We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awful, one to avoid”
Review of La Mensa del Conte

La Mensa del Conte
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply awful, one to avoid”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The tragedy of this restaurant is that there are so many good ones to choose from in Pienza and yet the staff here can barely manage to raise their game above being rude.

The food is very middle of the road, but cheap so just about excusable. What I cannot excuse is food poisoning and being treated like something the staff had just scraped off their shoe when spending money in their restaurant.

Go anywhere else in Pienza, but do yourselves a favour and avoid this place

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krisj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    154
    64
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wouldnt Go Back!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I just dropped in for a coffee and a cake on my way through this beautiful town. The glum faces on the staff and the grunts when I asked them for coffee were not what I expect from someone getting a little business from me. There are plenty of places in Pienza to choose from but I had not been in here before. When I came to pay I had to wait for the staff to finish serving someone, serve another customer who came in after me and then.....the thing with places like this in tourist hotspots is the prices are different for locals and tourists. I speak Italian, I knew what the man (a local) in front of me had and yet, for the same thing, I was charged 1 Euro more PLUS i only got a grunt when I paid it. Stupid Me! Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A basic but reliable place for Pizze and Coffe”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice on our stay. The Del Conte Pizza with Pecorino and Truffle oil was our favorite. A simple sit Dow place with good prices and dependable food. Worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent pizza”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited here twice and had pizza both times.
Definitely the best pizza I've had in Italy so far (I'm on day 8 of a 14 day holiday).
Its not high glamour but a great place to stop off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doyleee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuid Scharwoude
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“simple but good”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

In the morning a coffee bar, in the evening a ristorante. Small menu, simple dishes but like mamma would make them. Not something to impress your first date, but OK to feed yourself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BartMuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mensa del Conte also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Mensa del Conte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing