We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNIQUELY ENJOYABLE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena
Ranked #8 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We concur with all the positive Tripadvisor reviews about Agriturismo Sant'Anna. The serene, no-frills ambience appeals to anyone looking for a getaway respite. Who would miss electronics at this place amidst the captivating beauty of the Val d'Orcia area in Tuscany? It offers refreshment in nature, history, art, hospitality - and supremely good cuisine.

Ornella manages every aspect of the B&B and takes care of guests' requests with efficiency and good humor. Ask her anything about this region and she will share her extensive knowledge directing you to the best destinations. We liked meandering around the interior of this former monastery with its venerable old church, Sadoma frescoed refectory, vaulted ceilinged corridors and dininghalls - all giving us a tangible sense of far past times. Even the bedrooms were reminiscent of monks' quarters, although ours was comfortably modernized with a small ensuite bath. The tantalizing aromas wafting from the updated original kitchen hint at the delicious dinners prepared by Ornella and her mother. They are reasonably priced including wine and amicably served on long tables, the pretty settings well spaced for privacy. A typical Italian breakfast is presented likewise, accompanied with exceptional cappuccino.

The outside courtyard is full of lemon trees and bougainvillea - perfect for reading, painting the lush scenery or just relaxing. Paths in the surrounding natural landscape beckon walkers to go out into the countryside. It was poppy season while we were there in May and it was such a delight to see the fields ablaze with them.

Locally we explored the charming quiet village of Castelmuzio and only five minutes' drive away picturesque Pienza; made day trips to Cortona, Castiglione del Lago, Montepulciano and off-the-beaten-track Montechiello; revisited Sant'Antimo abbey (again memorable for the devotional chanting in luminous light) and toured the renown gardens of La Foce - all very pleasurable experiences.

We were always happy, though, to head back to the warm hospitality of Sant'Anna's and an interlude of leisure - looking forward to what the home cooked meal would be and watching the lovely sunset descend behind the looming hills....

Highly recommended. -

Elaine and Joe

Room Tip: Request a view side room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homeoncape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 299 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my first stay at Sant'Anna in Camprena and I can't wait to go back again. The apartments, garden and view to the Toscana landscape are amazing and beautiful. Breakfast and dinner was very delicious. From the first moment Ornella and Stefano surround us friendly, attentive hospitality, we felt like we know them since long time. We greatly enjoyed our stay at Sant'Anna in Camprena ! There is just one thing I want to - It's come back to Sant'Anna in Camprena again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindaugas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

For five glorious days we experienced the tranquility and beauty of this historic Tuscan monastery surrounded by the most magnificent countryside anywhere. The bells! The bells! At breakfast and dinner time the beautiful bells of the church's bell tower are sounded for the few privileged guests to come and dine in the 16th century dining room. Service is impeccable, and intimate. The six course dinners are to die for - and we know good food!! My children left their electronics and stepped into the world of butterfly and ladybug catching. They drew pictures of the lemon trees in the garden and ate freshly picked fruits. I let them (6 and 7) run freely in this safe, quiet, glorious place. They loved discovering the graveyard! As a world traveler, I can now say I have a favorite place in this category. I will say that it was a bit hot during the day. There was a heat wave and we took three showers a day. There is no air conditioner in the rooms. The shady spots were perfect. Sit in the garden and drink red wine and take in the beauty.

Room Tip: All are good. I like the apartments because they have a kitchen or kitchen equipment. We buy chees...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miamibeach33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I can't think of a more tranquil and charming place to experience Tuscany. We spent three memorable days here at the end of a 2-week trip to Italy, and it was the perfect setting to put everything in perspective. From the lemon and fig trees on the terrace to the unspoiled views of the Tuscan landscape to Sodoma's frescos in the refectory, the history and beauty of Italy rolled out before us.

Our rooms were simply furnished but appealing, and we relied on the breeze to cool us at night. The dinners included many traditional Tuscan dishes -- and all were delicious. Don't miss them!

Our thanks go out to Ornella and Stefano, who were gracious and friendly hosts. We look forward to our return!

Room Tip: Our rooms on the West side were pleasant and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

An amazing place to stay and relax and enjoy the wonderful areas in Tuscany. I would suggest it to anyone who is ready to get out of the heat and hustle and bustle of Rome or Florence. It is well worth the drive, just get directions before you leave!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wonderful 5 days, much too short, peaceful and quiet, excellent cooking, beautiful location... we will return! And last not least Ornella e Stefano - mille grazie!
Just one little wish: a real cappuccino for breakfast would make it perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Sant'Anna in Camprena truly is a special place with its quiet location overlooking the Tuscan hills, the ancient buildings surrounding a peaceful garden with rosemary bushes, roses, lemon, peach and almond trees, under the Tuscan sun, surrounded by rolling hills and solitude.
It truly is a magical place.
The rooms are basic, yet spacious, charming and very clean; the food, especially the dinners are a real treat not to be missed and Ornella and Stefano are among the most welcoming people I've ever had the honor to meet!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pienza hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
3.8 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
6.8 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#3 of 62 in Pienza
456 reviews
5.6 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
0.6 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena

Address: localita Sant'Anna in Camprena, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pienza
Price Range: $96 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Sant`Anna In Camprena Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing