We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cretaiole!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Save
You added Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cretaiole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed Cretaiole so much! This lovely villa sits in the most spectacular and peaceful setting. We were able to experience the italian culture in such a unique way in the hands of Isabella, Carlos, Luciano & Carlotta. These warm and wonderful people made us feel as though we were a part of their family. They offer excellent advice with regard to tourist spots, shopping, excursions and of course restaurants!! There are endless opportunities for activities and adventure. It is a piece of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigadventureToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
168
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My daughter (age 11) and I spent nearly a week at Cretaiole in end March 2013. It was one of the best experiences of our lives (and I have travelled a ton). The place is special: charming, stunning, cozy, welcoming, and beautiful. The views are amazing, and taking walks in the surrounding area was exhilirating. Isabella, Carlo, Luciano, Carlotta and the whole family were so welcoming and kind, they made us feel right at home. Their advice on local outings was invaluable (as was Isabella's masterpiece binder) - We discovered many amazing places we would never have found on our own or even with a good guidebook (many were off the map!). We also loved visiting their working farm, (san gregorio) and Sandra's organic sheep farm. From the 11-year-old perspective, you cant beat a farm vacation with baby bunnies, baby kitties, easter with wonderful Luciano (her nonno tuscano), a chance to make pici pasta, playing soccer on the lawn with other visiting kids, and such nice people in such a wonderful place. What more could we ask for? Wish we had stayed longer! We *definitely* plan to return, hopefully many times! One logistical tip: we took train from Rome to Chiusi, then rented car (from Eurocar) for the Cretaiole week, them returned car to Chiusi for train to Florence. This worked very well and we avoided driving in Rome or Florence ... Just check to make sure that the rental car place is open (watch holidays and hours) when you need it... Will do it again, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Isabella did a great job matching us with a room... We stayed in La Cantina...perfect for two peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ketchie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 children, ages 10 and 7. We travel throughout Europe frequently and I often feel that I am a stay-at-home-mom turned travel agent. Most of my planning revolves around finding the perfect, family friendly place to stay. Too often, we have been disappointed either about the dwelling or the service. With Cretaiole, we hit the jackpot! We do not have a single complaint about the apartment or the service. On the other hand, our praises seem limitless.

From the start, Isabella, was the most amazing virtual host. She is organized, quick to respond and is acutely aware of the needs of her guests. Upon confirming our reservation, she emailed a plethora of information. After reading the information, all my questions had been answered and so much of my vacanza Toscana planning seemed less daunting. Honestly, Isabella had me at hello. After my first interaction with Isabella, I was certain that Cretaiole was going to be a memorable experience.

Cretaiole truly felt like a home-away-from-home! It is expertly decorated and not a single comfort has been forgotten. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by warmth, flowers and wine. There was more than enough room for a family of four. And, very important for us, the children were able to have a separate space. The apartment is outfitted with a full kitchen, stone fireplace, luxurious towels and linens, the family's wine and olive oil, a cell phone if you wish, and necessities stocked in the refrigerator and pantry. There is also a washing machine just outside of the apartments. Isabella has also prepared a travel binder that proved indispensable when traveling throughout the Val d'Orcia, finding restaurants and local actvities.

Additionally, the veranda is a beautiful communal space with a lending library, CDs, a guitar, seating for chatting or internet use and holds the activities hosted buy the Moricciani family.

One is able to make daytrips to Pisa, Siena, Florence and the like, but we chose to stay in and enjoy the charming hill-towns of the Val d'Orcia. Creatoile was the perfect base from which to make our short trips. We also enjoyed the activties offered by the family, such as the olive oil tasting, pici making, a tour of the family farm, etc... My sons, 10 and 7, will forever remember making and eating their own pici, running after the family''s dog, Luna, cuddling the kittens at the farm, bathing in the natural hot springs surrounded by stunning calcium deposits, and biking through the countryside.

I am not sure that the delicious food, or the breathtaking vistas, or quaint, old towns, can compare to the people we met during this trip. We fell in love with Isabella, Carlos, Carlotta, and of course, signore Luciano! We drove way feeling that we had left family behind that we just knew we'd have to visit again. We are sure to remember the beauty of the rollling hills, stone farmhouses and many peaceful walks, but our most treasured memories are of Carlotta's laugh, Isabella's sense of humor, conversations with Carlo in a unique mixture of Italian, Spanish and English (whatever we could cobble together!) and Luciano's late night knock for chatting over grappa and hen's eggs delivery.

We did not tour La Toscana, we experienced it! Mille Grazie familia Moricciani!
For anyone considering Pienza, try Cretaiole and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seba02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having read glowing reports about Cretaiole, we chose to book their biggest apartment for a special holiday, getting 8 members of our family together - aged from 2 to 67. Cretaiole is in a stunning situation in the idyllic Val d'Orcia. The apartment was beautiful, equipped with everything, full of fascinating faming antiques, and best of all, a big, open fire with an endless supply of wood.
But above all, what made our special holiday extra special was the personal input of our hosts. We had expected great things, but we were overwhelmed by the wonderful experience Isabella, Carlotta, Luciano and Carlo gave us. Their generosity was immense, with food, wine, eggs and cheese left for us, never mind Luciano's evening visits with bottles of grappa and delicious Vino Santo. The desire that Isabella and Carlotta had to share their knowledge and passion for all things Tuscan with their guests was inspiring. We loved their enlightening conversations about village politics and culture, history and family stories, food and recipes, and Italian sign language! Carlo gave us a fascinating insight into olive-oil tasting, and let our son-in-law drive his tractor-the biggest treat for him! The highlight for us all was the pici making night which coincided with our grandson Toby's second birthday. It was the fun of learning how to make pici under the watchful eyes of Isabella and Carlotta, of sitting with other guests and enjoying a wonderful feast provided by Carlo and his bbq and the other guests' contributions, and then the arrival of a beautiful birthday cake for Toby made by Carlotta's husband. We became one very big, very happy extended family that night.
We loved every minute of our holiday, and more than that, we felt privileged to discover what Cretaiole is all about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank way2go07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at Cretaiole for just over a week this March. We found it through a general Google search about traveling in Italy with children (we have a 7-year-old). We had considered arranging a family-friendly group tour of Italy, but are so happy we opted for Cretaiole instead. It was a perfect place from which to explore Tuscany (Florence, Siena, Montepulciano, Pienza, etc.) and to relax in the beautiful countryside. The accommodations were beautiful and the Moricciani family -- Isabella, Carlo, and Luciano -- made our visit easy and comfortable. They helped us plan our day trips, provided fun (and free!) activities at the farmhouse, and fed us an amazing dinner after teaching us how to make pici. Carlotta, a new member of the staff, was especially helpful and welcoming. And our son loved it -- he could play outside with the cats or other children staying at Cretaiole. It was a perfect solution for us!

Room Tip: We stayed in Il Granaio, which had a bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen/living area with a fireplace. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187KimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Everybody is friendly and more than willing to offer assistance with any planning. The views from the property are fantastic. Definitely a country setting, it offers quick drives to many beautiful towns. The property is well maintained, and the prices are very reasonable. They even went out of their way to help me with an ATM issue I had in nearby Pienza. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricW611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked Cretaiole to enjoy the tranquility and peacefulness of Tuscany on our trip between Rome and Venice. We discovered so much more here. First the Morriciani family; Isabella was wonderful and being able to speak English made sure we had everything to start our week long holiday. Her itineraries for day trips are magnificent, right down to pictures of where to turn. We enjoyed a scenic drive and saw many beautiful churches thanks to her work. Carlo brought us wine and his English is pretty good - he gave us a full tour of their working farm and I really enjoyed his humor. Papa Luciano brought us fresh eggs and grappa on our second night and though we couldn't really understand each other we somehow communicated quite well. Mama Morriciani gave us fresh eggs from under the chicken and they were delicious. I wanted to stay on and become a part of their family. They are warm, generous and very genuine. They are Cretaiole. Second the scenery; It's a picture postcard of just what we thought Tuscany would look like and we spent time just sitting in the swing looking out over the valley. We received a bonus as we awoke to a fresh snowfall on our first day - beautiful. Finally, the accommodations; apartments were clean, spacious, and well equipped if you want to go to the coop and pick up food to cook. Plenty of firewood available for the winter fire and big fluffy towels. One note: we stayed in a bottom floor and it can be quite noisy on the stone floors from the apartment above. If you are noise sensitive choose a top apartment. It is rustic but charming and we would definitively return. Ciao Tuscany, Cretaiole and Morriciani's.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.2 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 58 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
3.7 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 58 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

Property: Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Address: via S. Gregorio 14, 53026 , Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Cretaiole, a restored medieval Tuscan farmhouse, with panoramic vistas, has apartments to accommodate groups from 2-7 people. Come and embrace the enduring spirit of Tuscany! Weekly rates include authentic Italian experiences, such as a pasta-making class and Tuscan dinner. Located between Pienza and Montalcino, in the heart of the Val d'Orcia UNESCO World Heritage Site. Cretaiole is as delightful for adult travelers as it is for families. Assistance available in English, French, German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing