We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Saracina experience”
Review of Relais La Saracina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais La Saracina
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Reviewed January 8, 2012

La Saracinia was one of the most wonderful experiences I have had the pleasure to enjoy.
The hosts Gabriella and Simonetta are so warm, friendly and helpful with their advice certainly made our stay personal. The buildings are beautiful and the the rooms so suitably and appropriately decorated in a Tuscan style.
Breakfast was served in a stunning glass room amongst the garden with an amazing array of 'breakfast fare'! We enjoyed a wonderful lunch by the pool after a visit to Pienza where we had purchased gorgeous local produce. This property is a real jewel in the crown and I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi0807_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at La Saracina for two nights in July. It is an old stone house at the top of a hill overlooking Pienza and Motalpuciano. The setting and topography are so beautiful that it almost looks fake. The room we had was huge and very nice, the place is somewhat self service but you have everything you need. Nice towels, beautiful swimming pool, and a great breakfast with typical local peccorino cheese...the best! Very rustic but with all amenities. Very easy access to some great towns especially Pienza....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayh-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

La Saracina is a real find. Each of the five large rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed for a comfortable stay. My favorite rooms are Trebbiano ( queen bed) and Sangiovetta ( king bed) both with very large bathrooms( large shower and bath).The proprietor Simonetta Vesichelli puts out an extraordinary breakfast. From this great location, she assists with dinner reserations in nearby towns , winery visits, and any assistance needed to tour the area by car. She is a life long resident and knows everyone. A+ rating in every respect. My wife and I have travelled to Italy for the past 13 years and we find ourselves returning to La Saracina every trip for at least a couple of days. You can reach it by rental car from Florence in about 1 and 1/2 hours.Simonetta's sister Gabriella and her staff are also very attentive to every need. This is a special place in a beautiful setting. A perfect location for touring Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano and thier Brunello and Vino Nobile Vinyards.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDLONARDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We came to Tuscany expecting much and we left with so much more. It all started and ended with the gracious hospitality of our hosts Simonetta and Gabriella. To truly enjoy Tuscany's sublime beauty one must be relaxed. La Saracina provided the amentities required for our jaunts up and down the winding roads of Tuscany. This restored country farm house was old and quaint but felt oh so comfortable. Returning each night and enjoying breakfast each morning rivaled the pleasure of our daily adventures in Tuscany. Maybe it was Italy or maybe it was Tuscany or maybe it was just La Saracina which will surely bring about our future return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcantrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We found heaven at La Saracina! The air was scented with blooming acacia and jasmine. The converted farmhouse was lovely and elegant, without being overdone. Simonetta and Gabrielle are friendly, attentive, and grew up in the area, so they make the best recommendations for food and sights. The eastern facing breakfast room is a great place to start the day-breakfasts are inventive and delicious and the choice of honeys alone boggles the mind. The local foods are fabulous. There was a table and chairs outside our room where we sat one day with a little cheese, sausage and wine, absorbing the lovely view. Most days were spent roaming around Tuscany's fascinating hill towns- we would have been equally happy spending more time in the hammock under the almond tree! The pool is delicious, like swimming in spring water. 3 nights were almost too short a stay. It's such a beautiful area, would definitely like to go back to La Saracina!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyesfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Wow! We stayed for our honeymooon. Simonetta has attended to every detail. It is like Ralph Lauren set up shop in Tuscany. The breakfast buffets, the beautiful decor, the grounds, the building. Everything was just gorgeous. She is lovely. Her dog is wonderful. We were lucky to be there when there weren't any other guests and so we really enjoyed the seclusion. Simonetta helped with wonderful recommendations and even helped us call ahead to change some hotel rooms later on our itinerary. We can't say enough. Her pastries are to die! We stayed in the room with the fireplace and highly recommend it for it's incredible space and comfort.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank hearttravel1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

If I would look for the Paradise on Earth, I find it in Pienza at Simonettas place. We have been there the second time and it will not be the last time. Simonette looks after their guests and we feel at home there. Our son Jacob is 4 years old, he loves it as well. If anybody has the chance to go there, just do it because it like paradise on earth and so romantic. The breakfast is aranged beautifully and Simonetta uses every day a different dish on the Tables, it is so lovely. We liked it and them (Simonetta and Gabriella) a lot . We will come back in June 2009. The Rooms are also very clean and nice and different decorated. We loved Sangiovese.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GRasstengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
3.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
3.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
3.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
2.9 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
3.0 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Saracina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Saracina

Address: Ss 146, Km 29. 7, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range: $267 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais La Saracina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Saracina Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing