We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quite place”
Review of Il Poggetto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Poggetto
Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quite place”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed one week in the house La Cipressaia. It is a very quite and nice place surrunded by the beautiful tuscany landscape. This location is perfect to visit Florence (20 minutes), Siena (1 hour) and Pisa (1 hour) but also to spend some days for regeneration. We liked it very much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dilbeek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for the fourth time in this magnificent and peaceful place. As always, we were welcomed by the very friendly and helpful owner, Ivana.
Very well kept property with flowers, olive trees, lemon trees surrounded by breathtaking views
from the relaxing swimming pool.
Excellent location to hop in the car and visit the nicest places in Tuscany.
The appartments are comfortable,very neat and tastefully decorated.
In the village nearby there is a small supermarket and a nice typical coffee bar with excellent "capuccino's" !!
We are already looking forward to return in the future to this small paradise !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joke c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We come to Il Poggetto every year around may. We just were there last week for the 5th time! And it is always a joy to come back and spend a wonderful time with the family in this kind of paradise. The surrounding is more than just beautiful, the location near cities like Florence and Pisa and lots of small lovely villages, makes it easy to have different day trips every time. And the best part is the people of Il Poggetto, who makes you feel at home right from the beginning!
The variety of apartments makes Il Poggetto suitable for every kind of traveller. We travel with our kids and love to stay at La Cipressaia. Everything you need for a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YairMaiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place is stellar, the location, property and accommodations are magnificent. We stayed in 2 apartments, La Pergola and La Loggia. Although there were 2 of us we were too late to book an apt for 2, so both apts were for 4. Only minor glitch was no hot water sometimes, but once we mentioned this to Ivana it was fixed immediately. I did not encounter pinknomer's concerns re cleanliness, lack of sharp knives, and wicker couch being uncomfortable. I would recommend this property highly, Very good value. Our weather in April/early May was unseasonably cool and the apt was cool at times. We could have had the heating turned on if we had wished.

Room Tip: Have not seen the 2-person apt. Both of the apts we stayed in were excellent. One (La Pergola) was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 401ABW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at Il Poggetto two nights in september, the weather was great, so we could use the fantastic pool. The owner Ivana was very friendly and helpfull, she shared all the information we needed about the atractions of the area. The place is very quiet, so it fits to those who want to relax on their hollidays, but you can explore Chianti by renting a car. The best feature of Il Poggetto is definitely it's location, the cottages are situated on a hill and the view from it is breathtaking. The rooms are very clean, furnished in Tuscan style. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ieva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We really loved our stay at Il Poggetto. We were there the end of September and the weather was gorgeous so we were able to enjoy the fabulous pool and the gorgeous grounds. The cottage we stayed in was large and really tastefully decorated, we felt right at home. And of course Ivana, the owner was so lovely. She was very welcoming when we arrived and so helpful sharing information about the area. Nice location and so enjoyable hopping in the car and exploring the many sweet villages nearby during the day. We thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il_Poggetto, Proprietario at Il Poggetto, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
It has been a pleasure to host you!
We are really happy reading that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you had a great time visiting Tuscany.

We wish to meet you next time you will come to our region.
Ciao!

Andrea and ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Il Poggetto is lovely with beautiful gounds and a fantastic pool. Our apartment stayed cool despite outside temperatures reaching 36-37C. Some other apartments were not so lucky though. Our apartment was much smaller than it looked in the photos and is really more of a bedsit than a one bed place (one room split into two with a sliding door).

The kitchen facilities were poor with not a single sharp knife or hot water to the sink, which necessitated boiling the water on the wobbly hob in a pot with two small side handles. This felt quite dangerous and no pot handlers or oven gloves were provided. The fridge required scrubbing before use (other peoples crumbs and, I think, dried egg remains - eww!) and was past its best. I admit I am a stickler for cleanliness and tend to wipe down surfaces, crockery etc before use but I don't think I should have to actually clean anything. The tiled surface was cracked with failing grouting and impossible to clean.

All apartments are provided with the exact number of glasses and cups per person i.e. 2 people = 2 wine glasses, 2 water glasses, 2 cups etc. This proved to be a bit of a pain at times. The bed was comfortable but there was no comfortable seating provided - the wicker "couch" was very uncomfortable. I always think it's a good idea for the owners of these sorts of places to actually stay in them themselves, they can then see any short-comings.

Overall, it's a lovely place but as I say, could be much nicer. It really is the kitchen facilities that let it down badly.

Room Tip: The smallest is the coolest - literally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinknomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il_Poggetto, Proprietario at Il Poggetto, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
We are happy reading that overall you enjoyed our place but as a family run business we wish our guests will be a part of our family and would come back home relaxed and with magnificent memories of their stays.

The apartment you booked is more than 30 m2 and has a kitchen, a bedroom, a large bathroom and an outside patio with table and chair for outside dining.
The pictures and the description on our website represent the apartment as it is, if you needed a larger apartment you could book La Pergola (50 m2) or La Loggia (75 m2) or La Cipressaia (independent house of 85 m2).

As Ivana lives in the property and she meets the guest everyday it is a pity to read only now on Tripadvisor that something was wrong, it would be better to know immediately in order to fix it as soon as possible, as we usually do.

We read about the hot water missing in the sink, we called the plumber and 5 hours later your review it was fixed, so if you would have told Ivana you did not have to boil water every day.

In regards to the cleaning Ivana takes the utmost care to clean the apartment in every corner in order to offer the guest a pleasant stay.

As for the glasses we thank you for your note, no one told us before and we did not think about. Now in every apartment there are extra glasses.

We have noted each of your concerns, and want each of our customers to know that we are always trying to improve all of our services so that each guest Il Poggetto wishing to return as soon as possible, and that the testimony of other reviewers on this site showcases our dedication to our customers.

Cordially,

Andrea and Ivana - Il Poggetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montespertoli
0.4 mi away
Villa le Calvane
Villa le Calvane
#4 of 9 in Montespertoli
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castello di Montegufoni
Castello di Montegufoni
#1 of 1 in Montegufoni
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tenuta Tizzauli
Tenuta Tizzauli
#13 of 33 in Montespertoli
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
#3 of 33 in Montespertoli
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Poggetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Poggetto

Property: Il Poggetto
Address: Via del Poggetto 14, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Poggetto 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Poggetto is the ideal place for those looking for art, history and relaxation during their holidays.It is located in Chianti, on a green private hilltop surrounded by cypresses, olive trees and grapevines.From the pool, you can admire a 360 ° panorama on the typical Tuscan landscape, perhaps sipping a glass of good wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Il Poggetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Poggetto Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing