We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan cheese-making and farm tour, great for children!”
Review of Podere Il Casale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Il Casale
Ranked #41 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were traveling with our 3, 12 and 14-year-old children throughout Tuscany and wanted to find an activity to entertain our youngest, as she was a trooper during a few long days of travel and tours. We were recommended to visit Podere Il Casale by the owner of the beautiful villa we stayed at (Tenuta Santo Pietro) on a whim, as our little one wanted to see some animals. We arrived without prior reservations, and was warmly greeted by the owner, Sandra. She invited us to look around the property on our own, including incredible views of the Unesco-protected green rolling valleys and the hill town of Pienza in the distance. Sandra was about to give a tour to another family, so she was unfortunately unable to show us around personally. Within a few moments, we were invited to join the tour and had an unexpected and lovely morning learning about the workings of an organic farm and cheese making/aging. My children got to hold the baby goats, watch as the goats were milked and saw the peacocks with their full plumage, donkeys, pigs, and the other farm animals. Best of all, we all walked away with a greater awareness of where our food comes from, why processed and pasteurized foods should be avoided and an excellent example of sustainability, living off the land and genuine hospitality. Sandra and her husband also offers cooking classes, organic lunch and dinners in their restaurant and camping on their property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank LovingShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 57 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location is fantastic with beautiful views overlooking Pienza in the distance. We stopped for lunch and were given the cheese making tour. Unfortunately, no one was actully making cheese this day as it was out of season _ best time to visit if interested in cheese making is winter/spring. Learned a lot and appreciate the organic approach they cultivate. Lunch was family style with the menu djour. Excellet. Would not recommend overnight unless wanting to experience a budget accommodatons.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

A great little spot with a very relaxed atmosphere. For this price you don't expect the ritz but what you get is a very comfortable place full of character and personality.

We took a meal one night which was very traditional fayre, the breakfasts are simple but complemented most days with fresh produce from around the farm.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheChocolateMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I found Il Casale after reading about it in 3 separate places. We arranged a tour and tasting of their cheeses for 15 euros a person. Sandra explained the process of making and aging cheese. We then tasted over 10 cheeses along with a glass of wine. We really enjoyed this as we love cheese and it was something different to do in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank JuliecStrickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I travel many times to Italy a year and I stayed and ate at many agriturismi but this was for sure the worst place of all. But let's start with something positive: the landscape is very beautiful and you can overlook the Vale D'Orcia. I was not as a tourist at this form but I did WWOOF (willing workers on organic farms). Be careful wwoofers! Never go there! They do not treat you like a human being...they are not interested in you as a person. You are for them just someone who works for them without having you to pay for your efforts. I did non work 6 hours (like recommended for a wwoofer) but 12 hours! a day. So I did not have to time to visit the area around the farm... The owners and their sons are not unfriendly but you do just not exist for them. you have to work and to shut up, that's all. You also have to sleep outside in a caravan without any heating and this also in the winter!!!! The food was horrible, too - very simple and not enough, so most of the time you had to go to bed hungry.
I ate at many others farms in Italy and this food was the most horrible I every ate!
So I can just advice you not to go there! The marketing for their farm on their homepage and on facebook is very well done but it's not the reality!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We did not stay at this farm but reserved a cooking class and dinner for my family. We have three girls ages 10, 11, and 13. We had a wonderful time. The farm has amazing views, the owners are very friendly and lovely to talk to. The kids loved the experience of the cooking class. The food was superb. They also showed us around the farm and we happened to be there during sheep milking time. The kids asked it they could try milking the sheep. They had so much fun doing this. We stayed two hours after dinner just talking to the owners. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my3girlsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We did not stay at Podere Il Casale. we went to visit the working farm, to cheese tasting and had the best lunch imaginable. Sandra showed us around, explained the cheese making, all ups and downs of keeping the organic farm. then we enjoyed lunch on the veranda. everything was fresh, organic and absolutely delicious. We bought some honey, cheese and organic pasts to take with us. I would highly recommend it! this will be your best memory of your time in Tuscany!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey_Barinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
36.7 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
39.1 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
36.7 mi away
No photo provided
L'angolo di Pienza
#7 of 7 in Pienza
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
36.5 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
36.7 mi away
Agriturismo Palazzo Massaini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Il Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Il Casale

Address: Podere Casale 64, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing