We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay in pienza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 15, 2012

just 50 metres to old city.large room, great breakfasts, ghastly cocatoo screeching, restaurant is also good, don't feel youmust eat away from the hotel. helpful staff. Definitely recomended for Pienza stay. Also great free easy parking at hotel!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kiwit0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

good evening Zed Zealand,

We are very happy to read your positive comment. We work in our structure with heart and for us is very important to know that you enjoyed the stay. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 737 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great people!
Amazing location for navigating Tuscany.
Great value.
Good food.

If you want a lovely little hotel that makes you feel like home...THIS IS THAT PLACE.

It is nicely located in the small town of Pienza. It is easy to find. Has private parking. A clean pool. Good food. Friendly and helpful staff.

I would definitely go back.

Tuscany is beautiful. There is so much to do in July and August. This hotel is perfect. Nothing but good things to say. The rooms are fine. It's a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rarelyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear guest,
We thank you for the beautiful words that you said about our structure and our staff.
We would be very happy to get back to you as our valued customers.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 for just one night while driving around Tuscany. The hotel was very clean and tidy and it was great value for money. The room we had was large and their was free WIFI in the room. The pool was also nice.

The breakfast which was included was great, the best hotel breakfast we'd had during our stay in Tuscany, lots of choice.

There are many restaurants within walking distance, we just wish we'd had longer in Pienza rather than driving to the coast (near Orbetello) which was disappointing.

So, thank you San Gregorio!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirbycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear KirbyCooper,
We are very pleased to read your wonderful comment.
The staff at San Gregorio Hotel and Restaurant La Piazzetta would be very happy to get back to you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

we were lucky enough to stay a week at this beautiful boutique hotel. You are greeted like special family and made to feel like they never want you to leave. We stayed in room 202 and 205 it was exqusite with a breathtaking view. There is a breakfast served every morning on a lovely terrace. You can walk to everything from the hotel and get recommendations on what not to miss.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chavkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear lady and gentleman Chavkin,
We thank you for your comment and for the nice compliments that you have made to our structure.
If you have occasion to return to Pienza we will be very happy to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

UGreat location with free covered parking. Park here and walk into the beautiful town.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnocchiAllaSorrentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Gentlemen, we have read your comments about our hotel and we thank you.
We hope to have you back in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here in 2000 and 2001 when the hotel was brand new after having been a theatre in the 1930s and a dance hall in the 50's where the grandparents of the owner family met.. It has been our dream to return once again to our favorite of all places. We just returned from another week here and all was just as wonderful as we remembered. The suites are beautifully furnished in tuscan style with charming painted wall designs. Bathroom is spacious with jacuzzi tub. Lobby and hallways are beautiful with tile and marble designs. Nicola who speaks good english, his mom and Mirella are absolutely charming hosts who truly care about their guests and are friendly and welcoming. Pienza is a lovely town and especially pleasant in the evenings when the day tours leave. A great base for visiting the other hill towns nearby. Can hardly wait to return again to this fabulous place

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Sirs,
We thank you for returning back to our hotel.
We were very happy to see you.
We thank you for the nice compliments you have done to our hotel and to us.
We look forward to hosting you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Well I have found a pearl this time. Last weekend a group of 11 friends had a motor bike tour of the Tuscan hills and we stayed in this amazing hotel. The hotel was a theatre in the 1930s and is not owned by a local family and has been converted and restored in the best Tuscan traditions, elegant and classy. The rooms are all either suites or self contained apartments and are VERY spacious indeed. Staff are friendly and the breakfast amazing, they are working on the swimming pool and the hotel is 50m walk from the centre of the lovely Pienza. And a car and bike park is free and underneath the hotel. All this for 100 Euro per couple per night!!!!! Wow.

Room Tip: Suite or appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Simon F,
we thank you for your comment and for the nice compliments that you have made to our structure.
If you have occasion to return to Pienza we will be very happy to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,201 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
431 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence San Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Address: Via della Madonnina, 4, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range: $82 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence San Gregorio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence San Gregorio in Pienza is located within walking distance of the historic centre. Built on the ruins of an opera house of the 1930s, it is in perfect harmony with the elegance, grace and charm of the ideal Renaissance city. The choice between rooms, suites and apartments means you can tailor your holiday to best suite your needs: you can choose from spacious, nicely decorated and furnished rooms, romantic suites, or residences with kitchenette for those who want to feel at home without sacrificing the standards of a hotel. The Hotel Residence San Gregorio also offers the finest of Tuscan cuisine and a wide selection of wines at the Ristorante La Piazzetta, where you can try typical food, traditional dishes and local products. From breakfast to lunch, from aperitif to dinner, any time of the day is perfect for enjoying the culinary wealth of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residence San Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing