We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GRAND VIEW FROM A QUAINT ROOM - SPELLBOUND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Fonti a San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Fonti a San Giorgio
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
932 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“GRAND VIEW FROM A QUAINT ROOM - SPELLBOUND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We got in to Florence a night earlier than planned. Our villa in Lucardo was available the next day. Our hosts recommended we try this place and forwarded us Trip Advisor details. The website information looked too good to be true. We thought a night cannot hurt and made the reservation.

We loved EVERYTHING about the place, the Team that served us with such warmth that we were really sorry we were there for such a short stay. When our hosts came to pick us up, we proudly showed them the property, as if it was ours. The owner, Piera Giovanneli was excellent and explained the details of the property and we decided the next reunion with friends or family, we are coming back for sure. A Paradise

Room Tip: There are apartments and rooms. The building we were in had rooms of different themes and the locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a little gem of a place. Peaceful, elegant and a wonderful place to stay and explore Tuscany. Everyone there was so friendly and helpful. Food was good and plenty of it and an opportunity to try their wine. It was my very first taste of red wine and I enjoyed it. The views are amazing, the sunsets even better. The hotel was just lovely, bedrooms spacious and clean. The perfect place to relax and unwind. Would love the chance to revisit one day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

It takes determination and a sense of adventure to get to Le Fonti a San Giorgio. It is an agriturismo set in the midst of vineyards at the end of a dirt track with spectacular views across impressive Tuscan countryside. If peace and quiet is what you need, this is for you. The food, locally sourced, is plentiful and tasty and complimented by wine from the local vineyard. What more do you want? The accommodation is clean and comfortable. The well-maintained grounds are colourful and spacious - enough to find your own corner. To cool down you have 2 pools. The staff are friendly, polite, professional and courteous and, if you are brave enough to practise your Italian, patient. Now that we have found it we'll not be strangers to Le Fonti a San Giorgio. Thank you to everyone for making our visit memorable. A più tardi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoP43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having been to Italy enough to know what is worth the money, if you feel this place is expensive, go to the Salento, or Calabria where the prices are lower. The Chianti here is excellent, and the people are very friendly. If you want action, disco etc go to Florence or Siena; if you prefer quiet, authentic, high-quality Toscana, this is it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitzenwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I've been to Italy for the first time in my life. Since we live somewhat nearby it's not quite such a hassle to visit as it is for you guys living abroad :). I went with my wife and parents.

I'd like to share some of our experiences in Italy, so be sure to check my other reviews as well!

Le Fonti a San Giorgio is an agriturismo. That's italian for a farm that also has rooms to offer to accommodate visitors.
We took an airplane to Milan. From there we drove to Florence, Tuscany via Autostrade (highway with tollbooths). Once near Florence we left the Autostrade and turned to a regular highway. After that we left the highways and got onto a motorway. Things started to get quite hilly by then with many a twist and turn in the road. Fortunately, we found Montespertoli quite soon. The directions supplied by Le Fonti a San Giorgi were clear enough. Also, most roadsigns showed where to go as well.
Once in Montespertoli, after driving a number of steep climbs, things got a little trickier. When showing directions, the italians like use a lot of signs: one little sign for each point of interest. Whether it's a church, a hotel, an appartment or agriturismo seems to matter little. Oh well, after some searching we turned into this little road. And found it had slopes of over 15% (that's really, really steep). Thankfully, we drove a diesel car with a 2 liter engine, so we could cope :). After this tricky road, we still were not at the destination! Immediately after a sharp turn at the end of an even steeper hillside and a serious hole in the tarmac, we made a turn to the right.
I then started to doubt whether we were going in the right direction: tarmac had stopped. There were not even cobblestones to support our wheels. We had to drive on to a dirt road with many rocks and course gravel.
Anyway, after driving that road for some 10 minutes (we drove slowly for safety reasons), we finally found the agriturismo. It's at the very end of that dirt road.

Over to the building itself. On the way to Tuscany, we saw a lot of ruined buildings. I worried that our destination might by disheveled as well. Thankfully, I worried for nothing. The agriturismo is a collection of beautiful buildings, mostly well maintained. The gardens surrounding the agriturismo are spacious and lush. Many beautiful flowers adorn the walks and if you like swimming, you can take a splash in the pool.

The proprietors were very kind and spoke english quite well. This is uncommon in Italy, where most people don't speak english at all. Our kind hosts offered us a bottle of wine, made from the grapes they grow on their lands. After checking in, we went to the appartments we'd rented.

The appartments are clean and spacious. The temperatures outside went up for a bit during our stay, but indoors everything stayed cool. I think it's due to the small windows (it can be a bit dark in side), the thick walls and high ceilings.
During the nights, temperatures dropped. We did not have thick blankets, just some sheets. My wife and I slept poorly, for being cold all night.

The beds are not the worst I've slept in, but neither are they among the best. They're spring based. I guess there must have been a mattress on the springs, but it was very thin: the bed was very hard.

The bathroom was clean. Toilet and shower were well scrubbed. Small though. If you're big, you may find it a challenge to use the shower.

The kitchen was adequate in regard to size and cleanliness. Equipment was up to par, so we were able to cook up something ourselves when we felt like it.

Every week, the agriturismo offers a Pizza night. At first I thought it would be 1, maybe 2 pizza's to eat, perhaps a desert. Not so. We had a nice starter, followed by some pasta. Then we had, all told, 4 unique pizza's. Our hosts also supplied wine and water. After all that, there was a fine desert. After which I felt I might explode. The food was very good. But a bit steeply priced at 25 euro's per person. You may feel it's not so expensive, but take in mind that a good mail with fresh biological ingredients in Italy will cost you something between 15 and 25 euro's per person. Add some wine, which is cheap in Italy as well, and do the maths.

I'm hesitant to rate le Fonti a San Giorgio. It's somewhere between 3 and 4 dots. In my opinion not good enough for 4 dots, so I'll stick at 3 :).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braine-l'Alleud, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Peaceful, quiet, beautiful, relaxing... Bring on all superlatives because Le Fonti a San Giorgio is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanVDH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

I spent a long weekend with my wife in the b&b.
our room was in the main building, a nice inn, on the top of the hill.
room: comfortable with a good view;
breakfast: high quality;
dinner: excellent food and interesting wine.
swimming pool: silent, not crowded (people that stay in the apartments use another swimming pool).
other visitors: from different parts of the world; also some families with children but, during our journey, all were very quiet.
best feature: a night drink in the outdoor area beneath the starry vault of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatifulBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montespertoli
20.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#3 of 8 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
11.9 mi away
Artimino Apartments
Artimino Apartments
#2 of 2 in Artimino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
22.9 mi away
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
#3 of 33 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fonti a San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fonti a San Giorgio

Property: Le Fonti a San Giorgio
Address: Via Colle San Lorenzo 16, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Fonti a San Giorgio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouse and agritourism Le Fonti a San Giorgio stands on the beautiful Tuscan hill of Saint Lorenzo, in the Municipality of Montespertoli (Florence). Surrounded by colourful Tuscan hills, the property has been directly managed by the Giovannelli family for three generations. Situated in the heart of Chianti, halfway between the cities of Florence and San Gimignano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Fonti a San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Fonti a San Giorgio Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing