We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, nice host”
Review of Le Traverse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Traverse
Ranked #9 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We've just returned from 7 nights at Le Traverse. Pinuccia is a really great lady who checked if we needed anything each morning as we ate our breakfast - we got advice on where to park in Florence, what local towns to visit, and she booked a couple of restaurants and a wine trip for us. She's very kind and does a good job in balancing not being too intrusive but making sure you've got everything you need.

Our room was nicely decorated, if a little dark (you need to have the lights on in there during the day). The bright well-cleaned ensuite was good too. We could hear the people in the adjoining room but then that was mainly because they came in in the early hours each morning, cackling and yelling a bit. We had everything we needed in the room, although the satellite tv only has one english channel so don't expect to use it too much. The surrounding countryside is peaceful although you may here dogs on the neighbouring farms barking throughout the night. Everything was comfortable and breakfast very enjoyable (cake, jam and bread, yoghurt and fruit), and served by Alessa who was delightful and also did our laundry for us (ten euros a load).

Swimming pool is nice - not heated so you need to be brave to get in it but you soon get used to it. You have to wear a swimming cap in it which Pinuccia provides you with.

The nearby town of Pienza is walkable if you're up for it, it's 30 minutes uphill. I didn't see any taxis parked up in the town so not sure if there are any. Take the torch in the room with you if you're walking and plan on coming back late as it's dark out there! Pienza is lovely - I recommend Del Falco and Latte di Luna restaurants, and Le Creten Enoteca wine bar. There is a small book/news store at one end of the town which recieves that days english newspapers, around 4:30pm each day.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, and we really liked Le Traverse. Having said that, it is expensive (we paid 1017 euros for 7 nights, and that was after the discount of one free night being knocked off) for what is in effect a high-end bed and breakfast. If I were to go to the area again, I would book a hotel or auberge in Pienza itself, or maybe in the town of Montelcchino which was close by too and had a lot more to choose from in the way of evening entertainments.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandyflyme2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2008

we had a wonderful honeymoon at Le Traverse and were welcomed with the most warmth here. Highly recommended for anyone who is looking for some quiet peaceful but beautiful stay in tuscany... PLUS.. the breakfast especially the homemade pies are awesome! thanks for the great memories:)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wah_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This place is really wonderful. The location is great just outside of Pienza but the grounds and rooms are breath taking. Pinuccia is the owner and such a wonderful woman. Really made us feel at home and welcome. We spent great afternoon drinking the wine from our room out by the pool. Pinuccia also made all our dinner reservations and sent us for the best food. The best part was all the resturants knew she sent us and treated us like VIPs. Pinuccia also helped us plan our days and which sites to make sure we saw. The breakfast provided is so yummy. It's served right outside your room and the perfect way to start the day. The housekeeper will also do laundry which I would recomend, our socks never smelled so good!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

My husband & I have just got back from Italy, where for 4 nights we had the pleasure of staying with Pinuccia at Le Traverse. It really is a special place and Pinuccia is such a gem! The rooms are authentic, clean and beautifully furnished with crisp white linen; fruit basket and wine from their farm. Every morning a private breakfast arranged outside your room with fruit, yogurt, eggs, bread, homemade jams and cake of the day- YUM! Pinuccia comes to chat to you and give you advise about where to go. She is so helpful so take the time to chat to her if you can.
We loved the two new kittens that she was given from her gardener-they just fit into the ambience, twirling at your feet.
We did have some noise the first night as our neighbours got in late and the building is an old barn but it's not something to be concerned about.
We loved Pienza (the closest town) and driving to Montepulcciano and Cortona, etc etc - it is a beautiful location as not far to drive to Firenze. Definitely worth a visit -a treat!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boogaloo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Le Traverse is truly a special place. The setting, just outside the perfectly sized town of Pienza, is picture perfect. There is a pool with very nice lounges, chairs, umbrellas so you can sit and enjoy looking out over the countryside. It is also makes for a good base to explore the many other towns (Montalcino, Montepuliciano, etc.) in this part of Tuscany.

Our rooms were great (we had 2 of the 3 available at that time). VERY comfortable bed with high quality sheets, welcome basket with fruit and wine, and best of all - extremely cool at night even with daytime temps in the 90's. I loved being able to have the windows open and still have it be so quiet as to give us a great night's sleep.

Breakfast was quite large - we never finished it all. A selection of breads, homemade jam, yogurt, juice, coffee, freshly made cake and boiled eggs. There is a refrigerator in the room so you can also pick up goodies from town to have your own lunch/snack in the lovely private garden setting.

But what really makes this place special is Pinuccia - she is a most gracious and welcoming hostess. Her suggestions for dinner (especially La Porta in one of the other small towns nearby) were perfect. She gave us lots of ideas of places to visit and also helped us greatly with our Italian! She is a very hands on owner and really wants to be sure that everyone is satisfied. We are hoping to return next spring for a much longer stay

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKCunli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

From arrival to departure, my husband and I adored Le Traverse and its host, Pinucchia Barbier Meroni. I felt welcomed like a niece from the warm interactions we had with her. In addition to the host's warm welcome and hospitality, my very favorite aspects of Le Traverse include: pitch dark and silent sleeping quarters (not a sound, I promise! I haven't slept that well in years.); charming accomodations with just the right amount of space in the bedroom and bathroom; exquisite bed linens (seriously, Martha Stewart would approve); lots of thoughtful extras to make us comfortable (wine, snacks, in-room coffee, extra comforters, etc); beautiful land to wander and admire (we literally hiked up through her hills and crops!) and a fully delicious and decadent breakfast (more than we could eat but simply tasty!). It was so idyllic, dreamy and relaxing that I felt like I was actually living in a film about Tuscany.

Le Traverse is approximately 1.5 miles from Pienza which is a darling, right-sized hilltop walled city. After traveling about for over a week, we were ready for a smaller city that was easy to navigate and negotiate. Pienza is clean and charming with wonderful restaurants. I cannot recommend Le Traverse and Pienza highly enough if you're looking for a simple, slower but elegant and warm stay. If I can, I'll return!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuayDuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

This lovely B&B is set in the rolling hills of the Val D'orcia in Tuscany. The charming hill town of Pienza provides a picturesque backdrop for this 3-room inn run by Pinucchia Barbier Meroni. She is gracious, chatty, and helpful, and she makes her B&B feel like home for all her guests. The rooms are very comfortable and have high-quality sheets, comforters, towels, and bathrobes. We were served a delicious breakfast on the patio each morning, complete with homemade treats. There are olive groves and vineyards for strolling and a pool for lounging (alas, it was too cold to swim while we were there).

If you have dreamed of a quiet, homey retreat in the Tuscan countryside, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docproc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.7 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
1.2 mi away
A440 in Tuscany
A440 in Tuscany
#23 of 33 in Pienza
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bellavita B&B
La Bellavita B&B
#11 of 33 in Pienza
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Traverse

Address: Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range: $200 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing