We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Pienza
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Delightful Rustic Restaurant & Farm

We did a farm tour and ate at the restaurant. I would reccomend walking the grounds by yourself... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jtssea
,
Seattle, Washington
via mobile
More Tuscany than you could ever imagine!!

Please please please visit!! This place is soooo amazing in so many levels. There is so much... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kush_Anu
,
Lugano, Switzerland
via mobile
Read all 243 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Pienza
from $202.03
More Info
from $78.57
More Info
from $144.79
More Info
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
193
25
12
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
193
25
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese making organic farm farm tour pizza cheese tasting cooking class farm to table the owner salad informative tour pici from scratch home grown goat sustainable farming restaurant offers travel agent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 243 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

We are very driven to eat healthy food, know where it comes from, compost and recycle and reuse all things possible, and appreciate life every moment. This farm and the owners speak to our heart and soul. Sandra and her family and team made this night a magical and special night for us as we near the final days of our honeymoon in Italy. We signed up for a couples cooking class, making an incredible roast pork loin (raised on this farm with all the right foods fed to the pig) with herbs and garlic from their garden, tiramisu from scratch, and pasta from scratch with garden tomatoes and scallions. Everything was delicious! We got to taste their biodynamic wines that they make on the property (very yummy), and all types of cheeses that they make on the premises. We watched her husband milking the sheep so it was fun to see how the milk gets from that stage all the way through to cheese making and aging. They are passionate about what they do and it really shows. Nature provided a remarkable sunset after the rain showers as a backdrop to our evening including rainbows framing Monticchiello. What a great experience!!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank NatalieG1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2015

My husband and I took the pizza making class which also included a tour of the farm. Sandra led the class and the tour and her enthusiasm was contagious. This is not a slick , large farm but a true working farm with the owners actually working. Piero; an employee; was in charge of the "forno" or pizza oven and he also was happy to share his knowledge with us. The little extras served with our pizzas were also from the farm and amounted to a very satisfying meal. The location is somewhat remote but we were given very good directions.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2015

Very difficult to find, but definitely with it. Lovely family run farm, learned a lot about making pecorino! Our lunch on the patio was divine, but there were so many flies that we couldn't concentrate much on anything else.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank H2trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2015

The owner showed us around and was very friendly and we learned a lot about cheeses from her. The cheese tasting was nice and we were given about 10 different types of cheeses to try with some wine. It is well worth a visit to sit outside and try the cheeses and relax with a beautiful view.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

We spent the morning at Podere Il Casale, an actual working organic farm, learning about cheese-making and farming in general from the owner, Sandra. It was a great and pleasant surprise!!! She took us around the farm, into the cheese-making building, explaining how everything works. Then we had a cheese tasting--truly delicious.

It's an off-the-beaten path location, and you definitely want reservations, but I would heartily recommend a few hours at Podere Il Casale--you won't regret it.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Member000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews