We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“If you want a piece of heaven La Saracina is it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais La Saracina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais La Saracina
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want a piece of heaven La Saracina is it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a treat to stay at this place. It is a little bit of heaven! Set way back off the road on a cyprus tree lined drive, it is so peaceful you can hear the birds singing. It has a beautiful view of Pienza from the lovely grounds by the pool. The 2 sisters that ran the place while I was there treated me like family! Such gracious hosts it is easy to tell they love their job and go out of their way to make sure your stay is very pleasurable.

I really enjoyed my stay even more as the place I stayed just before my stay at La Saracina left so much to be desired; sadly I based the stay at the other lodging ( just before my stay at La Saracina) on triadadvsor reviews and can only come to the conclusion that most of the reviews were posted by that establishment's friends and family! This is the reason I decided I need to write about La Saracina as you definitely get value for your money, but if you go to Tuscany expecting air conditioning then you will have very few places to stay as it is almost non existent.

This is a perfect location, half way between Pienza and Montepulchiano.

I truly look forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at La Saracina during the summer, and arrived dismayed to find no air conditioning. Of course, no A/C is typical in Tuscany, so be sure to ask specifically. In addition, the fan in our room was too high up and generated no cool air and squeaked obnoxiously. I've never been so overheated in my life. It was kind of miserable. Additionally, do not assume that you will be able to get laundry done here. They charged us 150 euro for a couple of loads. If you're like us and like to pack with one week of clothes for a multi-week trip, make sure you get your laundry done before you get here. And lastly, you absolutely must have a car to stay at La Saracina. The whole experience was really disappointing. The facility itself is lovely. The pool was a saving grace. The lavender found throughout the property was gorgeous. I loved the dogs, although friends of ours found them very pesky. Breakfast was good. Recommendations the sisters make for activities will be what tourists like, so if you prefer not to go to pricey meals every night and do winery tour after winery tour, come prepared with what you want to do. It's located several miles from both Montalpulciano and Pienza, both of which are really quaint, lovely towns. The best way to spend time in Tuscany is by settling in to a much slower pace, limiting activities, and really enjoy the moment - drink lots of wine and mangia! I think La Saracina would be absolutely lovely in the spring or fall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just revisited La Saracina and it was even more wonderful than my memory. Gabriella and Simonetta are the most gorgeous and warm hosts. Our room was very spacious and beautifully appointed with so much creativity coupled with first class comforts. They advised us well on places of interest and restaurants to visit together it's handling bookings and reservations.

Breakfast is such a treat - a beautiful glass room set amongst a magnificent
Tuscan garden with the most amazing fare.


These girls run a 'prima class' property and I can't wait to return!

We will definetly return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi0807_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at La Saracina many times. And rule out any negative ratings ever given.
It is truly magical. The location is a total bliss. The owner Simonetta is as elegant as she knows her way around. She advised us the best restaurants and locations to visit.
A person would be mad or just negative to write something bad about this place.
We met people that stayed the for 15 years as trusted customers and they are not the only ones..

If you want to relax, feel at home and well treated, then go there! I tell you.. If people are negative, they probably want to keep it to themselves what the real problem is in their life!

Room Tip: Take a suite.. I saw all the rooms for next vist and they have huge bathrooms! And to take a last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcroza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We spent 8 nights at La Saracina in May of 2012. Although Simonetta and Gabriella were gracious hosts, our room lacked in creature comforts. No TV for the entire stay (was told the "dish had been acting up"), no heat or hot water the first morning we awoke, no sitting area or anything other than the bed. Noise was a big problem. We had one almost entire sleepless night as what appeared as their friends who stayed in the next room kept us up most of one night with a drunken party. Also, do not plan on laundry service. It is provided, but expensive!! It is almost $10 US for a single pair of pants. Are you kidding me?? Breakfast provided was good, the grounds were safe. But we believe there must be a better deal in rural Tuscany than this for over $300 US per night. It was our biggest dissappointment of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 88travelwizard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very romantic, very clean & hosts Simonetta & Gabriella are tremendous hosts. Highly recommend if traveling in Tuscan region.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We came to La Saracina on the advice of a friend. When he spoke of this place in particular, his face became animated as he described Simonetta and Gabriella and the incredible experiences he has had at this wonderful little gem. We had never even really discussed what La Saracina looked like because I trusted him so completely after listening to him describe his time there. When we arrived - much later than we had expected because we did not know the area at all, Simonetta was waiting to show us to our rooms and explain the property and breakfast the next day to us. After she left us, we went into our rooms, unpacked, and just sank into the incredible peacefulness of this place. Our suite was divine, the grounds immaculate, and the lawn pool and view out over the fields of Tuscany to die for. I have never known relaxation like this and could have stayed forever. Luckily for us, they also have a tennis court on the property that kept our boys very busy while we were enjoying our peace by the pool.

Breakfast each day was beautiful. Poached and dried fruits, nuts, eggs to order, fresh fruit and yogurts, sliced meats, the best coffees - and presented so in keeping with the home.

Simonetta made all of our arrangements for dinner each night and gave us incredible suggestions as far as her favorites - all were so authentic and in beautiful, charming little towns that were 5-15 minutes away.

The grounds - ahh the grounds - meticulously manicured and cared for - and lavendar everywhere. Each day at the pool, we also could hear the strains of the beautiful music that Simonetta and Gabriella enjoyed from their apartment also on the grounds.

So if I haven't convinced you that this place is heaven on earth - be sure to visit so you too will know what we experienced. We will be back - and soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Trebbiano Suite and our boys stayed in standard room on the other side of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrajean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
3.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
3.0 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
3.0 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
3.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Saracina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Saracina

Property: Relais La Saracina
Address: Ss 146, Km 29. 7, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Relais La Saracina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Saracina Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing