rules of an Agriturismo are such that standards are kept high, which is most certainly the case with Lucia & Maresco. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very spacious, the bathroom in the ‘Blue Room’ is large and is fitted with a fantastic shower, toilet, bidet and hand basin, a hairdryer and toiletries are provided. In the room there is a huge wardrobe with ample storage, and there are bedside cabinets with drawers for smaller items. There is a small fridge which contains soft drinks, water and wine which you can purchase, if you need to store food and drink which you have bought yourselves there is a large communal fridge in the guest kitchen which is not an issue at all. Each room has its own patio area and these have panoramic views across the stunning Val d’Orcia. Breakfast is served each morning by Lucia and is always something delicious - proscuitto with melon, local cheese, bread and pastries, eggs, fruit, juice etc and fresh coffee. The town of Pienza itself is a delight. The local people are so friendly and the restaurants are good. It is about a 10 minute uphill walk into Pienza so we often left our car at ‘home’ and walked into town for dinner (a torch is provided by Lucia). There is plenty to do in the area and there are many other beautiful hilltop towns and villages to visit including Montalcino, Montepulciano, San Quirico & Siena. It is the most perfect and idyllic place to stay, Lucia & Maresco work very hard to make their guests feel welcome. We shall be back!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pienza

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagittarius09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Twp., Mich. United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My wife is in a wheelchair and this room was very easy to navigate with a totally accessable bathroom, The beds were very compfortable in this very nicely appointed room with a fantastic view of the Tuscan hills. This working farm makes htere own olive oil. Lucia and Maresco were absolutly wonderfull in providing for us. Lucia brought breakfast to the room. There were two of us and enough food for twice that many. The food was fresh and typically Italian, what a treat. Lucia also made reservations for us for two dinners in Pienza, both of which were memorable. Can you imagine the owner and the cook at one restaurant comming our to lift my wife's wheelchair up the two steps into the dining room!! The poeple in this twon were unbelievable in the was they care for tourists. One day at the Colombaiolo, my wife fell as we were getting from the car to th wwheelchair. Maresco can running over and lifted my wife back into the chair! I cannot say enough about this place and the owners Lucia and Maresco. When we departed they gave us a bottle of their own olive oil and also a DVD of pictures they have taken of the area.!! Thank you so much for your great treatment. This has been our favorite place to stay in all of Europe. That says alot!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

This agriturismo was a lovely place! It was a quick walk into the town of Pienza (they even supplied a flashlight for the walk home). The view from the deck in the back was breath taking. The place was immaculate and very spacious. The breakfast was served either in room or on the patio and was very delicious. The husband doesn't speak much English but he was able to check us in just fine. Yes, it comes with a list of rules, but they are very realistic and just trying to keep the place nice.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

The house is on a small working farm with gorgeous views of the countryside and Mount Amiata, just outside of the city walls of Pienza. An easy 10 minute walk gets you in the center of town. Pienza was a great base for us with easy access to all of Tuscany.

Their website says the house is from the 15th century but everything looked new. Our room was clean and spacious with a private entrance and a roomy bathroom with a hair dryer and large tub. There was a TV and an honor bar refrigerator in the room but no phone. They also have a washing machine off the patio that is available for guest use. I’m not sure about a dryer.

Lucia apologizes for her English but she speaks and understands plenty, far better than our Italian. She wasn’t home when we arrived and her husband Maresco doesn’t speak much English but he’s got a nice smile and we got settled in just fine. The list of rules posted in the room sounded harsh so I was a little worried but Lucia was very sweet and dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. She works afternoons/evenings but they have maps, tourist information and excellent restaurant recommendations in the rooms.

One thing we’d never seen before was a charge for gas usage. When we checked in Maresco took us to the meter and wrote down the reading, then we signed the card. We weren’t charged anything because we didn’t turn on the heat so I don’t know how expensive it would be in cold weather.

Lucia served us a delicious breakfast (available between 8:30 and 10:30) with coffee. tea, juice, fresh pastries and breads, cheese or prosciutto, toast and a basket of jellies, honey and nutella. We chose to eat on the patio rather than our room.

We made our reservations through venere.com for 80 EU a night including breakfast. They have rooms and an apartment available. They also have their own website:
[--]

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

A really good self-catering apartment for four just outside the town of Pienza (ten mins walk). Lucia, the owner, speaks English and was a delight to deal with. The property was perfectly situated, close enough we could go to town for a glass or wine or a meal in the evening but in a wonderful rural location on an olive farm. The area has loads to occupy visitors, close to Montalcino, Montepulciano and other pretty hill towns, and just an hour's drive from Siena. Would strongly recommend it.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
2.6 mi away
Azienda Agricola Barbi
Azienda Agricola Barbi
#2 of 11 in Monticchiello
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agriturismo Marinello
Agriturismo Marinello
#21 of 59 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
4.0 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 59 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Podere San Gregorio
Podere San Gregorio
#18 of 59 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 59 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mauro e Chiara
Mauro e Chiara
#23 of 34 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Colombaiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Colombaiolo

Property: Il Colombaiolo
Address: Podere Colombaiolo 12, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Colombaiolo 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Il Colombaiolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing