We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Seting”
Review of Relais La Saracina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais La Saracina
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Brentwood, NH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Seting”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at La Saracina for two nights in July. It is an old stone house at the top of a hill overlooking Pienza and Motalpuciano. The setting and topography are so beautiful that it almost looks fake. The room we had was huge and very nice, the place is somewhat self service but you have everything you need. Nice towels, beautiful swimming pool, and a great breakfast with typical local peccorino cheese...the best! Very rustic but with all amenities. Very easy access to some great towns especially Pienza....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayh-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

La Saracina is a real find. Each of the five large rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed for a comfortable stay. My favorite rooms are Trebbiano ( queen bed) and Sangiovetta ( king bed) both with very large bathrooms( large shower and bath).The proprietor Simonetta Vesichelli puts out an extraordinary breakfast. From this great location, she assists with dinner reserations in nearby towns , winery visits, and any assistance needed to tour the area by car. She is a life long resident and knows everyone. A+ rating in every respect. My wife and I have travelled to Italy for the past 13 years and we find ourselves returning to La Saracina every trip for at least a couple of days. You can reach it by rental car from Florence in about 1 and 1/2 hours.Simonetta's sister Gabriella and her staff are also very attentive to every need. This is a special place in a beautiful setting. A perfect location for touring Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano and thier Brunello and Vino Nobile Vinyards.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDLONARDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemont, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We came to Tuscany expecting much and we left with so much more. It all started and ended with the gracious hospitality of our hosts Simonetta and Gabriella. To truly enjoy Tuscany's sublime beauty one must be relaxed. La Saracina provided the amentities required for our jaunts up and down the winding roads of Tuscany. This restored country farm house was old and quaint but felt oh so comfortable. Returning each night and enjoying breakfast each morning rivaled the pleasure of our daily adventures in Tuscany. Maybe it was Italy or maybe it was Tuscany or maybe it was just La Saracina which will surely bring about our future return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcantrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We found heaven at La Saracina! The air was scented with blooming acacia and jasmine. The converted farmhouse was lovely and elegant, without being overdone. Simonetta and Gabrielle are friendly, attentive, and grew up in the area, so they make the best recommendations for food and sights. The eastern facing breakfast room is a great place to start the day-breakfasts are inventive and delicious and the choice of honeys alone boggles the mind. The local foods are fabulous. There was a table and chairs outside our room where we sat one day with a little cheese, sausage and wine, absorbing the lovely view. Most days were spent roaming around Tuscany's fascinating hill towns- we would have been equally happy spending more time in the hammock under the almond tree! The pool is delicious, like swimming in spring water. 3 nights were almost too short a stay. It's such a beautiful area, would definitely like to go back to La Saracina!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Wow! We stayed for our honeymooon. Simonetta has attended to every detail. It is like Ralph Lauren set up shop in Tuscany. The breakfast buffets, the beautiful decor, the grounds, the building. Everything was just gorgeous. She is lovely. Her dog is wonderful. We were lucky to be there when there weren't any other guests and so we really enjoyed the seclusion. Simonetta helped with wonderful recommendations and even helped us call ahead to change some hotel rooms later on our itinerary. We can't say enough. Her pastries are to die! We stayed in the room with the fireplace and highly recommend it for it's incredible space and comfort.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hearttravel1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2008

If I would look for the Paradise on Earth, I find it in Pienza at Simonettas place. We have been there the second time and it will not be the last time. Simonette looks after their guests and we feel at home there. Our son Jacob is 4 years old, he loves it as well. If anybody has the chance to go there, just do it because it like paradise on earth and so romantic. The breakfast is aranged beautifully and Simonetta uses every day a different dish on the Tables, it is so lovely. We liked it and them (Simonetta and Gabriella) a lot . We will come back in June 2009. The Rooms are also very clean and nice and different decorated. We loved Sangiovese.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GRasstengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Spent 3 nights at La Saracina. It was by far the most expensive place at which we stayed. 450$ a night. The rooms were pretty and clean. There is no common area. When I went into the common area to ask about dinner reservations the owner turned is back on me and ignored me. His daughter runs the place. She was nice. Their office is in the common are next to their kitchen but I didn't realize it was off limits. Don't expect advice or reservations during normal hours. If they are there the daughter will happily arrange them. However, in the middle of the day the office was often closed and she doesn't leave a contact number. This is a big problem when your in the middle of nowhere tuscany.

We liked the dog. He was sweet but they didn't control him and I since he is young and large can be overly playful.

Breakfast was in a pretty setting. Food was good. Coffee great but they never offered a second cup and seemed put out if you asked for one.

The grounds are small. We love to hike and run but when we asked about hiking in the nearby olive groves we realized they had sold off all their land and had only a few rows.

This area is far from other parts of Tuscany such as Florence and sienna. Wish we had stayed closer. She says 1 hour to Florence and Google mapquest estimates 1.5 hours. To get into the City and Park seemed to take much longer.

Overall, I am giving this place lower marks (two stars is supposed to be "okay, but some problems") because I stayed at several other bed and breakfasts in Tuscany and Spain and averaged 1/4 the price with just as much to offer.

  • Liked — character
  • Disliked — service/location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank likestotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
3.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
3.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
3.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Saracina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Saracina

Property: Relais La Saracina
Address: Ss 146, Km 29. 7, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Relais La Saracina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Saracina Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing