We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located”
Review of Il Poggetto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Poggetto
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for a week in July and had a very restful time at Il Poggetto with its vast landscaped grounds with stunning views and ambiance with Ivana, the owner, attending to everyone's needs - and finding time to mow the lawns. Its perfectly located for visiting the top Tuscan destinations including Florence, Sienna and San Gimignano to name but a few - we also managed a few lesser known spots including the lovely mountain village of Volterra. The accommodation was ideal for self catering with the added bonus of being quite cool despite the high summer temperatures.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidpjwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently spent one week in La Cipressaia and it was an absolutely fantastic experience. Our party consisted of 4 adults and a one year old. The place is nestled in the Tuscan hills and the view is breathtaking. The place is excellently maintained, clean, and well-stocked for cooking one's own meals. The property on which il Poggetto is located looks like an estate and is surrounded by olive trees and grape vines. If you are looking for an authentic Tuscan experience you will not be disappointed.

I have been traveling to Italy for approximately ten years now and I must say that booking with il Poggetto was easy, the owner of the property is a wonderful person and this comes across in her work. Ivana was thoughtful (see have us homemade jam) and very considerate of our needs considering we were traveling with a small child. There is really nowhere else I would consider staying in Tuscany now that I have discovered this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed in La Cipressaia for 6 days with our 2 adult children while we toured the region in early June. This property was chosen as a base for our planned activities which included day trips to Lucca, Siena, a few days in Florence and a trip to Vignamaggio in Greve. IL Poggetto was a perfect location, it is very quiet and relaxing and the views are incredible. Ivana could not have been a nicer hostess. The house was nicely furnished but the shower was very tight and only one set of towels is supplied for a one week stay. There is a washer available in the main house so you can do laundry or you can get fresh towels but there is a nominal charge and if you need heat you have to pay extra. Also, there is an early checkout time of 9:00 AM but Ivana was very accommodating, as we did not leave until after the specified checkout time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJM_PBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was by far one of the nicest palces we stayed at during our tour of Italy this past April 2013. Ivana, the owner of Il Poggetto, is an extremely sweet and attentive person. She made our 3 night stay here even more enjoyable than we could have imagined.

The views of the Tuscan hills from Il Poggetto are incredible! Lush greenery, blooming lemon trees, and colorful flowers are everywhere. Really breathtaking!

The apartment we stayed in (Il Gelsomino) was well furnished with a little kitchen, nice queen sized bed, working shower and toilet, and had a very "homey" feel to it.

Be prepared to walk downhill to the small town of Montespertoli if you do not plan to rent a car. I was 4 months pregnant during my stay here and I walked it up and down twice a day. It's about a 20 minute walk to town, where you can catch the bus that will take you to Florence.

If I were to go back to Tuscany I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaItaliana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent one week with our daughter and our granny in the appartment "la pergola". It was one of our best holidays! This beautiful place from the owner Ivana and her family includes three typical Tuscany-houses and a nice swimming pool surrounded by an olive-grove and cypresses. Feel like in heaven!!! The appartment was nicely furnished and all you needed. When you lay on the swimming pool you have an wonderful view over the whole landscape. Among relaxing you could make a lot of culture-sightseeing-trips. Towns like Florence, Siena, Pisa or Volterra are nearby.
Last but not least I forgot my rings in the appartment and the lovely and great Ivana sent them to our home address. At this spot we send a big "THANK YOU!!!" to you, Ivana.
And at least thank you for the wonderful holidays this year - we'll see us next year again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bianka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arriving at Il Poggetto, one could be forgiven for thinking they were Venus, had just arrived in Paradise. After driving down a short gravel road, passing the castle of Montegufoni, a group of local people gathered outside a small church and a group of artists capturing a classically Tuscan scene of rolling hills (from under the shade of a giant fig tree, heavy with fruit) we warmly greeted by our kind and generous host Ivana. As we unpacked our sleek little Fiat 500, the beautiful Ivana offered us a chilled bottle of prosecco. After the hectic journey from Rome, we wasted no time in opening the bottle. As we poured the first glass, the afternoon light cast the landscape in soft focus and the smell of pine and the herbaceous scent of the bright green olive trees hung heavily in the air.

We had planned to spend a week at Il Poggetto, visiting the neighboring towns and markets, but we could easily have spent a month or two. It had been six years since my last visit - and absolutely nothing in this perfect oasis had changed, except for the seasons. Every possible detail has been thought of by our kind and generous hosts.

Il Poggetto is the perfect location to discover many of the neighbouring towns - and their fabulous markets. Sienna, Florence, San Gimingano and Greve in Chianti are all within easy driving distance and make a perfect day trip. Some of the local tavernas are excellent - and in walking distance for the evening. The local wineries are also well worth a visit - their wines are the perfect accompaniment for wating a glowing sunset from the pool or the terrace.

We can't wait to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in La Cipressa - it was absolutley fantastic. A wonderful large kitchen and dinning area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MulberryPomegranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent to weeks in the appartement "La Loggia" with our two children, aged 9 and 14. We have often been to Tuscany and this location was the best we have ever seen. It is perfect for sightseeing trips to Florence and the Chianti area, afterwards relaxing at the beautiful pool. It was fun cooking in the very well equipped kitchen and enjoying the meals on the wonderful terrace. Our host Ivana was so helpful and friendly and gave us various good hints for tours to very special places far away from tourist crowds. And we will never forget her kindness to send us a jacket, our son forgot in the appartement, to our home address. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: La Loggia is perfectly suited for a family with two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montespertoli hotels
1.1 mi away
Borgo Divino
Borgo Divino
#1 of 13 in Montespertoli
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
#3 of 34 in Montespertoli
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Il Gufo del Chianti
Il Gufo del Chianti
#9 of 34 in Montespertoli
14 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
215 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#4 of 9 in Montespertoli
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Poggetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Poggetto

Address: Via del Poggetto 14, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range: $98 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Poggetto 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Poggetto is the ideal place for those looking for art, history and relaxation during their holidays.It is located in Chianti, on a green private hilltop surrounded by cypresses, olive trees and grapevines.From the pool, you can admire a 360 ° panorama on the typical Tuscan landscape, perhaps sipping a glass of good wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Il Poggetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Poggetto Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing