We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that is your own private villa”
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Brandano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hotel that is your own private villa”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Off the beaten track but centrally located to the larger and more touristy hillstop towns, the Palazzo Brendano caters to those wanting privacy, solitude, and romance. No swimming pools, no planned activities, and no dressing up allows guests to once again sync up with their own natural rhythms from which to enjoy life and a loved one's company.

The Palazzo Brendano became our own private villa and Ousemane, Laura, and the others were never intrusive but always at hand to address our every want and need.

We are grateful for their hospitality.

Room Tip: The Michaelangelo suite is fantastico! and well worth the small additional expense. Any room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
198
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I traveled there with a group of French and American friends. We felt so welcome and we appreciated Ousmane's facility with languages. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. The food was marvelous and the wine selection was excellent.

A fabulous time was had by all and we can't wait to come back.
Mary

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Palazzo Brandano was our best find on our trip through Italy. It is conveniently located near some wonderful cities, the view from the terrace in our room was magnificant and the staff was extremely attentive. Ousmane went out of his way to make our experience one to remember. We had a fantastic meal, some of which we helped to make during our cooking class at Il Brandano. We will return some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuscanyTraveler_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastleigh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had an excellent meal and were looked after so well by Ousmane and his staff. The whole ambiance of the surroudings and the great food and wines were fantastic. Well done and we hope to return. Liz and Matt

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewEastleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We just came back from a week-long vacation in Tuscany and we fell in love with the hotel right away! The hotel location is in the middle of the gorgeous countryside of Tuscany, overlooking olive fields and Tuscan hills, on a quiet local streets up on a hill. The views from terrace and our room were stunning! We were so taken by the views and were able to relax instantly. The hotel building is a beautiful rustic converted Tuscan farmhouse full of character, but yet well-equipped with air-conditioning and is beautifully furnished. We frequently stay at 5 star hotels and we were extremely impressed by the quality of the beatifully decorated rooms, cleanliness, and great sleep quality during our entire stay.

Ousmane and staff delivered impeccable service, from the moment we entered the door on day 1! Ousmane's sincereity and personal attention to every detail customed to every guest's needs made us feel right at home, as if he was hosting us at his own home! I'm pregnant and have different dietary needs and everything was taken care of beautifully, from breakfast, to suggestions to our daily excursions, restaurant recommendations in each town nearby, olive/vinyard visits, to the moment we came back to the hotel for pre-dinner drinks and gourmet dinner, Ousmane was there to ensure top quality service was delivered. Like a previous guest said, "Nothing is too much trouble" for him. We certainly had received 5-star treatment here. It's no surprise why Gérard Depardieu would go back every year to Tuscany staying at this hotel.

Sleep quality is amazing, perfectly comfortable bed and high quality beddings. Bathrooms are beautifully lit with an excellent shower (great water pressure) and jacuzzi tub. Everything we would expect at a 5-star quality hotel.

Parking is also convenient with a dedicated walk path that is just a few seconds away. Parking lot is well-lit and open and can be seen from hotel so it's perfectly secure.

Food quality was also outstanding. Breakfast with freshly baked pastries and fresh authentic local parma ham that melts in the mouth. Dinner is gourmet style serving only the most fresh daily ingredients from local markets.

We are so impressed by this hidden gem in the heart of Tuscan countryside and have already planned on making it one of our annual vacation stops. Looking forward to going back already!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0ckerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went to Italy for 12 days with our three teenage daughters. We stayed at Palazza Brandano for 2 days and 2 nights. The hotel was magical and the service was incredible. The manager, Ousmane, was indescribable. I cannot even describe how welcoming and warm he was. We had a wonderful cooking lesson and a magnificent dinner overlooking the sunset and hills of Tuscany, He arranged a private wine tasting at a fabulous vineyard for my husband and I and let our teenage daughters relax in the morning, made them lunch and drove them to the hot springs and took them for ice cream. There is no question that this kind of service could not be found anywhere in the world. Ousmane was charming and my daughters loved him. If you plan on travelling to Tuscany, you CANNOT miss the opportunity to stay at Palazza Brandano and have Ousmane as your host. We are looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Every room was lovely and large even by US standards. Each room was different and the bathrooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brereton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions and eaten here too. It is the most beautiful and romantic spot. Nothing is too much trouble and I wonder if Ousmane ever goes home! He is such a good host. We got engaged here and later returned with our dog. We had the suite with the separate staircase and our dog was made welcome too. It is a very special experience to stay here. Try it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggandtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petroio
4.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
18.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
416 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
5.8 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#5 of 28 in Montepulciano
387 reviews
13.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Property: Palazzo Brandano
Address: Via Val Gelata 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brandano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Brandano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing