We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscany Touring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Poggetto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Poggetto
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tuscany Touring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our first time in Tuscany and I booked a week at La Loggia expecting some relaxation time, but I chose it also for the central location for touring the charming towns of the area. We were greeted warmly by Ivana and shown around the property which is beautifully maintained. The Tuscan views on all sides just took my breath away - it's stunning! Because I have some food intolerances we like to self-cater for most meals. There is a small supermarket in Montespertoli and a really good larger one on the outskirts of Florence about 25 mins away. The kitchen facilities are rustic and quite basic so could use some updating. We managed to find some good restaurants for lunch on our day outings to the surrounding towns. Lucca, San Gimignano and Siena are all lovely towns. Be prepared for lots of walking up hills in Siena though. Il Poggetto is peaceful and quiet and a wonderful place to spend a week or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jensenj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichtenvoorde, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Il Poggetto.
The views are wonderful and the place as well the area are quiet.
Also the swimming pool is very nice.
The kitchen in La Pergola is a bit sober.
We have been received very well by the owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in June 2013. The Loggia is a superb, spacious renovated hay store with great views and the benefit of a lovely shared swimming pool overlooking the Tuscan valley and hills. Its a 'gated site' so security is wonderful and parking superb. The gardens are manicured! The owner, Ivana, is most helpful and speaks English. Good shops are 5 minutes away. You will struggle to find a nicer spot. The fireflies in the wood after dark must be seen! We sat by the pool most nights enjoying the setting sun with a glass of local wine and the house cat, and watched the aircraft preparing to land at Florence airport. A great centre to both unwind and tour Tuscany and the major and minor towns and cities. Watch the roads though - the condition of most is appalling - no money for the infrastructure seems to be the problem.The roads nearly shook the fillings out of my teeth. Silly me for taking a sports car I suppose!

Room Tip: Go for La Loggia - it costs a bit more but is spacious and is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is definitely a great spot to unwind and relax. Ivana runs the place and her son Andrea, who lives in Florence, helps her with bookings and English emails, etc. She runs the place well, and when we were there she even spent a couple of days on her big mower to mow the lawns. Il Gelsomino (The Jasmine) is the smallest unit, but we like the setup. With the summer heat, the unit above was an insulator. Small but functional unit, with undercover outdoor dining. Just what we wanted. The pool is lovely and it was well used by all guests. I had a birthday and she pleasantly surprised me with a bottle of bubbles!
There are lots of restaurants within a 10 min drive, as well as a small local supermarket or two. Montespertoli is not far and it has a lot of restaurants and a big supermarket. The place in Montagnana that serves pizza and primo piatti only, is great value for money. The other trattoria was a bit overrated for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for a week in July and had a very restful time at Il Poggetto with its vast landscaped grounds with stunning views and ambiance with Ivana, the owner, attending to everyone's needs - and finding time to mow the lawns. Its perfectly located for visiting the top Tuscan destinations including Florence, Sienna and San Gimignano to name but a few - we also managed a few lesser known spots including the lovely mountain village of Volterra. The accommodation was ideal for self catering with the added bonus of being quite cool despite the high summer temperatures.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidpjwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently spent one week in La Cipressaia and it was an absolutely fantastic experience. Our party consisted of 4 adults and a one year old. The place is nestled in the Tuscan hills and the view is breathtaking. The place is excellently maintained, clean, and well-stocked for cooking one's own meals. The property on which il Poggetto is located looks like an estate and is surrounded by olive trees and grape vines. If you are looking for an authentic Tuscan experience you will not be disappointed.

I have been traveling to Italy for approximately ten years now and I must say that booking with il Poggetto was easy, the owner of the property is a wonderful person and this comes across in her work. Ivana was thoughtful (see have us homemade jam) and very considerate of our needs considering we were traveling with a small child. There is really nowhere else I would consider staying in Tuscany now that I have discovered this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed in La Cipressaia for 6 days with our 2 adult children while we toured the region in early June. This property was chosen as a base for our planned activities which included day trips to Lucca, Siena, a few days in Florence and a trip to Vignamaggio in Greve. IL Poggetto was a perfect location, it is very quiet and relaxing and the views are incredible. Ivana could not have been a nicer hostess. The house was nicely furnished but the shower was very tight and only one set of towels is supplied for a one week stay. There is a washer available in the main house so you can do laundry or you can get fresh towels but there is a nominal charge and if you need heat you have to pay extra. Also, there is an early checkout time of 9:00 AM but Ivana was very accommodating, as we did not leave until after the specified checkout time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJM_PBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montespertoli hotels
0.8 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#2 of 8 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
#3 of 33 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.5 mi away
Podere Le Rondini
Podere Le Rondini
#5 of 33 in Montespertoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tenuta Tizzauli
Tenuta Tizzauli
#9 of 33 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 8 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borgo Divino
Borgo Divino
#1 of 15 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Poggetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Poggetto

Property: Il Poggetto
Address: Via del Poggetto 14, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Poggetto 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Poggetto is the ideal place for those looking for art, history and relaxation during their holidays.It is located in Chianti, on a green private hilltop surrounded by cypresses, olive trees and grapevines.From the pool, you can admire a 360 ° panorama on the typical Tuscan landscape, perhaps sipping a glass of good wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Poggetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Poggetto Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing