We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Brandano
Nearby Hotels
La Locanda di Montisi(San Giovanni d'Asso)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rotelle(Torrita di Siena)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$188
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence San Gregorio(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$120
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Chiostro di Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
$63
$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Convento B&B(Torrita di Siena)
$100
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
333
11
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
11
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 348 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We can only confirm the previous reviews: excellent welcome and a servicestandard full of efficiency and kindness.

We reserved a stay of 5 nights but, due to unforeseen illness, had to cutshort our trip after the first night only.
In fact, we were prepared to pay
a cancellation fee due to the short notice cancellation of the remainder of our stay but were only requested to pay the first night's accommodation.

Next year, when we return to Europe, one of our principal goals will be to revisit this charming and welcoming hotel.

Karin and Paul

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BethAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

It is hard to describe the experience of a stay at Palazzo Brandano as it really is something very special. My husband and I have had the experience of staying in many top class hotels around the world for business and pleasure but the level of personal service and attention here is second to none.
The hotel is small and beautifully decorated, with wonderful frescoes and Tuscan decor. The jacuzzi bath was also very welcome after a day of exploring the Tuscan countryside!
But it is the staff that make this place so special. From the moment we arrived we were SO well looked after by Ousmane, Juergen and Massimo, all of whom can not do enough for you. Ousmane's maps each morning over breakfast helped us plan our days and he, Juergen and/or Massimo were always there to welcome us whatever time we returned.
The food is also very special. Nicola is a very talented young chef and our evening meals were a pleasure. We were in the hotel 5 nights and ate there 4 of them as the food was so great and why would you want to leave? We thought we should just venture out one night!
We use Tripadvisor regularly and have unearthed some fantastic hotels through the site, this one included. We are also aware of the outlying comments you sometimes read and need to be careful of when everyone else is so complimentary - there is one of those related to Palazzo Brandano. We can not comment on someone else's experience of course but I would say a couple of things. Yes you do really need a car in Petroio and that is true of the Tuscan countryside all round I would suggest to get the most of it - if you want a city break choose Florence, Rome or Siena. And yes the car park is in the village but there is ample parking and since this is a hill top village and the roads were made for horses, not cars, one can not really expect the 100 space car park on the front of the Marriott....it is a 2 minute walk that is all and the hotel will drop off and pick up your car for you if you ask (or even if you don't).
We can not say enough good things about Palazzo Brandano. We went for a 5 night short break to relax and be looked after and that is exactly what we got. We would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NewlywedsSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We spent two nights at Palazzo Brandano in early April 2007 during a trip through Italy by train with our 13 year old son and 11 year old daughter. We learned of the hotel by searching the internet. My wife and I have stayed at many hotels for work and leisure over the years, but never before have we been moved to write a review until we stayed at Palazzo Brandano. Our stay there was among our finest, most memorable, hotel experiences ever. The hotel is in a beautifully renovated 900 year old building decorated with frescoes and showing great attention to every detail. The hotel is located in Petroio--a small and picturesque hilltop village of about 400 residents. No tour buses here. The hotel staff clearly loves what they do. We were on first name basis with them within minutes of being picked up at the train station by Joergen, and graciously welcomed at the hotel by the manager, Ousmane. After settling in, we had a wonderful dinner in the hotel dining room, served with enthusiasm, expert guidance, and humor by Massimo. Over drinks after dinner, we discussed what we would like to do the next day and the staff offered suggestions. Ousmane arranged for us to go horseback riding at a location about 30 minutes away, but the next day greeted us with rain so, instead, my wife and children spent the morning in the kitchen with the hotel chef, Nicola, learning Tuscan cooking. This turned out to be a real treat as Nicola is a truly fine chef and, being young and enthusiastic, he had a great rapport with the kids. The morning also included a walk to the village bakery with Nicola. After lunch, Joergen drove us to see the area sights, including the monastery a few minutes away where the movie “The English Patient” was filmed; Pienza (beautiful but a reminder of how different a touristy destination is than Petroio); and finally, Montepulciano, where Joergen dropped us off for an evening of sightseeing, shopping and dinner. Ousmane had made dinner reservations for us at a small but very lively local restaurant in Montepulciano that was perfect for a family with kids (or without). We probably would not have found this place on our own, and we were enthusiastically greeted by the proprietor—a real character—when he heard that we were the family that Ousmane had sent. The next day was my wife’s birthday (which I had briefly mentioned on our arrival) and the hotel staff greeted us with small tarts baked by Nicola arranged on a platter with “Happy Birthday” written in chocolate. Leaving this place really felt like leaving home. This was an unexpected pleasure that the whole family agreed was a highlight—perhaps the highlight—of our entire trip.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PacPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We spent three nights at the lovely Palazzo Brandano in July of 2006. The Palazzo is in the tiny village of Petroio. We were warmly welcomed by Ousmane, the hotel's manager, who looked after us during our entire stay.
Our room was spacious, luxurious, immaculate and beautifully decorated. There were frescoes, terracotta floors, travertine tiles and wooden beams throughout the hotel. The Palazzo itself is high on a hill, surrounded by olive groves. The hotel was a good base for us to visit the charming towns of Siena, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, and the nearby thermal springs.
Even more impressive than the Palazzo itself was the service. We were treated like royalty from the time we entered the hotel. Ousmane arranged an outstanding cooking class for us in Chianti and gave us wonderful advice about things to do in the surrounding areas. The day after we left, our travelling companions realized they had left something at the hotel. Ousmane found the item and, the same day, on his day off, drove to Pienza where we were spending the afternoon to bring it to us. He went above and beyond the call of duty.
Breakfast was not only beautifully presented, but also delicious. The two dinners we had at the hotel were also excellent.
We stayed at five different hotels in Italy and Palazzo Brandano was, by far, the most memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scarlettLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

I agree with several points previously mentioned. The hotel is beautiful, the service very personal, Osmone was very helpful and provided us with several extras to make our stay more enjoyable. The food was good and very nicely presented, although we only had breakfast. The things I wish I had known beforehand: the hotel is 1 hour from Siena and at least 30 min from any other town worth visiting. They are the only hotel/restaurant in the town which IS charming but Petroio really has nothing of note to do so you need to drive for everything. The parking lot is shared with the town and is hit or miss. There are MANY more convenient places to stay that are just as beautiful if not more due to their more country-like setting. The worst thing is that our last day at the hotel someone either went through or "dropped" our suitcase in the room because it was closed and neatly packed when we left and in complete dissaray when we returned with a very expensive cosmetic kit completely destroyed. I mean cracked, latch brioken, inside shelves cracked off their hinges. Ruined. We felt bad about mentioning it to Osmone as he had been so nice but bottom line is what happened was wrong. We were shocked by his response which was to state he would ask housekeeping and get back to us with a solution. He never again mentioned it forcing my wife to ask again re: resolution. He said "Oh she said she didn't do it" No apology, no recompense, nothing. This breech of our trust, having someone paw through our things and nothing done about somehting so obviously wrong was a horrible lapse in customer service to say the least. I could never trust the hotel again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank beachatti2ude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews