We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan vacation at Agroturismo Podere Dell Anselmo, Montespertoli close to Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo
Ranked #2 of 15 Montespertoli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tuscan vacation at Agroturismo Podere Dell Anselmo, Montespertoli close to Florence”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Sehr schön! Very nice! Multo bello!

This multilingually-staffed B&B is located on a hillside, below an equestrian park, and surrounded by vinyards.
It also offers suppers with ample home wine & sherry, and provides cooking courses.
Meals are served and parties are held in very convivial al fresco surroundings of the multi-arched lounge placed above the wine cellar, by the large pool, or at the terrace located just of the villa building.

Dell Anselmo will appeal to families, couples, and singles seeking some company.
Thanks to Fabrizio, Seigrunde, and Giulia. Our two couple group received excellent attention in the week before grape-harvest (early Sept. 2013) at the Virginia apartment and the dining and service were excellent. Some apartments ajoin onto others for larger accomodations that are three-star grade and clean. Air conditioning was very appreciated.

The hot tub was not operational when we were there, but would benefit travellers once the Tuscan heat is lacking on a autumn morning.
Cyclists would be best off to avoid attempting to use the house-supplied equipment which is offered free of charge.
Serious riders will need RED BULL to tackle the sandy hillsides or Strada Provinciale del Virginio Wine Route, which is fairly narrow with minimal shoulders.
Horse-back lessons and riding are just uphill from Podere Dell Anselmo.

You'll want to obtain the GPS coordinates before trying to arrive there. It is located about one hour from Pisa, and less than half an hour from Firenze. Suggest that you email info@forconi.net to request precise directions, as the right-angle approach from tiny Anselmo along the Wine Route is easy to miss even during the daytime. The single-lane sand road called Via Anselmo Panfi is bridge-connected to Anselmo and several hundred meters uphill.

Getting there, we enjoyed the secondary roads passing by Sambuca and Chianti villages, Siena, and Orvieto.
Our road trip from Sorrento coast took over 10 hours, since we chose to exit the north-bound A1 early.
Arrival in late afternoon is recommended - call ahead. Our arrival was in time for the evening meal (7:30-8 pm start according to local custom). A couple of nearby hillside restaurants offer great sunset views and local ambience where you can try to practice speaking Italian when ordering your food or beverages.

Florence is a convenient day trip drive, starting from the nearby Ginestra "chariot way".
Park at the COOP store en route, and transfer to a tram car.
Lucca and San Gimignano make for interesting roller-coaster drives and offer hair-pin curves en route.
La Spezia - a Coast Guard port town - is about two hours away for those venturing to check out Cinque Terre by car.

Home wine and olive oil can be purchased, and many happy memories were made.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuckie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    22
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at Podere Dell'Anselmo in Montespertoli, Italy. I spent a week at this beautiful villa just outside Florence!! I was traveling alone but never felt lonely or alone. Fabrizio, Giulia and everyone there could not do enough for me. I was not feeling well the first 2 days and they cooked plain pasta and soup especially for me. I chose to eat dinner at the villa, and all of the guests sat together with owner Fabrizio and had dinner like one big happy family. Which is exactly how I felt..Each night was filled with delicious food, wine from their vineyard and great conversation. I took three cooking classes with Chef Laura. We cooked many delicious recipes and had lots of fun. The accomodations were beautiful and as a woman traveling alone, I felt very comfortable. My tours of Pisa, Luca, San Gimignano & Voltera were amazing. My driver Giovanni was also very good. His passion for his country was wonderful and he supplied me with many interesting facts about each city. He even helped me with my Italian language lessons. Lauren at Cooking Vacations.com recommended this "Tuscan Traveler's Dream" vacation for me and it was perfect..5 star. Very highly recommended. Thank you to Lauren and Podere Dell'Anselmo for a very memorable vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaL39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want to stay on a genuine, working agriturismo in Tuscany, you'll enjoy Podere dell'Anselmo! This farm is just about a 25 minute drive south of Florence, out in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, surrounded by vineyard- and olive grove-covered hills.

The staff here made us feel very welcome and everyone was very friendly and hospitable! We stayed in the "Maria" apartment, which was very large and had a nice view looking out toward the pool from the terrace. The kitchen was adequate, but note that due to the fact that this a farm (with horses but a few hundred yards away), there were a lot of flies. We did manage to eat outdoors on the terrace many times, but the flies did drive us inside many more. It wasn't unbearable, so don't let it deter you, just an annoyance that shouldn't reflect poorly on this B&B at all.
We enjoyed watching the owners make wine from their own grapes, and we were excited to bring home a couple bottles each of their wine and olive oil. They do have a restaurant on site if you don't want to cook for yourself your whole stay.
We enjoyed walking around the area, going horseback riding and visiting some of the other Tuscan towns. Overall a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Took the kids there for a morning horse ride, arranged at the last minute very amenably, with transfer to and from our hotel nearby. Beautiful setting. The hotelier, Fabrizio, was happy to organize a "light" lunch to follow the riding. It was far more than a little antipasto, though: the usual meats, bread and cheese followed by a sublime pasta with wild boar ragu. With our lunch and riding hosts joining us around the dining table on the terrace to talk about wine, food, local and international life, it was a wonderfully casual and comfortable meal. World class hospitality in a marvelous setting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Laflechere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We visited Podere dell'Anselmo in August last year and it was absolutely beautiful! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful... and gave us advice on visiting different places in Tuscany. We had the most incredible room (separate from the house) with amazing views. We got to join in the celebrations for Fabrizio's daughters birthday... which was lovely. We also did the horse riding and cooking class which were both great. We had an Italian cooking teacher and a translator... In the evenings when we didn't eat out, we ate with the other guests and Fabrizio... an incredible 5 course meal with wine tasting included... for a brilliant price... you could't get this anywhere else... Fabrizio explained the different wines we tried - all made there, which you could buy for a discounted price. There is also a pool with the most incredible views... it was a bit too cold to swim when we were there, but we did lie by the pool in the sun one day and it was so peaceful. I love this place and think about it regularly... we definitely want to go back one day and try and take some people with us so that they can experience what we did too...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitianSaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

From the check-in to the check-out the family of staff was all smiles. After our week at Podere dell'Anselmo we were sad to leave the charm and warmth of the magnificent estate. Fabrizio was the best host I have ever encountered in all of my travels. The food was delicious and ever-plentiful. The chianti was estate grown and plum-good. If I ever return to Tuscany, Podere dell'Anselmo will be my first stop.
There is no other way I would have liked to spend my honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wspanic48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We were twice at Podere dell'Anselmo - in September 2007 and September 2008. Despite of not being able to meet the one-year-back criteria for review, want to share my experience.
We came to travel around Tuscany to see -on our own eyes- the cultural sights from the "musts" we have read about to the unknown villages with real gems in their small churches. That is why we did not make use much of the capabilities of the podere available except the bedroom, bathroom and kitchen for self-catered breakfast ;-)
(Since that time we visited Tuscany once more and Umbria as well).
At Podere dell'Anselmo we were completely satisfied with the facility itself and with Fabrizio's hospitality.
Tips:
don't miss the traditional local Italian dinner (once or twice a week)
don't miss Fabrizio's local Chianti and grapa
Tip for visiting Firenze:
leave your car at Galuzzo, (for example at via Volterana), buy a bus ticket (at newspaper shop) for appr 1,1€ and get off where needed - the bus comes from south, passes Bobolil Gardens, Ognisanti, Santa Maria Novella. You will save nerves and money for parking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir_Thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montespertoli
4.7 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
198 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
744 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#2 of 9 in Montespertoli
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo Divino
Borgo Divino
#1 of 15 in Montespertoli
86 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
#3 of 34 in Montespertoli
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo

Property: Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo
Address: Loc. Anselmo Via Anselmo Panfi 12 | Montespertoli, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "PODERE DELL'ANSELMO" is a family run wine and horse resort situated in the midst of the magnificent Tuscan countryside. Here, rows of cypress crown the ridges of the surrounding hills, where ancient castles look out over the renewed vineyards around Montespertoli. The Villa The private villa has recently been restored respecting its old-world charm, but adding modern comforts. Set on a working vineyard, the property is surrounded by rolling green Tuscan hills in the heart of Montespertoli. The Forconi family has operated its vineyards since the 19th century, specializing in the Chianti "Podere dell'Anselmo" wine. The produced wines are long-lived and are examples of the best in the Chianti wine region, thanks to the family's knowledge and expertise. Tradition and old family customs merge with modern winemaking technologies, to yield nearly 50,000 bottles a year. These are distributed with the authentic "Podere dell'Anselmo" label. The prize-winning Tuscan Red wine "PAX" from Podere dell'Anselmo boasts the Gold Medal, awarded at Mundus Vini in 2014 and several award in all around the world. At the estate is produced also an excellent extra virgin olive oil, which has received several awards for the high quality. Enjoy Tuscany with all senses.. Join Fabrizio at the family estate, a beautiful farmhouse villa located in the heart of the Tuscan countryside. The Tuscan cooking classes, held in the villa's private kitchen, are carried out following typical recipes from the Florence area under the direction of Chef Simonetta. The entire staff, along with Fabrizio and his family, welcome you to the "Podere" for a memorable Tuscan experience in the heart of Chianti. The stay at the family estate will be laso a cultural experience visiting cities like Florence, the city of the Renaissance, Siena, the medieval city of art and romance, Pisa, with its Leaning Tower, and San Gimignano, the town of fine towers. Private excursions through the Tuscan hills will show you the winding roads crossed by sunflowers fields, vineyards and ancient castles of bygone days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Podere DellAnselmo Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing