We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you will talk about when you reminisce about your Italian vacation!”
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Brandano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Palazzo Brandano (PB) and the incredible staff created a very memorable stay for my new husband and me during the Tuscan portion of our honeymoon in Italy. We wanted to have a 'home base' for part of our trip which was bookended by Rome and Venice, and we booked 5 nights at PB after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were more than satisfied with our experience and once again, found great consistency with what we had read and what was actual.

The staff was incredibly professional, hospitable and sincerely intertested in creating a cozy atmosphere for you. They were there when you needed something, be it a glass of prosecco or directions to a nearby town, but not overbearing...just appropriate and helpful.

We had rented a car and I highly recommend doing this as it gives you most flexibility if you want to drive the countryside and explore
the quaint towns. Don't rent a large car though! With the ability to go anywhere we chose, we did that during most days. Montepulciano was our favorite little town. Back to the reasoning behind the rental
car comments...we could have dined anywhere, and we did for a few lunches during a few of the days while we were out exploring and one night, but overall, including the meals we had in Rome, Florence and Venice, the meals created by Chef at PB and his assistant, Aurelia, were the best. It is truly an opportunity to dine at PB and we took advantage of the opportunity on several occasions. We also took the cooking class and it was definitely one of our honeymoon highlights.
Not only do you enjoy the multiple-course meal after you have prepared part of it (Chef & Aurelia plate it and take care of the final preparations), but you are able to learn from someone who is passionate and gifted at his profession. We have such an appreciation
for homeade pasta now after rolling noodles. What else would I have liked to know...hmmm...
-Petroio is beautiful, quaint & quiet so I was very happy that it was close to many other cities, and that we had the rental car, or it might have been too quiet for us.
-Breakfast is included in your rate (we booked our stay by emailing PB)
As they say, the cream rises to the top, and this cream will surface in your conversations about Italy after you've experienced Palazzo Brandano.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cravingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 348 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

My partner and I just spent three nights at the Palazzo Brandano. We had an upgraded room with a Romeo balcony, beautiful furnishings, and excellent bath and were just delighted with the whole experience. The village is really tiny and quaint and the views from all around it are quintessential Tuscany. We had breakfast every morning on the terrace overlooking the farms and fields and with only the sounds of nature. The staff were so helpful and friendly....we relied on their advice for everything, including what to eat in the excellent restaurant. We could have stayed a month and certainly will be planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

My husband and I honeymooned in Tuscany and Umbria at the beginning of August for a week and a half. We spent two nights at Palazzo Brandano toward the end of our trip and completely loved every moment. Upon arrival we were greeted by Ousmane who made us feel welcome and at home immediately. He lead us to the back terrace to relax with a glass of wine while our luggage was brought to our room, which they upgraded. The room was wonderful and very comfortable with a great view and 1.5 bathrooms. The first night Ousmane made reservations for us at a lovely restaurant in the nearby town Montefalco. When we returned after dinner we met Joergen who brought us a fantastic dessert wine and then Ousmane appeared with the bet sorbet we have ever had.
The next morning we had a great breakfast and then went to the kitchen to start our cooking class. It was just my husband and I along with the two chefs and Ousmane (who was kind to translate for us) the class was wonderful we learned to make an assortment of dishes from salad to dessert with everything in between (fried zucchini flowers, ribollita, duck...) it was amazing and so much fun. The two chefs were incredibly nice, not to mention fantastic cooks, very patient as we tried to roll out the pici pasta. After the class we sat on the beautiful back terrace to enjoy our incredible five course meal we helped to prepare. Ousmane brought each course to us and made us feel like royalty starting the meal with prosecco moving onto white wine, then to red, delicious dessert wines then finishing with cappuccinos. The most decadent lunch we have had. Afterwards we drove to Montepulciano where we bought and enjoyed plenty of wine as well as watched an amazing sunset over the hillside. We then went to Trequanda and had fantastic pizzas at Pizza Paradisio another great recommendation by Ousmane.
The next morning we checked out with the intent of returning to Palazzo Brandano next time we travel to Tuscany. The staff is truly amazing, they all made us feel welcome as soon as we walked through the doors. Ousmane was especially great, always taking the time to give directions and suggestions that were perfect. He shared the last of his wonderful wine with us and when we were in the cooking class made pesca sorbet in the "Paco Jet" because we had earlier said how we loved peaches.
This is a very special place. The town of Petroio is beautiful and charming as well as being a great location for day trips to so many places in Tuscany. Do make sure to have a car when you go, it is the best way to enjoy Tuscany.
Palazzo Brandano- Perfecto!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SibbyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We stayed at Palazzo Brandano for 3 days July 2-5, 2007. What a beautiful place. The staff were bending over backwards to help you with anything. They make reservations for dinner, the train, winery tours or anything else. The building has been remodelled and is gorgeous! Ancient but with all the latest technology. The lighting is exqisite. The breakfast was whatever you would like (light or full). The little town of Petrio is sweet but you will need a car to get around the region. Our children (11 and 13) loved it and were treated like kings.
We would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarrieBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

This inn has only been open for about a yr, but it will soon become a hot property to book. The staff, Joergen, Massimo, Osumane & Loretta provide a one of a kind experience. Nestled in the tiny village of Petroio, the inn has about 10 rms, each maginificently appointed with views over the Tuscan hill side. Easy access to quaint villages such as Montelcino, Montepulicano, Montefullonico, Sinalunga, etc. Let the staff pick out your evening dinner reservation....always perfect! And dine at least one night on site to experience a beautiful meal at Palazzo Brandano. Go here only if you have a car and like to explore country villages. If you want nightlife, bars, hotspots, and no car travel, stay away...this is not for you...But if you want to have a treat and truly experience Tuscano, you will not be dissapointed. We loved it and wish we could have stayed longer!!!

Bravo! Palazzo Brandano.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BillyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Ousmane, Massimo and Jorgen, thank you for one of the most memorable experiences we've ever had in our travels. Visiting Palazzo Brandano was like "coming home" to our own palace in a beautiful Tuscan village - and we can't wait to return! Everything from the rooms, to the grounds, to the glorious food, to the impeccable service - it was all perfect. We especially enjoyed the evening that you introduced us to some of the village's residents during one of their festivals. So memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ArwenUndomiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

The staff and hotel surpassed our expectations. That was actually hard to do after reading all of the glowing trip advisor recommendations. We expected this hotel to be the highlight of our two week Italian vacation, and it was.

Upon arriving at the tiny town of Petroio we were warmly and graciously greeted by Ousmane. He moved us to the terrace where we were seated and allowed to relax with a wonderful glass of Tuscan wine. It was very clear that we were going to be taken care while we were his guests. The lunch that followed was the best we had on our trip. We met chef Nicola and arranged for a cooking class. We had our best dinner of the trip that evening.

After we got settled in we asked Massimo about biking or horseback riding. He quickly helped us figure out what we wanted to do and made us reservations to ride horses that afternoon. In the morning we met Jorgen, Aurelia and Laura. They were equally warm and welcoming. Clearly everyone there was very helpful and wanting to make our stay as good as it possibly could be.

The hotel is newly constructed in an ancient building in this small hill town. The décor and furnishings are lovely. The small town is quaint and within easy drives to many interesting and diverse Tuscan hill towns. The property lives up to the website and the glowing reports on trip advisor. We would highly recommend the hotel, but even more important we really appreciate how much the small staff worked so hard to make our stay special. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mountain_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petroio
7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,211 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
691 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
259 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range: $367 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brandano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing