We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to experience Tuscany, this is the place you want to stay”
Review of Terre di Nano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terre di Nano
Ranked #5 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you want to experience Tuscany, this is the place you want to stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I just returned from my 4th visit to Tuscany and its the best trip ever. Thanks to TDN, the location, the view, the people and the accommandation were perfect! The views from our little house, La Cassette, was breathtaking and truely the views are better than the pictures. TDN is centrallly located in Southern Tuscany so it easy to visit the many hilltowns in the area. And Montepulciano is only 15 minutes drive away. I definitely will return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
128
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were a group of 4 (2 couples) from Sydney travelling in Europe for 5 weeks. We pre-booked Terre di Nano for 3 nts on spec after reviewing many options via Trip Advisor and wow! what a truly exceptional place. I've been fortunate enough to travel extensively in my lifetime and this is one of the most beautiful parts of the world I have ever experienced. We stayed in Casa di Terrazzo and the view from the terrace across to Montepulciano is breath-taking, especially at sunset. We dined at the the main house on the first night, the food and (estate-produced) wine was excellent. On the 2nd night we bought ingredients in nearby Pienza for a ragu and sampled a couple of bottles of the famous Tuscan Brunello from Montalcino, eating out on the terrace on as the sun set behind us. We were in heaven. The house was genuine rustic and faithful to its origins. The beds extremely comfortable, the bathroom/shower facilities very clean and beautifully presented. The staff were delightful and the estate magnificent. The surrounding villages of Montepulciano, Montechiello and Pienza are classic Tuscany. You could live here and die happily of over-indulgence. Forget Chianti, this is where its at.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Terre di Nano seems to just happen. Peacefulness, tranquility, solitude, charm, beauty all revitalize the spirit and calm one's frazzled nerves. Of course, it doesn't just happen. It's the result of tireless unseen efforts by Giorgio and Cristina and behind-the-scenes efforts of people like sweet Manuela who was so kind to us and several others whose names we never learned but whose work creates this tiny slice of heaven.

If a reviewer must pick it all apart, I suppose it's largely the views; the far-off emerald vistas that seem to surround the hilltop property. I frequently took a novel out to the patio overlooking the Tuscany valleys, only to spend hours gazing at the fields while finishing only two pages. The hill towns of Montepulciano, Pienza, and Monticchiello are all readily visible from Terre di Nano. The layout of the stately old Italian buildings; the vineyards; the soft classical music playing in the dining room at breakfast; the caring that Christina puts into her traditional and wonderful Tuscan dinners; the lovely rooms like our 'Quercialsale'.

I can't imagine ever returning to Tuscany and staying anywhere but Terre di Nano.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikee355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

You will not be disappointed in Terre di Nano - either by the accommodations, facility, staff (most especially Giorgio and Cristina) or THE VIEW. My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's throughout Europe and never have we been treated with such grace and hospitality. We just returned from a week at the TdN and found it to be centrally located for day tripping to Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Cortona and even to the Mediterranean (about two hours).

Giorgio never seems to tire of the endless questions he gets asked (over and over I'm sure). He answers all with pleasure and a smile. Cristina's authentic Tuscan cooking is over the moon and created with love and fresh ingredients (which we watched her pick from her large herb garden). Both hosts go over and above expectations to make you feel welcome, cozy, and happy. You really want for nothing here at the TdN.

And you should not overlook the opportunity to meet Walter and Pippi - the resident Bracco's (hunting dogs) who are as sweet as can be and extremely well behaved. Their nine puppies were the highlight of our mornings after walking the Tuscan hillsides.

I cannot say enough about this lovely place. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Torino Apartment (2 Br/2 bath) on the U.S. 3rd floor, and it was well layed out, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manoowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderful hotel, excellent staff, great food, amazing wine, incredible view. Nothing more to say. It was just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joumanakreidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our visit to Italy was planned for us by our Italian cousin and he worked tirelessly to show us the best of that beautiful country. For our time in Tuscany he planned for us to stay at Terre di Nano. I knew from the moment I saw the website that our time there would be too short…I was right!

The vistas could have been from a painting; the accommodations were lovely while also spacious and comfortable. It was our pleasure to meet Giorgio and Cristina…they were both immediately welcoming to us and to our children. Our dinner was perfect. Giorgio had made gnocchi for us that afternoon. The two sauces (tomato and pesto) were equally delicious. The dessert, panecotta courtesy of Cristina, became an instant favorite of our son. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious (including the American scrambled eggs).

This beautiful country estate also has a working vineyard with winemaking equipment on the grounds; from the olive trees they produce their own olive oil.

A fabulous location and gracious hosts! Even with much of Italy awaiting us, we hated to leave this idyllic setting. After many memorable moments during our two-week tour, Terre di Nano remains the favorite of our trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russok61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I went to TdN on the recommendation of a friend and had the most wonderful time. The location is simply lovely and everyone from the other guests to the staff were a joy to be around. We got engaged while there and everyone went out of the way to congratulate my fiancee and make the day really special for her... it was perfect.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful... the apartments are cosy and the houses arre gorgeous. YOu can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigan1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
3.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
1.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
241 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
6.2 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 63 in Pienza
585 reviews
5.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 63 in Pienza
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terre di Nano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre di Nano

Property: Terre di Nano
Address: Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terre di Nano is a 19th-century country estate surrounded by vineyards, olive groves, rolling hills and woods, which offers spacious charming accommodations in one of the most desirable areas of southern Tuscany, and produces high quality red wines and extra-virgin olive oil. It is situated in the province of Siena in the peaceful heart of Val d'Orcia, a splendid area which officially became part of UNESCO patrimony in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terre di Nano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Di Nano Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing