We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for cyclists”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Podere Spedalone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Spedalone
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for cyclists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of a large road cycling group, and it was excellent. Rooms were comfortable, the pool and views was stunning, and the food was wholesome and plentiful. The hosts couldn't have been more welcoming.

Definately the best agroturismo we have stayed in, during our two-week holiday in Tuscany. You have to go there

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toby_Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    32
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
161
225
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

> The intent was to stay for one night, the end result was we stayed for two, but the truth? We were sorely tempted never to leave.
>
> The setting - a backdrop of dusty browns and parched yellow-greens. The rolling hills of Tuscany: flat and undulating save for the sparse trees and occasional stone building peppering the landscape. Sunsets spent sipping wine, watching the horizon bathed in pink and orange. Soul-soothing.
>
> The accommodation - more ascribed to being a 'place' rather than simply a building. A farmhouse which has undergone a beautiful restoration, creating a truly homely feel - sitting down to a 5 course, 'family' dinner at long, wooden tables as you laugh with and get to know other guests, amidst the exposed brickwork. Admiring the large kitchen filled with stainless steel appliances seen through clear, glass doors - and the culinary delights which appear from within. The furnishings which lend themselves to Spedalone's rustic charm have been given careful thought down to each, finite detail - but the result is still an effortless authenticity. There is a genuine atmosphere (ie the odd-shaped pumpkins used as table art/adornment)- nothing about the layout appears 'staged' or forced.

The rooms. When you are surrounded by beautiful countryside, the last thing you would probably want to do is stay inside, in your room. But if you had to do so, it would still be enjoyable. Our room was wonderfully large, clean, comfortable and the modern bathroom with an enormous spa bath was a pure delight.

The animals. A morning spent handling 10 day old chicks and an afternoon spent sitting on a hillside with Punto the hound watching the sun go down.. Tough life ;)

But the main reason we never wanted to leave? The people.

Allessandro was an exemplar host - helpful, conscientious, pre-emptive and extremely efficient. But the highlight of our stay was the oppotunity to meet Dario (the chef) and watch him operate in the kitchen. He was extremely accommodating and warm and gave us an insight into Tuscan cooking. We had a wonderful evening! Thank you Dario!

In summary? The setting and the accommodation were an aesthetic delight. But the people made it a truly amazing experience.

Could not recommend our stay more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissach111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spedalone is one of the most amazing agriturismo I visited. It is and old bulging full of history completely renovate. The silent countryside provides a quiet place to relax and de-stress. Rooms are very comfortable and large. Spedalone was a surprise far exceeding expectations. The food was very good too.

Room Tip: Group of friends, we suggest to choice the flat (2 or 3 rooms). it's a good experience. all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nestled in the Tuscan countryside is a great place to enjoy a wonderful meal and relax on an organic farm. Alessandro is a serious farmer who cares about the food he feeds you and your well being. Super meal, I'd love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pictures don't do this place justice. It is the most beautiful, serene and picturesque setting – I've never felt so relaxed. Surrounding you in every direction are rolling hills and olive trees. The rooms have been beautifully renovated, keeping a lot of the original character but upgraded to include modern amenities. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was incredible. All of it was homemade and comes from the property's farm.

But the best part was Alessandro. He runs the place as if each and every guest is a part of his family. He went above and beyond to make sure we had an amazing experience. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just had the pleasure of staying at a gem of an agriturismo in Tuscany. Spedalone is a restored building with an amazing history along an ancient pilgrimage route. It is set among acres of olive trees, a working garden and a breathtaking view of the countryside. A highlight of Spedalone is its manager, Alessandro, a warm and hospitable host, who is fluent in English, knowledgable about wine and the area and genuinely happy to help guests in any way. Don't miss the pizza night on Friday nights; delicious handmade pizzas cooked in the antique brick oven and eaten al frescoe in the courtyard. Many memories to take home!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Alessandro, Giancarlo and Dario were the most amazing hosts! It felt like we were at home.
The agriturismo is located in the most beautiful place, giving you a dream-like experience, surrounded by the gorgeous Tuscany landscape, it just couldn't be better. It exceeded by far all our expectations!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
15.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
19.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#3 of 61 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
5.9 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Spedalone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Spedalone

Property: Podere Spedalone
Address: Strada per Cosona, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Spedalone dates back to the 8th century, when it was a place of shelter for pilgrims bound for Rome, situated as it is on the Via Francigena, or Frankish Route. It nestles, perfectly at ease, among the Crete Senesi and, after strictly conservational restoration, begun in 2004 and completed in 2006, it is now the ideal spot for anyone wishing to refresh spirit, senses, mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Podere Spedalone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing