We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cretaiole - Perfect Vacation Spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I picked Cretaiole after reading many reviews on
the tripadvisor website and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to find fresh flowers, a bottle of wine and olive oil on the table, until the last morning, we were well cared for by a committed and charming family. Isabella, is a treasure, she has an energy, passion, and commitment to her guests at Cretaiole that makes a stay at the farm more than just a place to rest your head.
She makes a weekly schedule that you are free to partake of, but
there is no pressure to join in, and her suggestions about the
neighboring countryside are thoughtful and worthwhile.
We had a lovely stay in a beautiful part of Italy and I thank
Isabella, Carlo and Lucianno for making the vacation a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2nowvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 398 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2008

Our group of women five all total stayed at Cretaiole in a three bedroom upstairs apartment. When we arrived we were greeted by Isabella who is absolutely precious and she instructed us about the surrounding area . Where to grocery shop, great places to eat , things to see etc. We didn't have to research a thing because it is all done for you by Isabella and her family. Luciano came later with a bottle of wine and grappa to introduce himself and visit with us. He speaks mostly italian, lucky for us the youngest , my niece speaks italian so she translated for us. He was interested in what we came to see and do and wanted to know about our families and what kind of careers we all had. He took us under his wing and was concerned about five women traveling without men in Italy. He checked on us daily to make sure we were safe and having a great time. The family is fantastic and very close to each other and they take you in and treat you like a very special part of it. Staying there is an experience we will never forget and someday I hope to return again to enjoy the countryside and their hospitality. They are very passionate about their country and their history and family life. It is the best place in Italy to stay and they truly make you feel like you are at home. We met the others staying at Cretaiole and very much enjoyed getting to know them and we all felt like a big happy family. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest staying there to anyone who enjoys the company of such fantastic people. Once you stay you will want to return again and again. If we all treated each other as well as they do all of their guests this world would truly be a wonderful place to live in. Very satisfied guest. The Red Head

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank enlightenedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

My wife and I just returned from two weeks at Agriturismo Cretaiole. It was not enough. Picking Cretaiole as our home in Italy for the short time we were there was the absolute right decision for us. All the rave reviews you read here are only a glimmer of what Cretaiole is about and what it means to be there, making friends and sharing experiences with the other guests, all under the attentive care of the Moricciani family.

The Val D'Orcia is one of the most beautiful, most photographed areas in all of Italy. The landscapes are fantastic, the towns and villages are enchanting, and the people are warm and open with their hospitality. Cretaiole is all of that, perched on a hill between Pienza and San Quirico D'Orcia with fantastic views in practically every direction. The house is lovely, with its apartments well appointed and maintained. The grounds are immaculate, surrounded by olive groves, woods and fields below.

The activities available, planned and arranged on a weekly basis by Isabella, some at no additional cost, some at a very (very) reasonable cost, were perfect for us - whether it was touring a working farm and eating a Tuscan lunch with the workers there, visiting a small winery near Montalcino and eating a Tuscan lunch with the family there, or learning to make pici (I love to cook) and sharing a meal with all the guests of Cretaiole and all (almost) of the Moriccianis - Carlo, Isabella, Nico, and Lucciano. Lots of warm memories (along with all the great food and wine).

Cretaiole is a tranquil, real place. The Moriccianis are passionate, real people. If you want to know Toscana, meet her people, and see what makes this such a beautiful place, Cretaiole is the place to come and immerse yourself. We can't say enough good things about it. We will be back! And soon!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littletinperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Cretaiole with dear friends. The apartment we shared was perfect - comfortable, cozy, working kitchen where we cooked some meals. Spring in Tuscany is spectacular - cool evenings, warm days. We spent our days in the surrounding areas, exploring small walled cities, tasting local culinary treats, and hiking. Isabella was a wonderful hostess - helping to arrange interesting outings (including a tour and spectacular meal at a near-by organic farm) and even teaching us one evening how to make pici pasta. Our entire stay was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank USADeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This agriturismo is a cut above the rest and seems more sincere than others we got a look at. First, it is perched on a hill overlooking low valleys in three directions. In the valleys are the fields owned or farmed by the family. Pheasants crow, deer dart about, birds are everywhere and the sunrises and sunsets are absolutely picturesque. There is expansive lawn and the accommodation is a couple of hundred metres from the road so there is no traffic disturbance at all. Up the rise of the hill from the valley is Pienza (about 4 kms away) and the surrounding towns and fields.

There is an extensive vegetable garden which, when we were there, was full of ripe tomatoes, eggplants, melons, zuccini, carrots, lettuce and tons of herbs. All were available at no cost, simply for the picking.

There is no pool (the family believes deeply in this). There isn't an on site manager or maid but family members visit frequently. There is plenty of parking at a good distance from the building and room for bikes.

The family is pivotal to the success of Cretaiole. They have a solid week of activities available, many without additional cost, which you can engage in or not. These include pasta making, sampling of their fine oil and wines, visits to some Etruscan ruins, a Monastery and so on. There is plenty of advice about the area's cheese and all its other treasures including several stunning hotsprings. The family knows that you may want a lot or a little of them and they are sensitive to that!

The accommodation is very good. The rooms are spacious but not particularly bright. The main building, which is hundreds of years old, was completely rebuilt and beautifully so. It is very solid as is the furniture. The bathrooms are nicely done. The kitchens are very completely outfitted. You may feel that the weekly maid service could be slightly more frequent, if only to assure that the great accommodations remain in good shape.

Cretaiole is not for everyone. It is the perfect comfortable farm base-camp. It is ideal as an entry into a real Italian family's working farm life at the high end. It would not be for those looking for finer creature comforts at every turn. But it can't be beat for hospitality and genuine care in at least four languages. We're very glad it formed a week of our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We traveled many places in Italy on our 16 day adventure and this was by far our favorite.
This wonderful family farmhouse was relaxing, friendly and offered many activities for the whole family. Our accommodations were very comfortable and we made friends with the other guest who were staying there at that time.
The Maricciani Family opened their home and traditions to us and made us feel like part of the family. We were lucky enough to be there during their olive pressing and got to sample the absolute freshest olive oil you will ever taste. We were not there for the pasta making night, when all the guest cook something and bring it to a community table but I heard it was fun. Oh, they also have a garden from which you can pick vegetables while visiting.
The small town of Pienza also has the best picorino cheese that you can smell from outside as you walk by the local markets.
We will definately spend more time at Cretaiole the next time we visit, 3 days just wasn't enough time to absorb all the local beauty.

1  Thank firecrkr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip. Cretaiole is spectacular.
My husband and I forever will feel like a part of the family. The Agriturismo is located just outside of Pienza. Easy to locate. The arrangements for our stay were made with Isabella who speaks and writes wonderful English. At the time of our trip Isabella was days away from the birth of her new son and so we were met by Luciano who spoke little English and we spoke little Italian but things went great. We were showed to our apartment and all matters were discussed, how to turn on the heat, the stove etc... Luciano left us for the night with a bottle of wine and it was great. The apartment was clean and beautiful, fully functional with everything needed.
One of the best things was finding the leather binders on the chest of drawers with complete listings and itineraries of outings in the area. The family shop is full of awesome treats such as home made sausage, cheese, wine and grappa Oh yeah olive oil too. There is also a hermitage that is for the guests of the house. If you get a chance to tour it please do you won't be disappointed.
The best way to say this simply is, if you can stay here you should it is a little bit of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
457 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
608 reviews
4.0 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
3.0 mi away
Agriturismo Palazzo Massaini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

Address: Strada Statale 146, Km 4.5, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Cretaiole, a restored medieval Tuscan farmhouse, with panoramic vistas, has apartments to accommodate groups from 2-7 people. Come and embrace the enduring spirit of Tuscany! Weekly rates include authentic Italian experiences, such as a pasta-making class and Tuscan dinner. Located between Pienza and Montalcino, in the heart of the Val d'Orcia UNESCO World Heritage Site. Cretaiole is as delightful for adult travelers as it is for families. Assistance available in English, French, German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing