We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect hotel in a perfect little town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Bandita Townhouse
Ranked #1 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

my fiance and i just returned from an absolutely wonderful stay at la bandita townhouse. i'm not sure exactly where to start because everything we experienced there was pretty perfect.

we stayed for three nights from dec 30 - jan 2. so we had the pleasure of enjoying a festive new year's eve at the townhouse cafe as well as an after-dinner celebration in the town square.

the service that martina and virginia both provided was amazing. they were so friendly and a joy to come "home" to every day. we couldn't have asked for better hosts. anything we needed, or any questions we had were answered above and beyond.

our room (and the hotel as a whole) was beautifully designed. simple and elegant, while maintaining some of the quaint pienza feel.

we stayed in room 4. it was on the smaller side, but had plenty of space for the two of us. it overlooked the back garden and the quaint side alley. during the day it had lots of nice light pouring in and in the evening, felt very quaint and private.

the library bar with the "honesty bar" is such a nice touch. we enjoyed having a glass of wine while relaxing before dinner on more than one occasion.

also, all of john's area recommendations from food, to sights, to wine, were amazing. we felt like we had our own insider tour guide. such a great benefit.

the only complaint (and this is really searching for something) was that the wifi was a bit unpredictable. it really wasn't much of an issue at all, but possibly worth mentioning. martina and virginia were both very helpful when we pointed it out though.

overall, one of my favorite places i've stayed. we will most definitely be back (probably many times). :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 208 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very different from the Tuscan borgos and other high end hotels - La Bandita truly reminds me of a townhouse - a few rooms leading out to common lounge space that is really space you will lounge in with wine, nibbles, other beverages and books and a wonderful music selection for your choosing. It's an old convent that has basically been gutted and refitted in an upscale, comfortable, contemporary style.

My son, who manages and leads high end biking/hiking groups through Tuscany, and has seen many, many 5-star Tuscan lodgings was so taken by La Bandita that he has recommended using them for trips next season. The staff was wonderful - gracious, helpful, and "real." I'm sorry that we didn't get to eat a meal other than breakfast in the restaurant - was a treat just watching them prep for the day.

My only caution, and this seemed to be true throughout Italy, is that we had a two-bed room (sharing with my sister) and this meant two twin (albeit comfortable) beds. Thought we were back in our childhood sharing a bedroom.

Pienza itself is a picture perfect village with a very different feel than other Tuscan hill towns.

Room Tip: From review - a caution, and this seemed to be true throughout Italy, is that we had a two-bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc/atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This review comes nearly 8 months too late, but our experience at La Bandita Townhouse remains one of the standout highlights of an unforgettable trip to Italy. Book here if you care about an experience that's equal parts style and substance; a well-considered space to come back to in the evening after exploring the Italy you imagined. Don't fret about trying to 'do everything' while in Tuscany. Hole yourself up here at La Bandita Townhouse and get to know Pienza, a small yet perfectly formed medieval village for a few days and experience Italy at her finest in an intimate and authentic way - we truly felt this was the 'most 'Italian' experience we had during a 4 week vacation. The only regret is not staying longer, though we had 4 glorious nights. Our top tip would be to do everything John has suggested in his guidebook - all the hard work has been done for you! Definitely do the walk and stay until you can until you get a reservation at Il Rosselini. During our trip, we ate at 3 Michelin Stars in Modena, and this little neighbourhood gem was a close second to this - an unforgettable night if you're good with going with the flow and just pray they went foraging for porcini that morning. Not to be outdone, the in-house La Bandita restaurant turns out some beautifully refined food and classics - you can't go past the mozarella and proscuitto starter. Everything else: the toiletries, the sheets, the decor, the mini bar and the flawless service was all welcomed and in line with their positioning of understated luxury. The real hero here is the countryside, but a stay here makes a tough job of actually leaving your room. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Want to stay in a small hill top town town in Tuscany? Want to walk out your front door and down a quaint alley to a most amazing view? Desire insider tips provided by staff with genuine warmth? Appreciate hands-on owners with a global persective who are interested in creating a different hotel atmosphere? Luxury accomodations, products, linens, and towels? Books and vinyl?

Tagiolinni with white truffles, vegetables from heaven, and the best desserts you've ever eaten, all by chefs who have cooked for heads of state?

Yes you do.

Then stay here when you visit Tuscany.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLessard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I'll add some specifics to the other reviews highly recommending La Bandita. Wonderful hot pressure rain shower in a large fully enclosed shower. Beautiful soap/shampoo, free wi-fi, extremely helpful staff, free laundry (dried my shoes after a day of rain), confirmed logistics of a separately scheduled wine tour unasked, cool cozy vibe to restaurant, delish complementary brkfast. Great bedding, beautiful decor.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Cannot be a bigger fan of La Bandita Townhouse. The hotel is flawlessly designed and operated. Upon arrival, you are welcomed by staff into what is a converted monastic building, aptly adorned with modern style. The rooms are wonderful and spacious, filled with surprises and luxuries that were unexpected, such as a heated floor, nice washing products, and well-styled towel heaters. Soft drinks are of no extra cost, which I always find to be a nice touch at a hotel. The shower has great pressure and plenty of space.

The bedroom is very chic and the bed is very comfortable. I took a liking to the color combination in the room, a very nice metallic gray and mustard yellow.

The restaurant was also very nice. The food was well prepared and the design was comfortable for dinner. Breakfast was included and was freshly prepared every morning.

La Bandita is a place I will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect, and every detail was accounted for. Stylish modern rooms with a ridiculously comfy bed, and one of the most spacious bathrooms I have ever seen, along with towel heaters and a partially heated bathroom floor underneath the toilet. The hotel is immaculate and it has the perfect balance of elegance without being pretentious. Definitely check out John's record collection and read some of his books on the first floor, it adds to the uniqueness of this hotel. We were greeted by Simone and Martina, and they were unbelievably friendly, and made us feel right at home. Also a fantastic restaurant, the tiramasu is to die for. The town of Pienza is stunning beyond belief, and you truly feel as though you have stepped into a sanctuary. Would highly recommend this place to anyone. I never wanted to leave, and hopefully I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheenaBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#6 of 7 in Pienza
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
2.3 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bandita Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita Townhouse

Address: Corso Il Rossellino 111, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range: $339 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bandita Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room luxury boutique hotel inside the historic center of Pienza, a tiny UNESCO Heritage site village set in the rolling hills of southern Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Bandita Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing