We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found this wonderful hotel in the middle of the night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Molino del Ponte
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Montespertoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I were driving back in early October 2013 from Florence to the Med coast when we got lost, and so we started looking for a vacancy for the night. We came upon Hotel Il Molino del Ponte, and decided to check and see if we could find a room for the night. Thankfully, the family who own this hotel also speak German (my Italian isn't as good as it should be), and so I was able to arrange a room for the night negotiated in my somewhat better German. It was a wonderful hotel, and the family were all so helpful that we felt right at home. We actually regretted leaving and driving back down to Rome after such a wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel...

Room Tip: If you speak German, it's a plus. My German was from my years in the Air Force while stationed i...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Il Molino del Ponte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is gem of a place to stay in somewhat out of the way spot in Tuscany. The owner couple is very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a four-bed apartment. It was clean, roomy and quiet. We hardly noticed other guests. Wifi works in a public area close to the front desk. If your room is close, it might work in your room. Breakfast is very good. Pool is also a nice addition. Not too far from Florence, Pisa, Siena, etc. If you drive to Scandicci (20-min drive), you can catch a tram to Florence for 1.20 euro (2 euro if purchased on board). The town of Montespertoli is not too far with many restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 808MikeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a street address but no GPS coords and we overshot the hotel on the first pass. There were plenty of signs and we saw the restaurant sign. We had to turn into the drive to see the hotel sign.George and Viola were so nice and welcoming. They suggested a restaurant and made our reservation for dinner later that night. We stayed in an apartment that would comfortably accommodate 4. It was chilly for late May but we had plenty of blankets in case we got cold. It was so quiet too - there were other guests at the hotel but we never heard them! We only stayed one night as we were in Tuscany for a function at the Florence American Cemetery on Memorial Day weekend. We would stay there again. Viola recommended we visit the wine fest in the town of Montespertoli that weekend and we did; she was spot on! I think a car is a must as the hotel was not really in walking distance of much. We did see lots of bicyclist and motorcyclist. My nine year old daughter's only complaint was that there were no kids!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchristep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a school group on a trip to Italy. For such a large group we were very happy. The rooms were almost as big as a small apartment and featured a small stove top, sink, refrigerator, pull-out couch, cabinet, and large shower. We found out on the first day that our shower squirted water in just about every corner of the shower, but upon telling the front desk, they fixed the situation right away.

Good stuff: The rooms were large, the feel of the place was very Italian. Located in a quiet area, offered food and drink and the staff was very friendly.

Bad stuff: This hotel is about a 45 minute drive to Florence, so if you do not have a driver, you may want to consider getting one. Our group found it hard to find activities to do at night because the area was very quiet. The wi-fi only works outside the lobby, so you must sit outside under a tent to use it. Sound travels very easily here, being that everything is made out of stone, which also meant our room was rather cold.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ideal for exploring both the Tuscany countryside and Florience. Giorgio was an incredible host! His English is passable, but his warmth and generosity need no language. We stayed in an apartment with air conditioning and a kitchenette. Very nice breakfast buffet with outdoor seating. There's a small swimming pool on premises as well. Access to Florence is via bus at the entrance to the hotel, a tram ride if you have a car to get to the tram station, or a 30 minute drive to a Florence parking garage. The town of Montespertoli near this hotel is an authentic Italian village mostly devoid of tourists. This location is within an hour of a number of Tuscany hilltop towns, as well as Pisa and Lucca. Giorgio was nice enough to present us with a bottle of Chianti as a parting gift!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Coolbreezeny.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel staff - Giorgio and wife, are absolutely fantastic. They are very friendly persons. Apartments and rooms are comfortable and rustical - in Tuscan style, with bathrooms. They were clean. The beds are comfy. The breakfast was good. The location is excellent for touring - specialy for bikers, its very near center of Firence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istrijanka_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Laflechere.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Georgio was a wonderful host: welcoming, helpful, and always ready to crack a joke. His German is better than his English, but both are better than my Italian! Even so, the essentials of communication were not a problem. Breakfasts surpassed our expectations: not just the usual coffee and pastries, but freshly cooked scrambled eggs (often with ham), a choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, juices. We gratefully fuelled up for the touring day ahead.

For evening meals or lunch, the osteria next door is very handy, with helpful service and decent food. Another restaurant is a five minute walk down the road (but without a footpath, so be careful). The hotel has a couple of barbecues, which we used one evening, and Georgio kindly supplied the necessary utensils, plates, glasses, etc.

Our family room was very comfortable for four, although the air conditioning was a bit under-powered for the July heat; a ceiling fan would have been nicer and more effective. Although the wi-fi didn’t quite stretch to our apartment, it was much more pleasant to step out into the cool shade of the patio for relaxing, reading and catching up online. The fridge was a useful feature in the small kitchen area of our room, although if you want to cook on the two hot plates, you would need to source your own cookware.

The kids really enjoyed the above-ground pool, which was a great place to cool off after a hard day’s sight-seeing. There is a public sports centre next door, with a larger pool and opportunities for tennis, etc. if you’re feeling more energetic.

If you have a car, the hotel serves as an excellent base for trips to Florence, Siena, San Gimingnano, etc., all reachable in under an hour. Even if you’re without wheels, there is a bus stop right outside on the main road to Florence (about 45 minutes away for 2.8 Euros). There are also two train stations within a fifteen minute taxi ride. The town of Montespertoli itself is five minutes away by car or bus, with several eating establishments, shops and supermarket.

We really enjoyed our stay here, made special by Georgio’s friendly attention to his guests’ needs.

Room Tip: The AC in our room struggled with the July heat, making sleep uncomfortable at times. Leaving window...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laflechere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Laflechere.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montespertoli
1.2 mi away
Villa le Calvane
Villa le Calvane
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
22 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castello di Montegufoni
Castello di Montegufoni
#1 of 1 in Montegufoni
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castello di Fezzana
Castello di Fezzana
#7 of 9 in Montespertoli
4 reviews
7.1 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
489 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Hotel Borgo Sant'Ippolito
Country Hotel Borgo Sant'Ippolit...
#1 of 1 in Ginestra Fiorentina
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Molino del Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Molino del Ponte

Address: Via Volterrana Nord 42, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Montespertoli
Price Range: $68 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Molino del Ponte 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Il Molino del Ponte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Molino Del Ponte Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing