We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW TO MEET THE STARS IN THE SKY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Fonti a San Giorgio
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“HOW TO MEET THE STARS IN THE SKY”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I spent a long weekend with my wife in the b&b.
our room was in the main building, a nice inn, on the top of the hill.
room: comfortable with a good view;
breakfast: high quality;
dinner: excellent food and interesting wine.
swimming pool: silent, not crowded (people that stay in the apartments use another swimming pool).
other visitors: from different parts of the world; also some families with children but, during our journey, all were very quiet.
best feature: a night drink in the outdoor area beneath the starry vault of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatifulBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I recently enjoyed a week's stay at Le Fonti a San Giorgio and it was perfect in every way.
A friend & I were looking for relaxation, good wine & great scenery and we got it all!!
It's located on an unpaved, dead-end road a few miles outside the small town of Montespertoli, so it's extremely quiet. It's perched on a ridge with incredible views. Cristina & her staff are extremely helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating and went out of their way to make reservations, map routes and offer suggestions. Cristina arranged for an in-room massage treatment (very reasonable price!). Another day she suggested a nice hike to a nearby organic farm to purchase fresh cheese, bread & yogurt.
The one-bedroom apartment was large & well furnished and has a fireplace. The outdoor patio with table & chairs was the perfect spot for sipping wine, purchased from the small shop in the reception room of the property. The wine tour & tasting with Elena was excellent. She's a wealth of information and has such passion for the wines. Their wines are excellent and very reasonably priced.
You definitely need a car to stay at this property but its out-of-the-way location assures peace & quiet. It's within an easy 1 1/4 hour drive from the Pisa airport. Day trips to Radda, Greve, San Gimignano & Certaldo Alto were easy drives and even a trip down to Montalcino for the Brunello wines was possible.
I would highly recommend this property for its staff, location, accommodations and wine!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SemperCarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baexem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We (four persons) stayed for a week at Le Fonti a san Giorgio at the end of October 2010 in a appartment. In 2009 we visited Le Fonti in the spring and we stayed for a week. We said to each other we will come back. So we did. We preferred to stay at Le Fonti to get a taste of Tuscany. This is the perfect location and very close to some of the popular Tuscan villages which we wanted to vist such as Florence, Volterra, Luca, Siena. You can even see San Gimignano when you are sitting in the garden. This is also a great place to take in the entire Tuscan experience with views of olive tree groves, rolling hills, vineyards, and a long dirt road leading up to the hotel/restaurant and apartments from the main road. It is not easy to find but it is a very beautiful place to stay in the country.
The staff is friendly and helpful. We also can recommend the wine of Le Fonti and the olive oil. You have to buy some of these products to have something for a nice evening at home. Christine can explain you everything you want to know about wine and the olive oil of Le Fonti a san Giorgio. She will show you the winery.
You can also ask her and the staff where to go an what to do in the area. From Le Fonti you are also not very far from the Chianti Classico area where you can find the great wines of the Chianti. Christine can of course tell you where to go.
The apartments are spacy and have a fireplace. If you want to cook yourself its possible, but you can also go to the restaurant of Le Fonti when you want to eat the typical Tuscan kitchen. The food and of course the wine of le Fonti is superb. It is a must do thing. The staff of the restaurant is very friendly and helpful. We didn’t stay at the hotel but it looked also very nice.

If you like a peaceful and beautiful scenery, I can recommend Le Fonti a San Giorgio as the place to be.
Luc Mintjens, Netherlands.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucmintjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We've stayed already several times at Le Fonti di San Giorgio, and it's always a pleasure staying here, it's like coming home!
They have good and very spaceous appartments around a nice swimming pool and there are also newer and lovely B&B rooms, with an independent swimming pool. The views are breathtaking, the food is excellent and the hosts are the best. Le Fonti di San Giorgio also produces its own wine, which is very good. The location is good : 30 minutes from Florence, 50 minutes from Siena. This place has everything you need for a nice and relaxing holiday in Tuscany. We already booked our vacation for June this year, and we are counting the days!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnBracke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstein, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our family has seen a lot of agriturismo's during the past 5 years in Italy, but visiting Le fonti was love at first sight. A warm welcome by the Italian staff, comfortable apartments with authentic furniture, magnificent views of the surrounding vineyards and olive groves and the high quality dinners at the Locanda terrace guarantee an unforgettable and relaxing holiday!
We are visiting new Italian regions each year but always end up with a week at Le Fonti a San Giorgio at Montespertoli.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marielle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2008

True italian property, charming and beautiful fair fields to be explored. Have been there a couple of times since 2004 and intend to return always... A delicious mouth-watering expericence!

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — little time spent
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highschoolgirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

If you are looking for a quiet spot, on a hilltop, with great sunsets and views all around and you have a car, this is it.. It is located between Florence and Siena, near San Giminagno etc. It is right outside Montespertoli. Research your directions carefully as it is outside the town, through vineyards, on ridgetops etc. but we found the signs to guide you there were accurate. It takes about 15-20 minutes after going through tiny Montespertoli to get to the agriturismo.

This is a place to stay for at least 3 or 4 days. I would recommend staying at the Inn, the building where their restaurant (upper level)is, the rooms are fantastic, newer, all updated with amazing views etc. The pool is excellent. It was a great place to come back to after a day of sigtseeing or just spend the day relaxing with a book, their wine (wonderfull!), etc. They use the products from their farm, honey, wine, olive oil (we brought some of all of those home). The food was amazing and worth eating there each night. We ate on the patio a couple of times (in September) the evenings were magical.

We booked 4 rooms for 8 of us, and everyone was blown away by the friendliness of Sabrina, your host and the owners to do whatever you needed or wanted.

Breakfast was just as good as the dinners, the fresh honey from their farm was delicious, the breads, cheeses,etc.

You will let them know in the morning if you will be there for dinner in the evening so they can prepare. We did not go elsewhere for dinner, and probably would next time. Not because of the food, it was excellent, but to experience a few of the local eatieries.

The location is the thing. It's either right for you or not. It is situated on a hilltop, so you cannot beat the views. I would say Florence is about a 1/2 hour drive and Siena about 50-60 minutes. The autostrada is about 25 minutes away from the Agriturismo.

When we went into Florence for a day or two we parked at all day parking at the Florence Airport (about 10 Euros) and took a Taxi into the heart of the city, for two couples it cost about 18 Euros to do that one way, but it was worth not having the parking hassles etc.

As I said earlier, research your directions beforehand, once you get there, it's no problem the second time around.

Would I stay there again, absolutely, based on the same ownership and people being there.

Sabrina is beautiful, funny, understands english very well and amazingly helpful. The food is fantasic, the views to die for, what's not to like.

I will go back.

Let me know if you need any further info on this little Diamond.

  • Liked — The Staff, The Service, and the Facility the newer building is important
  • Disliked — First time finding it.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank DaveandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montespertoli hotels
0.2 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#4 of 9 in Montespertoli
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
204 reviews
3.7 mi away
Borgo Divino
Borgo Divino
#1 of 14 in Montespertoli
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Montalbino
Agriturismo Montalbino
#2 of 34 in Montespertoli
212 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
#3 of 34 in Montespertoli
253 reviews
3.1 mi away
Podere Le Rondini
Podere Le Rondini
#4 of 34 in Montespertoli
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fonti a San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fonti a San Giorgio

Property: Le Fonti a San Giorgio
Address: Via Colle di San Lorenzo 16, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Fonti a San Giorgio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouse and agritourism Le Fonti a San Giorgio stands on the beautiful Tuscan hill of Saint Lorenzo, in the Municipality of Montespertoli (Florence). Surrounded by colourful Tuscan hills, the property has been directly managed by the Giovannelli family for three generations. Situated in the heart of Chianti, halfway between the cities of Florence and San Gimignano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Le Fonti a San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Fonti a San Giorgio Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing