We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven”
Review of Terre di Nano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terre di Nano
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife,15 years old son and I recently spent a blissful week at Terre Di Nano. Our family's stay was a celebration of our 50 birthday's and our 25th wedding anniversary.What a great gift! We all wished we could have stayed longer at this enchanting villa. Our accommodations were top notch, and the hospitality of Christina and Georgio was excellent. We were all blown away when we opened the door to our terrace which overlooked the ruins of a mid-evil castle, olive groves, vineyards and beautiful pasture land filled with Pecorino sheep.

We chose Terre Di Nano because of it's great central location in Tuscany. It was a wise choice as we were able to take day trips to the many hilltop towns and vineyards of this beautiful region, as well as enjoy some amazing food and the friendly people of the Tuscany region.

It truly is a slice of Heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bella Vista suite. It has two bedrooms,two bathrooms a living room and full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 309 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed for four nights in July, 2012. We chose it because of the trip advisor reviews and a private recommendation as well. The property is located in the hills of Tuscany with amazing views and beautiful grounds. We immediately felt relaxed each day returning from adventures in the surrounding hill towns. The pool is an oasis and refreshing after the heat of the summer days of wine tasting and touring. Past reviewers commented about the welcoming and friendly hospitality of the management, which we didn't really experience. We found Giorgio usually cordial, and sometimes aloof. Christina always had a friendly smile, but rarely spoke to us, most likely because of the language gap. When we arrived after a full day of driving in 90+ degree heat from Florence and around Tuscany, nobody offered even a drink, or anything for that matter. We were never asked if the room was OK, or even if we needed anything, during the entire stay. We have stayed in excellent hotels all over the world and know that a little bit of service and hospitality can make a tremendous difference in the experience. Overall- a great place to stay but the service is hit or miss.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

To experience the beauty, atmosphere and hospitality of Tuscany, don't miss a stay at beautiful Terre di Nano. The rooms are all very large and beautiful, with spectacular views of four hill towns, depending on the room. Sip your morning cappucino under the umbrellas on the terrace and listen to the church bells from the little ancient hill town across the valley. The hosts, Cristina and Giorgio, will recommend tours, sightseeing, activities and even make dinner reservations for you in nearby towns. The accommodations include two-bedroom apartments with sitting rooms and kitchens as well as traditional "hotel" rooms, but all spacious and decorated with antiques, and with very large and beautifully-appointed bathrooms. We were three generations of a family visiting and already plan to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the exquisite hill town of Montepulciano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Celebrating our 36th anniversary, we made our first trip to Italy. Rome for 5 nights then to TDN for a week's stay. Like the others, we based our choice on the exceptional reviews and photos and prepared ourselves that no place could really look this beautiful or be this good. We were wrong!! TDN exceeded all of our expectations. Giorgio, Cristina and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. In Bellevista, where we stayed, we found in a book called "Bringing Tuscany Home" by Frances Mayes, writer of "Under The Tuscan Sun". and cooked our own ragu one evening - it was great!! We now own a copy of the book and love it. - A daily reminder of this beautiful place. The only thing that could have made it better was puppies and guess what, there were 9 of them on the property while we were there (I don't think that's garunteed for every reservation though) We spent a good part of the plane ride back to Florida making our plans to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I just returned from my 4th visit to Tuscany and its the best trip ever. Thanks to TDN, the location, the view, the people and the accommandation were perfect! The views from our little house, La Cassette, was breathtaking and truely the views are better than the pictures. TDN is centrallly located in Southern Tuscany so it easy to visit the many hilltowns in the area. And Montepulciano is only 15 minutes drive away. I definitely will return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were a group of 4 (2 couples) from Sydney travelling in Europe for 5 weeks. We pre-booked Terre di Nano for 3 nts on spec after reviewing many options via Trip Advisor and wow! what a truly exceptional place. I've been fortunate enough to travel extensively in my lifetime and this is one of the most beautiful parts of the world I have ever experienced. We stayed in Casa di Terrazzo and the view from the terrace across to Montepulciano is breath-taking, especially at sunset. We dined at the the main house on the first night, the food and (estate-produced) wine was excellent. On the 2nd night we bought ingredients in nearby Pienza for a ragu and sampled a couple of bottles of the famous Tuscan Brunello from Montalcino, eating out on the terrace on as the sun set behind us. We were in heaven. The house was genuine rustic and faithful to its origins. The beds extremely comfortable, the bathroom/shower facilities very clean and beautifully presented. The staff were delightful and the estate magnificent. The surrounding villages of Montepulciano, Montechiello and Pienza are classic Tuscany. You could live here and die happily of over-indulgence. Forget Chianti, this is where its at.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Terre di Nano seems to just happen. Peacefulness, tranquility, solitude, charm, beauty all revitalize the spirit and calm one's frazzled nerves. Of course, it doesn't just happen. It's the result of tireless unseen efforts by Giorgio and Cristina and behind-the-scenes efforts of people like sweet Manuela who was so kind to us and several others whose names we never learned but whose work creates this tiny slice of heaven.

If a reviewer must pick it all apart, I suppose it's largely the views; the far-off emerald vistas that seem to surround the hilltop property. I frequently took a novel out to the patio overlooking the Tuscany valleys, only to spend hours gazing at the fields while finishing only two pages. The hill towns of Montepulciano, Pienza, and Monticchiello are all readily visible from Terre di Nano. The layout of the stately old Italian buildings; the vineyards; the soft classical music playing in the dining room at breakfast; the caring that Christina puts into her traditional and wonderful Tuscan dinners; the lovely rooms like our 'Quercialsale'.

I can't imagine ever returning to Tuscany and staying anywhere but Terre di Nano.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikee355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
4.8 mi away
Agriturismi Il Castello La Grancia
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
6.2 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
463 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Casa Picchiata
2.7 mi away
L'Olmo
L'Olmo
#2 of 11 in Monticchiello
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terre di Nano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre di Nano

Address: Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terre di Nano is a 19th-century country estate surrounded by vineyards, olive groves, rolling hills and woods, which offers spacious charming accommodations in one of the most desirable areas of southern Tuscany, and produces high quality red wines and extra-virgin olive oil. It is situated in the province of Siena in the peaceful heart of Val d'Orcia, a splendid area which officially became part of UNESCO patrimony in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terre di Nano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Di Nano Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing