We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky and pricey”
Review of Podere Spedalone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Spedalone
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tricky and pricey”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

NOW I know where all the "Excellent" reviews come from: upon check-out you are prompted to submit a review on the web and you get a freebie which somehow evens any roughness you might have experienced. Neutrally speaking, I cannot argue the good ambiance, fresh food and hospitality. However, nobody mentions things like the wi-fi is not included (surprisingly billed at the end), or the horse-back riding is nowhere near to this place as advertised (they say it's a "5 minute drive", when it is actually 45 min on a dirt road). Overall, it was a good experience but the value is very low compared to similar agri-tourism options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peekay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poderespedalone, Proprietario at Podere Spedalone, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We are always happy to receive suggestions from our guests as this helps us to ameliorate our service.
The wifi charge (10 euros for the entire stay) is mentioned on our website; we require this charge because the satellite connection is very expensive and the landline provider is insufficient for good internet connection.
The horse-back-riding stables are in San Quirico, 12km from Spedalone, and not more than a 15 minute ride from Spedalone. We make reservations for our guests, and do send them off with a map along with directions. However, we regret that our guests experienced difficulties reaching the stables, and we will do our best to give clearer instructions to future guests.
We offer all our guests when they leave, a complimentary bottle of our Organic DOP extra virgin olive oil, a DVD with pictures of Spedalone, and a brochure. On the DVD cover we write “thanks for a mention on agriturismo.it or tripadvisor.com.” However, we will remove this from future covers since it seems to have been misunderstood. Meanwhile, we will continue to give our guests complimentary bottles of oil. We have received an increasing number of requests to mail our former guests additional bottles of our olive oil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    33
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
165
237
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
varese area, italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We "parked" the kids with their grandparents and escaped for three nights to this wonderful, luxurious farmhouse. During the day, we used it as a basis from which we did day trips to the towns in the neighbourhood like Pienza, wine tasting and hiking. In the evening, Giancarlo, the owner and cook, prepared delicious dishes with his own produce, and gave us the pleasure of his company during dinner.

The atmosphere is absolutely great, and the scenery is stunning. Hopefully the photos speak for themselves.

You would a car at your disposal to get the most out of your stay. Not the least to take home a decent stock of wonderful olive oil, produced at the farm.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ---Paul-Smits---
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you are looking for a peaceful retreat to spend some relaxing holidays amid gorgeous landscapes and top hospitality the way only Italians know it, this is the place! Thanks so much to the entire staff for their warm welcome!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlassis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Traveling alone, I spent six nights in Podere Spedalone. Spedalone is an olive farm with accommodations, near other sights in Tuscany, but blessedly quiet and off the beaten trail. Giancarlo and Nikki were perfect hosts, helpful in every way. They must attract intelligent, accomplished, and friendly guests, for mealtimes were pleasingly social without being intrusive. Having a drink outside wilth a wonderful vista next to olive trees was a high experience. I hope there will be another visit when my wife can travel with me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belp, Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent 14 wonderful days at Spedalone. We had an apartment to ourselves (the casina blu). The 1th century farmhouse and our cottage were lovingly restored and very nicely furnished. The farm is absolutely beautiful with fantasic views, and a quiet that is almost unimaginable. But what really made this place special was the hospitality from the owner Giancarlo, Niki and the team. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning with fresh farm eggs, freshly baked goods, fruit, homemade yoghurt, jams, juices, and hot drinks, etc. Dinners were offered on request, and they were even more spectacular than the breakfast. 5-6 course meals, family style, again using everything or almost everything from the farm, and prepared with passion. The conversations with the owners and many guests from all over the world were stimulating and fun. We felt like we were in one big family. Any advise or help we needed was easily and happily supplied by Giancarlo and co.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Podere Spedalone is truly a magical place. We spent five days there in early September 2011 and used it as a base for exploring sourthern Tuscany. The warm, familial hospitaity of Giancarlo and Niki pervades this charmingly renovated 15th Century farm making relaxing the primary goal of any day there. Giancarlo's cooking, with ingredients from the farm, is exceptional. His chocolate covered carmalized figs are out of this world and his own olive oil is wonderful. Both Giancarlo and Niki are filled with good advice on hill towns and villages to visit and places to taste wine and cheese. The views are spectacular and the sunsets overwhelming. Punto, the dog, welcomes all the guests and the guests' dogs with playful joy. The rooms are comfortable with, in our case, wonderful views of the Tuscan hills. A swimming pool and easy walks through the olive groves, geese and chickens welcoming the mornings, and Giancarlo's fresh bread all contribute to a fully relaxing and energizing stay. Go, turn yourself over to Giancarlo and Niki, and you will experience the best that rural Tuscany has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tuscan hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaoBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed podere spedalone for 3 days in August 2011 and it was a wonderful time for us. It gave us a complete silence and heartful hospitality.
We had a relaxed and happy time during our whole stay.
The master told us a lots of variable local information( recommended restaurants,
winery, cheese factory) and they were all excellent!!!

In addition, there is a clever dog, named "Punto". He is so friendly for all the guests. I
We took a walk with Punto every morning and it was so great time.

We would like to say many thanks to the master and Punto and hope that we will visit there again in near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
15.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
407 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
19.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
719 reviews
6.7 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Spedalone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Spedalone

Property: Podere Spedalone
Address: Strada per Cosona, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Spedalone dates back to the 8th century, when it was a place of shelter for pilgrims bound for Rome, situated as it is on the Via Francigena, or Frankish Route. It nestles, perfectly at ease, among the Crete Senesi and, after strictly conservational restoration, begun in 2004 and completed in 2006, it is now the ideal spot for anyone wishing to refresh spirit, senses, mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Spedalone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing