We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic week in Tuscany!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Ranked #3 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic week in Tuscany!”
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Cretaiole was magical!
Isabella and her family provided us with one delightful day after another. The setting is perfect and a GREAT jumping off point for day trips to anywhere in Tuscany. Pienza is just a couple of miles away and is a delightful little town. We were provided with a large array of possible activities each day (some were included in the price, which was VERY reasonable-and some had an additional fee) but there was not any pressure to participate if you didn't want to. There were three or four other couples/families there the same week, and we all really enjoyed each other.
We also really got a feel for how REAL people live in Tuscany.
We had a little apartment with a kitchen (well equiped). We were able to keep our cost down by eating in for breakfasts and a couple of dinners. We had a delightful time there as couple, but it would also be a perfect location for young families. THere is plenty of space, a playground and six friendly cats.
We were in Northern Italy for over three weeks and Cretaiole was by far our favorite stay.
We give Cretaiole SIX stars and can't say enough great things about it!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chappys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
108
177
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We went to Cretaiole on the recommendation of a friend who had been there. We couldn't have been happier! The place is in a beautiful location, the apartments are authentic old rural Italy, the hostess speaks fluent English and is very knowledgeable about the history and customs of the area. There are numerous choices of things to see and do. This is not a hotel, but it is a clean, comfortable place to go to get the real feel of Tuscany. We have traveled extensively, and to us, this was the vacation of a lifetime. We would highly recommend it!
Dan and Bev Kingery Carlisle, PA

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvkblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

In 2006 we traveled 6 weeks throughout Europe and never were we welcomed half as well as at Agriturismo Cretaiole by the Moricciani family. The ancient farmhouse is on a quiet hill overlooking the Val d'Orcia - you can see for 20+ miles; it's the world's best place to sit and read (and drink the wine Carlo and his father make). And our kids had a blast - it's a safe playspace with a great yard and there are almost always other kids to play with. But there is so much to do nearby that we did not do too much sitting!

Last year we were overwhelmed by a wish to return and in April 2009 we did. This time we had a 2brm apt "La Cacaia" - very serviceable with nice view of the valley. Our daughter was delighted that there were brand-new kittens under a bush in the courtyard. We got to do some favorite activities again - pici-pasta-making, olive-oil-tasting, a hike into town, many drives around the countryside. But Isabella, a human dynamo who never sits still, also organized: an Easter Monday luncheon at an organic farm, a dinner at the former Sant'Anna monastery (ooh that was delicious), a mountain-bike ride for my husband, massages, etc. These are optional and of course therefore there is a cost, but it is always reasonable. You don't have to do any of this - there is never any pressure - but everything was great fun and good company. It isn't hard to find one's way around the country so if going off on your own is your thing, that's fine with everybody too. Next time we will stay long enough so we can trade off lie-around days with run-around days!

The accomodations are tidy and entirely sufficient (although if you crave luxury look elsewhere). A twin-bed room for the kids; a fine double bed (not twins pushed together) for the parents. Living area with fireplace and kitchen equipment (and that 20 mile view). Flowers everywhere!

The mother of the whole operation is Isabella, who is quite possibly the most helpful and naturally friendly person I have ever met. Where might we eat in M....? Isa knows. What times does the train leave? Isa brings you a print-out. What happened to the kittens after we left? Isa sends you an email reassuring you after you return. Are you back for a 2nd (or 10th) time? Big hugs for everyone! Is Isa embarassed by this effusive report? Possibly! Too bad, Isa :-) Another hug for you next time! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christiebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Just returned from Italy and wanted to share our wonderful experience. This is truly a once in a lifetime place to visit. The surroundings are only outdone by the family who owns this home. Luciano and Isabella make you feel right at home. I highly recommend that you take the organic cooking class at the home on Sandra.

My children aged 10,8,and 5 never wanted to leave here. They adopted the cats and guinea pigs as their own. We were all sad to leave! Thank you Isabella and Luciano.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotia, ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

As soon as we arrived, we were smitten by the charm and warmth of the agriturismo. Our hostess, Isabella was so welcoming,enthusiastic and helpful. We picked fresh lettuce from their garden, had fresh eggs from the chickens and cooked them on our little stove in the room. The room was perfect Tuscany with a view of the valley and birds woke us up in the morning. It was very romantic with a fireplace and a big bathroom. We went cycling all around the hill top towns and saw so many hauntingly beautiful sights. She gave us great tips on where to go to eat out in the area and there was a fantastic binder that Isabella put together of what to see and do around Pienza. She taught us how to make pici. Everyone staying there got together and we made fast friends.
We went to soak in the glorious hot springs in the area. We heard monks chant in a golden romanesque monastery at Sant Antimo. We hope to return with family and friends someday.

  • Liked — The room, the location, the people who run it.
  • Disliked — doesn't accept credit cards
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank philoscotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Isabella is a great host....from letting us borrow her personal car to pick up our own rental car to the tailored experiences near her agriturismo, she made our experience at Cretaiole the best of our honeymoon. My wife and I spent 16 days in Italy split between several regions and our experience in the Val D'Orcia via this agriturismo was the best. I plan to go back to Cretaiole.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChacoCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

All I can say is that if you are planning a trip to the Tuscan region, Isabella will allow you to see the Pienza area of Tuscany like no other. My wife and I loved how we felt the entire time, and the dinners, food, scenery, people, the weather, EVERYTHING was unbelievable. We spent the entire month of July in Italy, but Cretaiole was by far the highlight of the trip. There is so much you can do from their place including day trips to Rome, Sienna, and Florence. Everything is close by and the drive to all of the places is spectacular.
If anyone wants more details, please email and ask....I would love to share more!
doitallnow@comcast.net

  • Liked — The way the host family treated us....we felt at home.
  • Disliked — Leaving...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doitallnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
1.5 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 63 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
3.2 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 63 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Macchione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

Property: Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Address: Strada Statale 146, Km 4.5, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Cretaiole, a restored medieval Tuscan farmhouse, with panoramic vistas, has apartments to accommodate groups from 2-7 people. Come and embrace the enduring spirit of Tuscany! Weekly rates include authentic Italian experiences, such as a pasta-making class and Tuscan dinner. Located between Pienza and Montalcino, in the heart of the Val d'Orcia UNESCO World Heritage Site. Cretaiole is as delightful for adult travelers as it is for families. Assistance available in English, French, German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing