We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$114
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$139
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Chiostro di Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Poggio Tobruk(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$113
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence San Gregorio(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$116
$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Olmo(Monticchiello)
$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
292
26
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
26
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding cakebella vistacooking classwedding plannerthe main housebeautiful placefood and wineragucypress treesdelicious mealrolling tuscan hillsstunning viewsliving roomperfect tuscantuscan dreamsmall balconythree nights
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 322 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed at Terre di Nano for 7 days (we extended our stay there) at the end of October and it was like a dream. We actually wound up getting engaged during our stay, and became the 9th couple to do so... it's THAT gorgeous.

Here are some specifics to add to the earlier reviews:

LOCATION: TdN is in what most people call the most beautiful part of Tuscany, minutes by car from Montechiello and Montepulciano, and a short drive to Pienza and other hill towns. See my photos for proof - this location is the definition of idyllic.

PROPERTY: On the property is a gorgeous pool (open year round), a lovely fountain in the woods, a great area for reading and eating outside (open for breakfast in the summer), vineyards, olive orchards and plenty of parking. In the winter, breakfast is served in the living room of the main house (as is dinner if you decide to take it). The house is unbelievably beautiful, and the stay comes complete with a cat and now TWO dogs... Waltzer and Peepee (sp?), two ancient-breed Italian hunting dogs. Peepee in particular seems to like anyone with food and anyone who will play with him.

ROOMS: We stayed in Querciasale, but the property was empty during the week, so we peeked in the other bedrooms and apartments. Every single one is unique and better than pictured on the website. I've attached the view from Querciasale, which also features two twin beds that can be zipped together for a comfortable king, an incredible bathtub/shower that looks like a mosaic fountain, and high beamed ceilings.

BREAKFAST: As mentioned before, the breakfast was the best we had in Italy. The property's lovely Romanian cooks make you a cappucino, and fill the table with breads, cakes, cut fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses, cereals and juices. It's the only Europe trip I actually gained weight on.

SERVICE: As mentioned, Giorgio and Christina are very hands off in their management of TdN. We actually appreciated this, but if you're looking for someone to enthusiastically drag you into a cooking class or plan a bunch of activities, this might not be the place for you. That said, Christina was very helpful in picking out hill towns to visit, giving us maps and even giving us some ice and access to a laptop when my fiance bashed his head against a low doorway that leads to the roof of the main building. Giorgio was an equally excellent host at the one dinner we ate on the property, and was happy to chat about the property's wine and even filter a bottle for us when we broke the top while opening it. (Yes, we're totally accident prone)

DINNER: Dinner at TdN was wonderful... they're careful to ensure that each group will have someone who speaks their language, and the dinner itself was about 4 or 5 courses of local specialties (crostini di Toscana, riboletto soup, fantastic stewed meats, bread and a dessert). Each course is paired with wines and spirits from the vineyard, which are quite good. Terre di Nano and their Vin Santo were our favorites.

What else can I say, but it's paradise? I don't even want to call TdN a "value for the money"... it's SO far beyond that, we're worried they're going to wise up and raise the prices. We're definitely going back and thought for a bit about actually holding the wedding there. We'll see. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slangevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Terre di Nano for 8days/7 nights, We had booked through the site and upon arrival found out that there was a miscommunication with regards to our reservation. However, this was immediately solved by Giorgio to great satisfaction. We stayed 3 night in the Trezza room, a room which connects to an appartment. It was large, nicely decorated and had a good size bathroom. Minor drawback was the absence of a comfortable chair, which is no issue in the appartments where comfortable couches and chairs are available.After 3 nights we moved to the Casetta, a small bungalow positioned between the main house and the pool with an unbelievable 270 degree view over the vineyards, olive groves, fields and Monteciello and Pienza on the nearby hill tops. It has 2 bedrooms, a  living room and seperate kitchen with all you need to cook your own meals. You can enjoy the view from your bedroom (open the shutters in the morning and it is beyond picture perfect), a covered patio, or from easy chairs on the lawn.  At night there is total silence at Terre di Nano; where do you find that these days.Breakfast is in the breakfast/dining/sitting room in the main house. It is plentiful and does not disappoint anyone. In the same room you can reserve a dinner, cooked and served by Giorgio (!), a great Italian 4 course meal, accompanied by wines produced at Terre di Nano.Giorgio is a good source of information with regards to excursions and always willing to help. We took morning walks to Monteciello and Montepulciano, the former, 2,5, the latter 4.5km  (1.5  and 3 miles) walking over mostly unpaved, quiet  roads (hiking shoes strongly recommended). The views are breath taking. Mountain bikes are available, but the climb is quit steep.  We stayed in October and had great weather , but I can imagine that in the summer months, when breakfast and dinner is served outside, the total experience at Terre di Nano even surpasses ours, which was fantastic. 

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank doublebooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Of all the locations and B&B’s we stayed in on our trip, this was definitely our favorite. The views of the surrounding Tuscan hills cannot be beaten. The grounds are immaculate and set up very nicely. The rooms are fantastic…we stayed in the Barlettaia room on the third floor. The room had a four poster bed and breathtaking views. It also has a fireplace and a large tub in the bathroom. We go to see a couple of the other rooms, since we became acquainted with some people staying there, and they were all amazing. All of the rooms also have screens in the windows, so it was great to leave the windows open and let in the cool air.
We didn’t deal too much with Cristina, but she seemed nice enough. But we thought Giorgio was fantastic! We did the wine tour with him, which we definitely recommend, and he can provide great suggestions in the area. We wanted to go to a thermal spa, so he sent us to a nearby town Chianciano Terme and the Parco Acqua Santa where the spa was located. The spa name was Terme Sensoriali and we definitely recommend it. It was like nothing we’ve ever done!
The dinners at Terre were the BEST we had on our trip. The food was incredible. Fresh pastas, vegetables from the garden, suckling pig from the hunter next store, and the list goes on. Simple dishes, but some of the best we’ve ever had.
The towns we explored were Montepulciano, Montichello and Pienza. Montepulciano was our favorite. It’s a very cool town high on a hill, protected with a wall all around, and with great views and architecture. The wall definitely works though, because we had a bit of a hard time trying to figure out how to get in! Make sure to visit the large store just outside of the town walls. They have amazing cheeses, wines, oils, etc. Monticchiello, which is the residential area that our B&B is in, is very small. There’s not much to see there, but it also has great views. Pienza seemed nice enough, but it was pouring by the time we got there, so we didn’t get to see much.
Leaving there was so hard. It was like heaven on earth. We were bummed to only have booked three nights, and we’re already discussing how we can go back next year during the wine harvest.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jzo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Based on extensive experiences made over the years in sometimes really charming hotels in Italy, we feel very comfortable to say that Terre di Nano is getting close to the paradise on the top of the hill.

The booking over the net was easy and hassle-free. Giorgio and Christina speak excellent English and French; right upon arrival we started to enjoy our stay. They understand very well what holidays are about and how to look after guests in a discrete and professional way.

The location of Terre di Nano is just breathtaking !! The landscape of the Val d'Orcia has been protected by UNESCO. We started and ended our day by looking at this postcard landscape, just fuel for human batteries.

All interesting cities and locations are in driving distance, easy to do with young kids, too. We enjoyed most Pienza, Bagno Vignoni and the Abbey of Monte Oliveto Maggiore (superb).

However, sitting with a glass of wine under an olive tree, enjoying no modern life base noise level, watching the lovely dogs (two Italian braqué) playing - Terre di Nano is a wellness experience.

The appartment (Bellavista) we stayed in was nicely decorated, spacious and very convenient for a family with two kids. Air conditioning wasn't necessary due to the construction of this old farm house.

We enjoyed many delicious diners during our two week stay. A selection of food and ingredients that perfectly matched the environment and the country life in Tuscany. Christina and Giorgio will soon earn their first culinary stars.

A place we will return to for taking a break, for a refill of empty batteries.

Guido Wallraff

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Figo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I selected TDN for my 3 friends and I after hours of researching various Tuscan Villas on the Internet. My expectations were very high given the reviews on trip advisor and I am pretty fussy in certain ways.

My God, we were so impressed. I had an idea what to expect but even still this vineyard blew me away and my friends were giving me 110% for my top class accommodation booking skills.

I loved everything about the estate and the location.

Location: Just outside beautiful Montepulciano and Monticello which is so cute, to mention the two closest. It is so central and easily accessible from all the beautiful hill top towns.

Food: Food was very good in particular dinner. The location of the 'dining room' is fab; right on the terrace over looking the rolling Tuscan Hills. We completed the cookery course one evening, which was good fun. We also ate in the tiny restaurant in Monticello, which was top class.

Accommodation: We stayed in La Terraza the 4 bed apartment and I was so impressed by it. It had a fully equipped Italian kitchen, sitting room and traditional bedrooms. In no way was it luxury accommodation. It was just a perfect Italian apartment with everything in it that you could need during your stay.

Swimming Pools: There were 2. I was quite shocked by this given that it is a pretty small and intimate estate. We were able to have our own water aerobics / Pilates class with a pretty superb backdrop of the rolling Tuscan hills. That was in the morning, in the afternoon, we indulged in a class of their fine vino by the pool!!!! Sheer bliss. Note they lounger are lovely and comfortable.

Admin: The booking of the trip was simple and easy and they do everything possible to assist you.

People: Last but not least it is generally the people that run guest accommodation of any kind that can make or break a holiday or stay. Giorgio and Christina were excellent and so helpful from start to finish. There is a fabulous relaxed atmosphere at TDN. Everyone was so friendly and lovely during out 4-day stay and there was a great sense of camaraderie among the guests even if you only met them once a day at meal times. The atmosphere that they create is very special and quite difficult to describe which is why you will have to go to understand.

I love to explore new places and when I go to Italy I generally do not return to the same place but in this case, I certainly will. I loved every minute of it. Each one of the four of us were nearly crying when we were driving up the avenue of TDN after bidding it farewell. I don't think we spoke to each for a half hour and when the sad silence was broken it was to query when we would all be free to return! You would not think we were going to a renowned Michelin starred restaurant that night. It was more like we had been tore away from the closest place that anyone of us have come to being in a very relaxing and peaceful heaven.

I hope we will make it back there soon again and that same atmosphere which is so special is still in existence.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank funkydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews