We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, quiet, comfortable, and convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean, quiet, comfortable, and convenient.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

UGreat location with free covered parking. Park here and walk into the beautiful town.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnocchiAllaSorrentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Gentlemen, we have read your comments about our hotel and we thank you.
We hope to have you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    190
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
163
388
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here in 2000 and 2001 when the hotel was brand new after having been a theatre in the 1930s and a dance hall in the 50's where the grandparents of the owner family met.. It has been our dream to return once again to our favorite of all places. We just returned from another week here and all was just as wonderful as we remembered. The suites are beautifully furnished in tuscan style with charming painted wall designs. Bathroom is spacious with jacuzzi tub. Lobby and hallways are beautiful with tile and marble designs. Nicola who speaks good english, his mom and Mirella are absolutely charming hosts who truly care about their guests and are friendly and welcoming. Pienza is a lovely town and especially pleasant in the evenings when the day tours leave. A great base for visiting the other hill towns nearby. Can hardly wait to return again to this fabulous place

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We thank you for returning back to our hotel.
We were very happy to see you.
We thank you for the nice compliments you have done to our hotel and to us.
We look forward to hosting you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Well I have found a pearl this time. Last weekend a group of 11 friends had a motor bike tour of the Tuscan hills and we stayed in this amazing hotel. The hotel was a theatre in the 1930s and is not owned by a local family and has been converted and restored in the best Tuscan traditions, elegant and classy. The rooms are all either suites or self contained apartments and are VERY spacious indeed. Staff are friendly and the breakfast amazing, they are working on the swimming pool and the hotel is 50m walk from the centre of the lovely Pienza. And a car and bike park is free and underneath the hotel. All this for 100 Euro per couple per night!!!!! Wow.

Room Tip: Suite or appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Simon F,
we thank you for your comment and for the nice compliments that you have made to our structure.
If you have occasion to return to Pienza we will be very happy to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This beautiful hotel was booked for us by a self-guided hiking tour company and was a lovely surprise. We enjoyed the huge suite, spacious very well-outfitted bathroom, good bathroom lighting, very helpful staff, the pool, outstanding breakfast and great location. This is kind of an upscale village that would be great for an extended stay. Regrettably, we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregorio, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence San Gregorio, responded to this review, January 4, 2016
Dear Customer,
thanks so much for your words. We are really pleased you enjoyed your trip in Pienza and your journey in San Gregorio Hotel. We hope you will choose again our Hotel in the future for your next tour in Val d'Orcia.
The Management Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here in August 2011 for one week. This is a great value, family-run, hotel in a wonderful location. The rooms were large and quiet, with air conditioning, but it would be great if the selection of TV channels was larger and the TV upgraded (for senior guests who might not go out too often). Parking is free in an underground parking lot behind the hotel (but the construction of the parking lot appears to be half-completed, which means it is quite dusty and not always clear to some guests where to park.)
Excellent breakfast is provided in the hotel restaurant at the rear of the restaurant. Hotel guests are given a 10% discount when dining at the restaurant in the evening.
There is free WiFi, but as bandwidth is limited it is sometimes hard to get a reliable connection.
The swimming pool is great for relaxing on hot days, although the buildings around the pool appear to be half-constructed. (Perhaps they will be completed next year?) Make sure you ask in advance when the pool will be closed for cleaning, to avoid disappointment.
In conclusion, this is a very nice, great value, hotel in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed at San Gregorio every May since 2006, and it has always been excellent. The staff has always been reliable and courteous, and the rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean. The location is great - only across the square to the entrance of the historic town center. The breakfast buffet is very good and the restaurant staff has always been very kind and efficient. The rooms are generally large and enjoy large windows for fresh air - I love hearing the tranquil doves of Pienza in the mornings!
BTW: I always stay with a group of 15-25 architecture students - the hotel is great for groups without feeling like a tourist trap. The staff is family and the business feels very local and cared for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvonMaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Friendly staff, nice rooms, great location. The attached restaurant is pretty good as well, and the swimming pool is great on hot days. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmaass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.1 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
3.1 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#6 of 7 in Pienza
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence San Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence San Gregorio

Property: Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Address: Via della Madonnina, 4, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence San Gregorio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence San Gregorio in Pienza is located within walking distance of the historic centre. Built on the ruins of an opera house of the 1930s, it is in perfect harmony with the elegance, grace and charm of the ideal Renaissance city. The choice between rooms, suites and apartments means you can tailor your holiday to best suite your needs: you can choose from spacious, nicely decorated and furnished rooms, romantic suites, or residences with kitchenette for those who want to feel at home without sacrificing the standards of a hotel. The Hotel Residence San Gregorio also offers the finest of Tuscan cuisine and a wide selection of wines at the Ristorante La Piazzetta, where you can try typical food, traditional dishes and local products. From breakfast to lunch, from aperitif to dinner, any time of the day is perfect for enjoying the culinary wealth of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Residence San Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing